WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


sekigahara (SKG) WBC 2016 Report
Updated Nov. 22, 2016 Icon Key
48 Players James Pei, VA 2016 Status 2017 Status Event History
2014-2016 Champion Click box for details. Click box for details.

Deja Vu

Sekigahara welcomed wargamers to Seven Springs on Monday morning.

The only disqualification was to our original venue, for a broken AC, and we moved the event upstairs into the more comfortable Foggy Goggle. Here, with a fine view of the slopes, a record 48 would-be daimyo contested ownership of Japan.

The Swiss format allowed players who didn't win the first round to keep gaming, and they did: most players played three rounds or more. Prizes were awarded for heroic feats in the early rounds. Samurai statuettes were given to the player who won the largest decisive battle, in the first and third rounds, and to the player who killed the most enemy leaders, in the second round. (In an irony, one of these awards, meant to add fun for those who don't win the big prize, went to defending champion James Pei).

In Rounds 4 and 5, the top four scorers play in the semifinals and Final, but everyone else who continues does so for honor prizes. Every player who wins a match in the Honor rounds gets to take home a prize -- regardless of how they fared earlier. This recognizes that the gamer has played honorably: fighting on even after there was no hope of winning the event. This year's honor prizes were shrink wrapped copies of the game and samurai letter-openers.

Players still exhibit a slight preference for Tokugawa, and it is not uncommon to see a 1-2 point bid for that side, but in the GM's experience the two sides are equal. This year saw some interesting strategic innovation, with different treatments of blocks on the North side of the board. Some Tokugawa players ignored the North in a rush to fight near the capital. Some Ishida players brought their northern forces together to create an army capable of attacking Kanazawa and having game-long impact.

Strong players in Sekigahara do well year after year (though every year a rookie or two breaks into the top bracket as well). In five years, we’ve had only two champions. This year’s Final was a rematch of 2015, with James Pei again facing runner-up Dennis Mishler. Though it came down to the last turns, the result was the same and the reigning Caesar now has a secondary winning streak to back up his amazing mastery of For the People. Banzai!

2016 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 2
Dennis Mishler, TX Nick Henning, DC Ed Kraska, MD Derek Miller, NY Omar Chbaklo, ae
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Larry Sissons enjoys the comfy chairs in Foggy Goggle.
Originally scheduled for the Maple Room, AC issues
moved them upstairs to a better view and softer chairs.
Bruce Hodgins vs Nick Henning. The former Consul collided
with Caesar Pei as the two masters finally shared the same
game board, but the young Jedi knight lost in the semifinals.
Danielle Rosenberger vs Dalton Versak Jason Albert, part of the Dockterless Minnesota contingent.
GM  Matt Calkins [5th Year]  NA