WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


manoeuvre (MAN) WBC 2016 Report
Updated Dec. 1, 2016 Icon Key
26 Players Bjorn von
Knorring, se
2016 Status 2017 Status Event History
  2014-2016 Champion      

Scandinavia Supreme

The tournament again consisted of three swiss rounds to advance eight to single elimination. The tiebreaker for advancement was based on the countries played with the lesser played countries from the previous year’s tournament worth more. Each player was only allowed to play each of the eight different nationalities once.

The swiss rounds were played in pods of four with round robin matches against each of the three other members of that pool. With 2-1 records being common, tiebreakers were important. The countries played vary widely from one year to the next as players chased the points for playing a country with favorable tiebreakers. The interesting dynamic this creates is that next year those countries will be out of style again as their points will be low. Fortunately, only the US seems to be unbalanced in this system with five of the countries having 50% to 60% win percentages. The two other exceptions, Austria and Prussia, do not have enough plays to be significant.

The W-L records for the countries in winning percentage order were: Britain 12-8, Ottomans 9-6, France 6-4, Russia 7-7, Spain 3-3, Prussia 1-2, Austria 0-1, United States 0-7.

Once again, five 3-0 players advanced along with three 2-1 players after points and tiebreakers were applied. The four quarterfinals were a much different mix than last year’s all British/French pairings. The results were as follows:

  • Steve Raszewski’s French defeated Nathan Wagner’s Austrians.
  • Dave Stiffler’s French defeated Jim Mehl’s Spanish.
  • John Ratanaprasatporn’s Prussians defeated Craig Melton’s Ottomans.
  • The feature quarterfinal game was a rematch of the 2015 Final. Kevin Emery’s Russians had turned the table on defending champ Bjorn von Knorring’s British in the swiss portion rematch. However this time, Bjorn’s Prussians defeated Kevin’s Ottomans with elimination at stake. Timing is everything.

Bjorn’s French then defeated John’s Austrians in one semifinal while Dave’s Austrians topped Steve’s Russians in the other.

The Final was again one game for all the wood. Both players had all countries available to select so Bjorn took the British and Dave the French. Once again the title came down to a nightfall decision and once again Bjorn emerged triumphant with a one-point victory (although it was the equivalent of two as he held the British tiebreaker). For the fifth year in a row, the Manoeuvre champion hailed from Scandinavia. It was the Swede’s third consecutive title and the two years before his reign Mikko Raimi took the wood home to Finland.

Hopefully, we will have the expansion to use next year so the format of points may change but right now the 2017 tiebreaker points will be: 2: Britain, France, Ottoman; 3: Russia; 4: Spain; 6: Prussia, US; 7: Austria.

2016 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 2
Dave Stiffler, VA J. Ratanaprasatporn, PA Steve Raszewski, MD Kevin Emery, SC Craig Melton, VA
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th

A lot of maneuvering going on.

Gordon Stewart vs Scott Beall

Kevin Emery vs George Young face off
in a battle of two of the top MAN laurelists.
GM Lewis oversees his fnalists as Dave Stiffler
falls to Sweden's Bjorn von Knorring.
GM  Andy Lewis [9th Year]  NA
 alewis161@mchsi.com  NA