WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


Churchill (CHL) WBC 2017 Report
Updated February 21, 2018 Icon Key
18 Players Donald Tatum 2017 Status 2018 Status Event History
2017 Champion

Churchill pulls out a win

Don Tatum won this year’s Churchill tournament after coming in a close second in 2016. Don played the namesake of the game and secured a win, despite being unable to lead the Allies to conquest of both Axis powers. David Stoy made a gallant effort as Stalin, finishing second, while Todd Carter came in third as FDR. The game ended with Germany conquered, but no atomic bomb developed and the Imperial Emperor still in the Japanese Home Islands.

Much of the focus in the game was on controlling rather than generating production. The Leadership issues only appeared three times in the last four turns, while three Directed Offensive issues were chosen on each of turns 7, 8 and 9, as well as three Production issues. An average of two Political/Military issues were chosen in each of the last four turns, reflecting an emphasis on game points rather than a historical outcome of Axis defeat.

Eighteen experienced players participated in the first round of the Class A tournament (down from 42 last year, when the event was Class C – Coachable) using the second edition victory conditions. So, nine players went to the semifinal round, leading to the three winners advancing to the final game. This allowed the event to be completed in a rather comfortable single day.

Some raw statistics: Of the ten games played, six ended with the section 4.43 condition (Global Hegemon; both Axis powers not conquered). Of those six games, the high point scorer was able to absorb the point adjustments and achieve the win in four games.

Four games ended with the section 4.42 condition (Broken Alliance; both Axis conquered with high point differential). In three of the four games, the score was close enough and the player scoring the second highest number of points got the win.

Of the 37 games played in the last two years, the Churchill player has won 20 games, Roosevelt has won 12 and Stalin has won only 5. While last year’s results may have been skewed (due to the Class C format), Stalin winning only one game this year among experienced players raises my concern that balance, especially in a tournament setting when players are assigned randomly, may need to be addressed.

Thanks to the 18 players who played in the various rounds. Hope you had as much fun as I did and hope to see you next year.

2017 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 1
David Stoy Todd Carter David Edelstein Ed Kapitan Jeff Burdett
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
The start of the debate Paul Gaberson awaits his turn
The war rages on Don Tatum is the 2017 Churchill Champion
GM Greg Schmittgens [1st Year] NA
 gregschmittgens@gmail.com NA