attack sub [Updated April 2005]

ATS  2 prizes Beginners Double Elim Continuous 
  18      9  Round 2 12 Semi  Round 3 13  Final 

   Conestoga 1   Ballroom Foyer, Table 3

Daniel Hoffman, NC

2004 Champion

2nd: Bruce Young, SC

3rd: Andrew Fedin, PA

4th: David Buchholz, MI

5th: John Emery, SC

6th: Scott Edwards, SC
Event History
1991    John Fuqua      33
1992    Steve Rugh      26
1993    Bruce Young      34
1994    Dave Kuchta      46
1995    Jack Reid     40
1996    John Emery   40
1997    John Emery      32
1998    Earl Anderson      32
1999     Brian Conlon     36
2000     Bill Edwards      32
2001     John Conlon      34
2002     Ed Karpowicz      24
2003     Steven Caler      24
2004     Dan Hoffman      34

AREA Ratings

GM: Rob Mull

run silent, run deep ... back into the Century

The format is Double Elimination. Players will be assigned randomly for the first round. After the first round, players will be matched by like records (winners play winners, losers play losers) to the extent possible. In the case of an odd number of players in a given round a bye will be awarded to the player with the best record who has not already received one (in the
case of players with equal records byes will be awarded to the most recent past champion who has not yet received one, and then randomly if none are present).

The scenarios to be played are limited to A, B, C, D, E, F and H, plus new optional scenarios N and O. To begin each match both players draw a card. The player drawing the larger Random Number is Player 1 and selects the scenario to be played. The player with the lower Random Number is Player 2 and then has choice of sides. Player 1 will then play first.

In order to facilitate the play of newcomers, for the first round scenario selection is limited to sub duels A, D and optional N.

Players may only play in a given scenario twice during the tournament (either once on each side or the same side twice - it doesn't matter). Once a player has played a specific scenario in two rounds, it can no longer be selected for future play (so as the tournament proceeds the number of scenarios available for selection by Player 1 may decrease, depending if either player has played any of the scenarios twice).

Matches in the semi-final and final rounds will be played until conclusion; earlier matches are subject to adjudication if slow play is an issue.

In order to improve play-balance some scenarios are modified as follows:

A. Replace the Los Angeles and Baltimore with the Swiftsure and Valiant.

C. Replace the Seawolf with the Annapolis.

E. Change the victory condition to read: "If the RN drawn is less than or equal to the number of the current deck, the renegade wins." Note in this scenario if the boomer plays an Open Range card which would decrease the respective contact levels between forces, that change may still be negated by a reactive play of an Open Range card by the surface force, but the boomer is still allowed to draw a RN for missile launch.

H. Replace the Seawolf with the Los Angeles. Also change the victory conditions to read: "If the RN is less than or equal to the current deck, the Soviet wins." Note in this scenario if play of an Open Range card by the Soviets is negated then the boomer is not allowed to draw a RN for missile launch.

New scenarios. To increase the number of scenario choices and provide fresh battles for veteran players, three new scenarios are added this year, scenario F from the original game and new scenarios N and O below. As they have not been extensively playtested, use of scenarios N and O is strictly optional, and one or both may only be included in the scenario choices if
both players agree. If included, scenario selection by Player 1 proceeds normally, with the optional scenario(s) simply adding to the available choices. Note the restriction on playing any given scenario only twice also applies to the optional scenarios, if used.

Scenario N. INTERCEPTION. A Soviet cruise missile boat and her escort are intercepted by a NATO submarine.

SOVIET: Yenisey, Grif

NATO: Trafalgar

Scenario O. COASTAL DUEL. A Soviet coastal reconnaissance task force encounters a pair of German shallow water defense submarines.

NATO: Type 209 (San Luis) Reinforcement: Type 209 (Salta)

SOVIET: Simferopol, Predanyy Reinforcement: Revnostnyy

The following errata and FAQ's will be in use:

*3.2D Add: "However, only one Ship may react to each Active Sonar or Sub attack card played."

3.4 Could a player who plays no cards but does take a legal action such as a repair attempt by drawing a RN avoid having to discard? A. Yes.

3.6 When using a Battle Stations card must the two actions be predesignated? A. No. The player may perform an action, observe the results, and then play a Battle Stations card to perform the second action "anytime".

3.6 May a helicopter play a Battle Stations card? A. No. A Battle Stations card allows two different actions "by one ship".

3.6 Can the Battle Stations card be used for two attacks against different ships? May two separate attacks be made against one target if the total is less than or equal to the contact status? May two separate attacks be made against two targets if each satisfies its own requirements? A. No. 6.3 prevails. Separate attacks would be considered identical actions. No. No.

