WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


7 Wonders Duel (7WD) WBC 2018 Event Report
Updated October 21, 2018
70 Players Robb Effinger 2018 Status 2019 Status History/Laurels
  2018 Champion   Click box for details. Click box for details.


This year’s 7 Wonder Duel Tournament took on a new format for 2018. In an effort to allow maximum playtime for players and provide opportunities to play more games for players that may not get to enjoy the game year round it was shifted to a Four Heat format with each heat consisting of a best of three games match. This was planned to be plenty of time for the matches to conclude, however we saw some intense games that went down to the final minutes of each Heat. Players that participated in at least any two of the heats got two promo Wonder cards, Stone Henge and the Statue of Liberty. These were generously provided by Repos Productions, the publisher of the game.

In each subsequent heat, players were paired with players of similar records when possible, in an attempt to find the 8 best players for the second day elimination rounds. There were only a couple of players that were 4-0 after four heats and many that were sitting at 3-1. The use of tie breakers determined the 8 players that got to advance to day two.

The Final eight convened Monday afternoon to determine the Champion. These were untimed best of 3 matches, and the untimed nature brought us into the night with each of the rounds taking beyond the two hours block.

The final was pushed to Tuesday and Robb Effinger and David Metzger faced off for the title. it was a long path to get there, but the final was well contested by both players. In the end Robb took the championship over David, using Science to claim his Championship.

The tournament saw a nice variety of victories, with none of the strategies taking an overwhelming share of the games played in the tournament. Science, Civic, and Military all proved to be worthy choices in effort to best the field.

There might be some changes to the 2019 format as the game continues to seek the optimum format to be successful and fit in a good time window for the WBC.

Thank you to all that participated and we look forward to 2019

2018 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 0

Dave Metzger Tim Rogers Henry Allen Patrick Murphy Devin Smith
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th

A tournament for all ages.

Still smiling after the battle

Rogers vs Effinger in Semifinals.

Metzger vs Allen in Semifinals.
GM     Josh Githens [1st Year]   NA
   joshuagithens@gmail.com    NA