robo rally  

Updated 11/24/2010

2010 WBC Report   

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Alexandra Henning, CT

2010 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1999     Daniel Lawall      40
2000     Bradley Johnson      41
2001     Jeff Ribeiro      44
2002     Jeff Cornett      42
2003     Brad Johnson      71
2004     Brad Johnson      61
2005     Bill Dyer      65
2006     Brad Johnson      56
2007     Scott Buckwalter      66
2008     Brad Johnson      68
2009     Brad Johnson      65
2010     Alexandra Henning      63

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Brad Johnson       IL    09    248
  2.  Alex Henning       CT    10     56
  3.  Bill Navolis       MD    09     53
  4.  Jason Levine       NY    10     50
  5.  Scott Buckwalter   MD    07     40
  6.  Bill Dyer          IL    05     40
  7.  Jeff Cornett       FL    02     40
  8.  Jeff Ribeiro       NH    01     40
  9.  Dan Lawall         VA    00     39
 10.  James Kendrick     uk    08     36
 11.  Tamara Houde       VA    04     30
 12.  Jeff Finkeldey     OH    10     28
 13.  Rich Shipley       MD    07     28
 14.  Cliff Ackman       PA    06     28
 15.  Brian Schott       MD    07     24
 16.  Lance Ribeiro      NH    05     24
 17.  George Seary       NY    01     24
 18.  Steve Cuccaro      MD    06     21
 19.  Ralph Gleaton      SC    08     20
 20.  Ken Samuel         VA    06     20
 21.  Jeff Power         MI    05     19
 22.  David des Jardins  CA    03     18
 23.  Dan Mathias        MD    10     16
 24.  Brad Davis         VA    08     16
 25.  Jonathan Tivel     VA    04     16
 26.  Dan McGowan        ME    01     16
 27.  Curt Collins II    PA    09     12
 28.  Tom McCorry        VA    04     12
 29.  Clyde Kruskal      MD    03     12
 30.  Rodd Polsky        PA    02     12
 31.  Vic Hutcherson     MD    00     12
 32.  David Davis        OH    99     12
 33.  Josh Githens       SC    09     10
 34.  David Kyle         PA    99      9
 35.  Ewan McNay         NY    10      8
 36.  Scott Chupak       IL    09      8
 37.  Reiko Brooks       TN    08      8
 38.  Carl Sykes         SC    07      8
 39.  Mark Neale         RI    05      8
 40.  Nick Henning       CT    03      6
 41.  Kevin LeRow        MA    99      6
 42.  Winton LeMoine     CA    10      4
 43.  Craig Trader       VA    08      4
 44.  Pat Mitchell       DE    03      3

2010 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists:

Jason Levine, NY

Dan Mathias, MD

Jeff Finkeldey, OH

Ewan McNay, NY

Winton LeMoine, CA

Past Winners

Daniel Lawall, VA

Brad Johnson, IL
00, 03, 04, 06, 08-09

Jeff Ribeiro, NH

Jeff Cornett, FL

Bill Dyer, IL

Scott Buckwalter, MD

Alexandra Henning, CT

Mark McCandless, Tom McCorry and Marc Geary
hatch their nefarious plots.

MarK Neal and Rebecca Hebner eye the course
as they program their robots next move.

NOT Brad this time ...

Ah, the joys of GMing. Once again I find that I am glad I have chosen a game that is almost as much fun to watch as it is to play. At least since I offer two heats, I actually get to play twice each year. Of the 13 people who qualified for the semi-finals, only nine appeared and by mutual agreement of the players and myself, we instead held the Final, even though that meant the game wouldn't be likely to complete before 1 AM (way past my bedtime these days.)

As pieces were being handed out, I was giving out life markers (heads). As I handed them to Alex Henning, the only lady to make the Final this year, I stated off handedly something to the effect of "for this year's winner". Little did I know how true those words would ring, nor how much excitement would go with them.
The game started out as my setups typically do, bloodily. Two robots were killed before the end of the first turn - one by Crusher, and the other in a pit. And there was the usual level of damage being administered. Alex got off to the quickest start touching Flag 1 on Turn 5 with reigning and six-time Champion Brad Johnson close behind her. Jason Levine was the third to touch on Turn 6 with the next closest player touching five turns later. Much of this delay was due to the pushing and shooting going on in the pack behind the leaders.

Unfortunately for Brad, he managed to get caught up in the fighting, in particular with his teammate Bill Dyer of the reigning Team Tournament champs. On Turn 15 Brad's final robot was lost to a crusher. Thinking his chances of catching the leaders slim, Bill chose to drop out of the race in favor of an early bedtime with the long Sunday drive home looming.

Meanwhile Jason and Alex had raced ahead, with Jason overtaking Alex to touch Flag 2 on Turn 10, with Alex only a turn behind, but badly damaged. By Flag 3, Jason was three turns ahead of Alex, and it looked like nothing could stop him. The player in third place, now Jeff Finkeldey, didn't make Flag 2 until a turn after Alex got Flag 3.

On Turn 22, Jason, certain that nothing could stop him from touching Flag 4 and winning the game, put down only two cards until I advised him to fill in his program. He probably shouldn't have given his intention away. Ewan McNey, on his way to Flag 3 still took a short detour to mess with the leader. As cards were flipped, Jason started to pick his cards up, thinking he had clearly won when he was challenged from across the table "Put Those Down". By an ingenious use of conveyors, not only did he manage to push Jason's robot off the final flag, but he pushed him onto a conveyor which swept Jason into a pit. Leaving the door open for Alex, our first female champion, to touch the first flag on Turn 23.

Claiming she was going off to get something to drink, the champion left the room to, apparently, dance through the halls of the Host proclaiming her victory to everyone she saw. Meanwhile, Jason was able to make it from his archive point to the flag on the following turn despite further attempted interference from the now closing in field. Despite the efforts of the rest of the field, the next nearest player, Dan Matthias was still three turns behind the leaders.

All in all it was a very exciting and highly emotional game. Jason, ever the gentleman, took his loss very well. Congratulating Ewan on the spectacular move that cost him what would have been his first Robo Rally title.

Alexandria Henning, about-to-be-surprised
Jason Levine, and Roderick Lee.

GM Marc Houde and all his finalist 'Bot drivers.
Note Ewan is standing to keep a closer eye on Jason.
 GM      Marc F. Houde  [12th Year]  113 Lee St., Front Royal, VA 22630   540-636-6347

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page