WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


Circus Maximus (CMS) WBC 2016 Report
Updated Nov. 22, 2016 Icon Key
91 Players Jennifer Brown, DE 2016 Status 2017 Status Event History
2016 Champion Click box for details. Click box for details.

The Colosseum was never this grand before

The fans returned to the new Colosseum in droves as 91 charioteers started 259 times over four heats, a semifinal and a Final to baptize Festival Hall in mayhem.

Nine drivers ran the gauntlet to the Saturday night Final, driving seven heavies and two lights. They were Jennifer Brown and 2004 champ Scott Sirianna in lights, and John Pack, Doug Galullo, three-time champ Josh Githens, 1993 champ Barry Smith, two-time champ Angela Bender, Steve Sabatino and Robert Voisin driving heavies.

The two lights and Josh Githens (despite driving a heavy) were the object of multiple attacks out of the gate. It seems being a three-time champ has its drawbacks - losing two of his steeds by race end. Sirianna had poor speed rolls when forming his light team and soon became even slower. The other light was attacked eight times before pulling away with only two wheel damage to show for all the attention.

The truce amongst the heavies evaporated after the opening turn. Meanwhile, Brown fled in terror from all the unwanted attention - successfully staying out of range of the pack, but accumulating two more wheel damage on Turns 12 and 13 by rolling a 2 and a 3 to give the blood thirsty herd at her heels renewed hope. As she entered the home stretch, her chariot flipped on a wheel check roll of 2 and began body surfing to the finish. Gallant Josh had a chance to trample her short of the line, but refused since doing so would benefit those who had ravaged him earlier. So, Jennifer crossed the finish line with plenty of scrapes and bruises but with four body parts remaining to claim her first WBC title of any kind.

The next day hamburger went on sale! A quarter of all the horses had met an untimely end in the big race and three of the nine chariots had flipped. The drivers were proud of having baptized the new Colosseum in such fine style.

2016 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 2
John Pack, MI Scott Sirianna, NY Doug Galullo, CT Joshua Githens, SC Barry Smith, NY
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
Mike Stanley, Rob Seulowitz, Michael Day,
Devin Beyma and Vincent Sinigaglio cheer the ponies.
Jon Lockwood, Nora Tuke, Doug Galullo, David Metzger,
James Kendrick and Barry Smith watch the mayhem.
Craig Reece, Michael Sana, RJ Gleaton and
Wes Coates size up their targets.
The increased racing schedule with a record
four heats averaged five races per heat.
Legendary GM Jake Jacoby (second from right) with his "usual suspects" finalists.
GM  John M. Jacoby [18th year]  102 Deerwood Rd., Charlottesville, VA 22911
 NA  434-973-3065