18XX [Updated April 2005]

8XX   5 prizes Beginners Mult Ent Sing Elim Scheduled 
 Demo  10  Rnd1 Heat1 11 [1830]  Rnd1 Heat2  18 [1856]
  Rnd1 Heat3 18 [1870]    Round 2 13 Semi
 Round 3 Final 18

   Conestoga 1    Demo  Ballroom Foyer, Table 3   

Rick Fox, IL

2004 Champion

2nd: John Kwiatkowski, NC

3rd: Pierre LeBoeud, MD

4th: Paul Hakken, NY

5th: Bruce Beard. MD

6th: Barrington Beavis, UK
Event History
1991    Mark Giddings      34
1992    Dave Harshbarger      46
1993    Robin Barbehenn      84
1994    Todd Vander Pluym      84
1995    Mark Giddings      51
1996    Christian Goetz      45
1997    Dan Vice      50
1998    Jon Kwiatkowski      45
1999    Barrington Beavis     32
2000    Barrington Beavis     28
2001    David Fritsch     33
2002    Jon Kwiatkowski     36
2003    Paul Hakken     32
2004     Rick Fox     37

AREA Ratings

GM: Pierre LeBoeuf

... 1830 ... 1856 .... 1870

This year's event will again include the best-known 18xx games: 1830: (Northeastern US and Southeastern Canada), 1856 (Upper Canada) and 1870 (the American Southwest). There will be three preliminary rounds, a semi-final, and a final round. 1830 can be played in any prelim, but 1856 players are encouraged to play in the second preliminary, and 1870 in the third. Emphasis will be placed on making all games four-player whenever possible, as this will be the format for most (if not all) semi-final games, and for the final. [For example, if 23 players appear on Wednesday, with nine players for 1856 and 14 for 1830, the games will be apportioned as follows: 1856: a 4- and a 5-player game; 1830: a 4-player and two 5-player games. If eight of those 23 players want to play 1856, the division becomes 1856: two 4-player games; 1830: three 4-player and a 3-player game.] Players will be placed in games at random, except that players that have met in previous rounds will be moved where possible.

The winners of all preliminary rounds will advance to the semi-finals. If there are fewer than 16 preliminary round games, enough runner-ups (seeded by percentage of their game victor's point total) using their best preliminary round score will advance to make 16 semi-finalists. If there are more than 16 preliminary round games, one or more semi-final games will be expanded to include more players. Semifinalists will be asked to choose which game they wish to play from among 1830, 1856, and 1870. If four choose another game, then at least one semifinal will play that game instead of 1830. If more than four choose an alternate game, a drawing will be held from among those players to put four in that game. All other semifinals and the final will be played using 1830. Except for those players choosing games other than 1830, semi-final groupings will be seeded by percentage over second place for winners, or percentage of winning score for runner-ups, and placed according to 1st-8th-9th-16th, 2nd-7th-10th-15th, 3rd-6th-11th-14th, and 4th-5th-12th-13th. The winners of the four semi-final games will advance to the four-player final. If necessary, other runner-up semi-finalists can move up (again, seeded by percentage of the winning total) to ensure a four-player final.

Optional rules in force for each game will be announced by email to all who inquire, and before the beginning of each round.

The time limit for preliminary round 1, the semi-final, and the final round is six hours. The time limit for the third heat is nine hours, as 1870 takes longer to play than the other two games. In all cases, no stock round will begin within 30 minutes of the round conclusion. In the last 15 minutes of a round, only route running, revenue collection, and train purchases may be conducted (tile placement, tile upgrade, or token placement will not be permitted). Unless there is a player bankruptcy, rounds conclude at the end of that series of operating rounds.

 GM      Pierre LeBoeuf  [6th Year]   3043 Telegraph Rd, Elkton, MD 21921-2333
    PierreMLeBoeuf@excite.com   NA

2004 Results Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page