robo rally [updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report   

 2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Brad Johnson, IL

2006 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1999     Daniel Lawall      40
2000     Bradley Johnson      41
2001     Jeff Ribeiro      44
2002     Jeff Cornett      42
2003      Brad Johnson      71
2004     Brad Johnson      61
2005      Bill Dyer      65
2006     Brad Johnson      56


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Brad Johnson       IL    06    152
  2.  Jeff Cornett       FL    02     40
  3.  Jeff Ribeiro       NH    01     40
  4.  Dan Lawall         VA    00     39
  5.  Tamara McGraw      VA    04     30
  6.  Bill Navolis       MD    06     29
  7.  Jason Levine       NY    01     26
  8.  Cliff Ackman       PA    06     24
  9.  Rich Shipley       MD    02     24
 10.  George Seary       NY    01     24
 11.  Steve Cuccaro      MD    06     21
 12.  Ken Samuel         VA    06     20
 13.  David des Jardins  CA    03     18
 14.  Jonathan Tivel     VA    04     16
 15.  Dan McGowan        ME    01     16
 16.  Tom McCorry        VA    04     12
 17.  Clyde Kruskal      MD    03     12
 18.  Rodd Polsky        PA    02     12
 19.  Vic Hutcherson     MD    00     12
 20.  David Davis        OH    99     12
 21.  David Kyle         PA    99      9
 22.  Ralph Gleaton      SC    04      8
 23.  Jeff Power         MI    01      7
 24.  Josh Githens       SC    06      6
 25.  Kevin LeRow        MA    99      6
 26.  Nick Henning       CT    03      6
 27.  Pat Mitchell       DE    03      3

2006 Laurelists

Steve Cuccaro, MD

Cliff ACkman, PA

Bill Navolis, DE

Josh Githens, SC

Ken Samuel, VA

Past Winners

Daniel Lawall, VA

Brad Johnson, IL
2000, 2003, 2004, 2006

Jeff Ribeiro, NH

Jeff Cornett, FL

Bill Dyer, IL

 Brad Johnson moves his robot en route to his fourth Robo Rally championship as Tom McCorry and Davyd Field observe.

 A ten-player Final made for a crowded board but it was faster than imposing a Semi-Final round on the players

AFL-CIO it ain't ...

It only took eight years, but I finally got the timing right. For the first time in WBC history, I did not have to adjudicate a single game of Robo Rally. Perhaps it was my complete lack of planning, or possibly the fact that I played only as an eliminator (to make up for my lack of planning) that made the difference. Naturally, since I was playing only as an eliminator, that meant I would win my first heat game. Four-time champion Brad Johnson also won his first heat, and his second, reducing the field to ten finalists. Ten players in what was designed as an eight player game called for some interesting innovation on my part. Fortunately, I was up to the challenge. Cards from one new and one old set were combined with initiative ties decided in favor of the old set. We also used one set of painted robots with two unpainted robots from my extra set of robots. Ten players also meant more conflict in the early stages of the game. Roderick Lee started off the fun with a Turn 1 pit dive. Legend Dan Hoffman followed suit in Turn 2 after a push from Ken Samuels.

Most of the players reached the neighborhood of flag 1 at the about the same time. Brad Johnson was the first to touch it however, and was somehow able to make good an escape from the ensuing battle around the flag which he parleyed into a significant lead that would eventually prove to be unstoppable. Steve Cuccarro touched second followed closely by Josh Githens who pushed Steve into the pit next to the flag to get there. Nick Henning got there fourth follwed by Ken Samuels, Roderick Lee, Legend Dan, Cliff Ackman and Bill Navolis. Rich Shipley suffered a series of unfortunate incidents, including one where Steve and Bill sitting side by side on the board both moved three spaces forward pushing Nick and Rich onto the fast conveyor off the board, and was eliminated from the race before reaching the first flag. Brad took a few hits on the way out of the battle zone resulting in a shutdown that allowed Steve to gain a little lost ground back, but he was still able to reach flag 2 first, with Steve not far behind.

A combination of good cards and cagey play got Brad quickly to flag 3, but not before Legend Dan managed to get eliminated when he drew nothing but Move 2 cards with a pit directly ahead. Steve was the only other player to make flag 2 giving him a solid second place. Cliff Ackman and Bill Navolis in a remarkable comback managed to get closest to the second flag to take third and fourth with Josh, Ken, Nick and Roderick filling out the top eight slots.
One item of note, this year we used the "old" rules as I can think of no way to make the use of the docking station fair for all players. I am however willing to entertain any arguments and/or suggestions for the use of the "new" rules. Please feel free to send comments/suggestions to

 Tamara Houde rides herd on her young Robo Rally competitors.

 The next generation of Robo players: Be Afraid. Be very Afraid!
 Robo Rally Junior

25 little robot engineers battled to secure the Robot Rally award with Keith Boone emerging triumphant. He was followed in order by:

2nd: Cameron Graf

3rd: Evan Boone

4th: Dan Lewis

 GM      Marc F. Houde  [8th Year]   3785 Browntown, Rd, Front Royal, VA 22630   NA

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page