3.6/8.2 Does Battle Stations allow a surface ship to conduct an action on the same turn that a Close/Open Range card is played for its side? May two different types of CR cards (such as Thermal Layer and Silent Running) be played with a BS card? ... even as a Reactive play to a black card (3.2)? A. Yes, Yes, Yes.

3.6 Can a Weapons Lockon card be played as a reaction to an attack with a Battle Stations card? A. No.

4.21 If a sub uses Active Sonar to search for two ships, can both ships play a Passive Sonar to raise their Contact Level on the sub twice? A. No. Only one ship may react with a Passive Sonar to each Active Sonar played.

4.3 If, due to malfunction, it is impossible for a ship's sonar to increase contact with its target (e.g., sensor at -1 vs detect value of 7), can a Passive Sonar be played anyway just to get it out of the hand? A. No.

*5.3: Delete the word "red".

5.5 Can a sub in Systems Shutdown invoke it again to reduce contact after further attacks? Can a "playing dead" sub use an "A/PS" card as a Passive Sonar? A. No. A sub in Systems Shutdown has lost its freedom of action. It cannot take any action other than Contact Reduction and Passive Sonar until it draws a RN > 3. Then it must decide whether it will reduce contact one level or regain its freedom of action. An "A/PS" card is considered a Passive Sonar card when played as such.

*6.4 The example is wrong. Passive sonar cannot be used against surface attacks.

6.8 If a surface ship that is attacked plays Passive Sonar in response, but is destroyed by that attack, does its side still gain a contact level on the attacker? A. Yes. Note the surface ship would have had to play the Passive Sonar in response to the attack before the attack was resolved.

7.1 Can a ship attacked by a combination of two Lockon cards per 6.4 react with two Evasive Maneuver cards? A. Yes

8.1/13.5 May the play of an Open Range card to disengage occur even if the ship has no contacts on any opposing ship? Does an Open Range card used to disengage apply only to a single surface ship; i.e. it is not shared? A. Once an opposing ship has been sunk by a vessel, that vessel need not have a contact to play an Open Range card. Open Range cards are shared by all surface ships except in the case of Scenario Special Rules such as those of 13K where a capital ship is allowed to escape alone. Generally, for one surface ship to escape, all must turn away from the enemy with that Move card.

8.4 Does the playing of a Close/Open Range card increase the contact level of all surface ships even when there was currently no contact against some of them? A. Yes.

8.4 Assume Sub A has a Level 1 contact on sub R and plays a Close Range card. Sub R has No Contact on Sub A and so cannot play an Open Range to counter. What are the resulting contact levels after play of the Close Range? A. Sub A to Level 2 and Sub R to No Attack.

9.3 Do subs and lone surface ships have their contact status lowered by subsequent malfunctions of attack systems? A. No. Attack malfunctions do not have this effect.

9.3 Errata: Delete second sentence; substitute: "If the system is a sensor, the effects of 9.2 are applied again. In the third sentence; delete "all Contacts ... No Contact". Substitute: "The ship's contact on opponent's Contact Level Tracks to No Contact; Exception: see 9.2)."

10.31 If play of a C/OR card is negated by reactive play (8.5), is a helicopter check still required? A. Yes.

10.31 If a surface fleet player draws a RN which is also a Helicopter card at a moment when he has no helicopter in flight, but later in that same turn he launches a helicopter, must he make a helicopter attack at the end of that turn? A. Yes.

10.31/11.1 Is play of a Close Range card to attempt reinforcement entry considered played on a surface force such that a helicopter check is required? A. No.

13C Must Soviet Subs currently hold contact level 1 to disengage or must they just have achieved it at some prior point? Can NATO win this scenario by destroying one sub and disengaging? A. The latter - no ship can disengage while currently at Contact Level 1. No. Any scenario with specific stated victory conditions cannot be won by 13.5.

13E Must the play of the Open Range card not be negated as in 13H? Does the Open Range card function in every way as a normal play of such a card? May the Open Range card be played even if no enemy ships are currently detected? A. No. Yes. In this scenario, once play has entered the second deck Open Range cards may be played without respect to enemy contact. However, enemy contact can never be reduced to less than "No Contact". The same logic applies to 13H.

13C/H/J Note the swimout capability of the Seawolf's torpedoes (see 13.3)

*= Corrected in 2nd edition

 GM      Rob Mull  [3rd Year]   NA    NA

2004 Results Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page