WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


Acquire (ACQ) WBC 2017 Report
Updated February 13, 2018 Icon Key
86 Players Steve Shambeda 2017 Status 2018 Status History/Laurels
  2017 Champion   Click box for details. Click box for details.

Hotel Magnates Still Going Strong

This year was similar to last year in some respects. There were the first place crushing wins (Yeah, you David Platnick) with twice the cash as second place. And the squeakers: Steve Packwood's $100 win. Seat number two still had the lowest win percentage but that could also be because seat number 2 had the lowest number of payouts in the first merger. Starting hotels were balanced between high, low and medium reflecting individual player strategy. Best news is that player numbers were up.

Gary Moss steamed into the semis with a 3-0 heat record. Gary was on such a roll not even seat #2 behind past two time champ Steve Packwood could stop him. Steve Shambeda had the closest semifinal win with $800 over Rich Curtain. Jason Arvey's semifinal was rather low key because the other players thought he was too far ahead (they were right.) In semifinal #4 John Myers proved again that you don't have to be involved in the first merger to win.

Steve started the final by creating American on the edge. Jason went low cost with Tower at 3F-3G. John got his own chain started with Luxor in the middle of the board. Gary had bad tiles and didn't start a chain the whole game. While that is a hindrance, it isn't a game breaker. Identifying and buying the right chain is key to winning. Steve caused the first merger of American taking over Worldwide even though he was minority and John majority. The next turn Jason merged hotels giving Steve a majority position and having him and John tie in minority. By turn 7 Gary was out of cash giving the other three players four turns of buying. The game ended on turn 14 with American taking over Festival and three fixed chains. All guys played well but after 25 years and four 2nd place finishes, Steve Shambeda can rest well with his first place plaque.

2017 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 1
Gary Moss John R. Myers Jason Arvey Richard Curtin Steve Packwood
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th

See you can have fun at WBC even playing Acquire

Who will pull the trigger on the merger
Acquire Finalist with GM Cliff Ackman
GM     Cliff Ackman [11th Year]   NA
   Cliff006@Frontier.com    NA