guerilla [Updated April 2005]

GUE   Trial Experienced Single Elim Continuous 
 
   13   Round 2 16 Final 

  Lampeter

Mike Livingston, NY

2004 Champion

2nd: Kevin Burgess, NY

3rd: Gordon Rodgers, PA

4th: Peter Stein, OH

5th: Alan Arnold, IL

6th: Jim Marousek, VA
Event History
1994    Kevin LeRow      40
1995    Peter Stein      36
1996    Caleb Cousins      30
1997    Gordon Rodgers      36
1998    Forrest Speck      30
1999    Rob Kilroy     28
2000    Steve Huskey     27
2001    Wade Fowble     15
2002    Gordon Rodgers     17
2003     Mike Wojke     18
2004    Mike Livingston     15

AREA Ratings


GM: Neal Schlaffer

Seven Top-Six GM Nominations

the game's designer

Viva la Revolution

Guerilla is the third evolution of the "shoot the leader" multi-player games. Unlike its predecessors, Naval War and Enemy in Sight, this installment adds a neat twist. It can be difficult figuring out who the leader is! Each player is secretly either a Rebel, Government or Mercenary backer. The Mercenary player keeps his points only if the score is close, so he is constantly trying to help the trailing side. Government and Rebel players keep their points only if their side wins.

Adding to the intrigue is the Revolution card which forces a player to change sides when it is played. If you've played the "shoot the leader" games before and found them less than challenging, try Guerilla.

The following official FAQ and errata from the old Avalon Hill will be in effect:

8.15 Are the effects of Ambush cards played by the attacker considered when making the determination of whether an attack has no chance of success? A. Yes, an Ambush played by the attacker can be considered when determining whether an attack has any chance of success. However, an Ambush played by the defender does not enter into any such calculation since it cannot be played until the attack has already been declared.

8.71 May a Rebel Complex garrisonned only by a leader be eliminated by its owner since the leader cannot exist on its own as a seperate group? A. No, unless the leader withdraws into the player's hand first. Players may not eliminate their own forces and since leaders cannot exist as a separate group, and a return to the player's hand out of sequence would constitute a free action, the Complex may not be blown.

13.1 When the Revolution card is drawn may the drawing player force the chosen players to exchange their Loyalty markers with the unused markers not drawn at the start of play or must they be exchanged with the Loyalty markers of other players?
A. The latter.

 GM      Neal Schlaffer  [12th Year]   NA
    nschlaffer@comcast.net   NA

2000 Results Page
View the Icon Key