WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


superstar baseball (SSB) WBC 2016 Report
Updated Nov. 26, 2016 Icon Key
31 Players Bill Beckman, SC 2016 Status 2017 Status History/Laurels
2015-2016 Champion Click box for details. Click box for details.

America’s Pastime—the Abridged Version

31 managers selected World Series teams and played a total of 91 games leading to the playoffs. The format was the same as in recent years with three heat winners and runners-up plus two wild card teams making the eight team playoff pool. This year’s Heat winners were Bill Beckman (57 Milwaukee Braves), Harry Flawd (2013 Red Sox), and Jack Beckman (2006 Tigers). The Runners-up were Tim Rogers (93 Blue Jays), John Welage (72 A's), and Jacob Hebner (55 Dodgers). The Wildcards were Bruce Beard's 46 Cardinals and Bill Dickerson's 86 Mets.

The semifinals opened with the Braves facing the Blue Jays as the Red Sox opposed the Dodgers. In the first game, Lew Burdette tossed a one-hit shutout to lead Milwaukee over Toronto 3-0. The Braves got all they needed on Joe Adcock's 2-run homer in the 5th inning.

The other bracket saw the Dodgers score four in the top of the 9th to tie the game. Duke Snyder started the heroics with a 2-run triple and Carl Furillo and Gil Hodges followed with run scoring hits to knot the score. It was all for naught however, as Jacoby Ellsbury led off the bottom of the 9th with a walkoff homer for the Sox.

The World Series was a best two out of three series. In Game 1, the Braves took an early 2-0 lead on a pair of rbi hits by Red Schoendienst. Trailing 2-1, the Red Sox tied it on Mike Napoli's homer in the sixth. The rally killer was when Big Papi grounded into a bases loaded double play to end the threat. In the 7th, Catcher Carl Sawatski doubled and scored the winning run on Wes Covington's single. Bob Buhl won his third game of the tourney. Game 2 found Warren Spahn going against Clay Bucholtz. After Spahn balked home a run in the top of the second, the Braves took a 3-1 lead on Sawatski's 3-run home run in the bottom of the inning. The Braves never looked back as they cruised to a 9-2 win and the SSB title. The Braves were led by Sawatski's .400 average and Adcock's 13 RBI's. Spahn and Buhl each won three games and had sub 2.00 ERA's.

This was Bill's second straight SSB Championship and third in the last five years. Bill will be stepping down as GM in 2017. Roderick Lee is expected to fill the vacancy.

2016 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 2
Harry Flawd, PA Tim Rogers, SC Jacob Hebner, CO Jack Beckman, MI John Welage, OH
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Jack Beckman, Chris LeFevre and John Welage  Defending champ Bill Beckman and Dennis Kelly
Joe Beard and Jacob Hebner The WBC World Series: Harry Flawd and Bill Beckman
GM  Bill Beckman [5th Year]  NA
 Tenn2bex@aol.com  864-313-8964