speed circuit

Updated Nov. 16, 2015

2015 WBC Report

2016 Status: pending 2016 GM commitment

Michael Aubuchon, PA

2015 Champion

Event History

1991 Scott Goehring 24
1992 Mike Fitzgerald 18
1993 Chris Hancock 16
1994 Andrew House 29
1995 Lane Hess 23
1996 Trevor Bender 26
1997 Robert Kircher 25
1998 John Weber 38
1999 Kevin Keller 27
2000 Gerald Lientz 28
2001 Scott Cornett 29
2002 Lance Ribeiro 35
2003 Douglas Schulz 32
2004 John Welage 30
2005 Dennis Nicholson 37
2006 Kevin Keller 32
2007 Terry Schulz 33
2008 Gerald Lientz 24
2009 Doug Schulz 31
2010 Lane Newbury 27
2011 Tim Carnahan 29
2012 Bruce Rae 30
2013 Terry Schulz 27
2014 Kevin Keller 28
2015 Michael Aubuchon 33

PBeM Event History
2012 Doug Schulz 37
2013 Tim Mossman 26


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Scott Cornett      FL    11    166
  2.  Doug Schulz        MD    14    164
  3.  Kevin Keller       MD    15    161
  4.  Terry Schulz       PA    13    156
  5.  Tim Mossman        MD    15     89
  6.  Gerald Lientz      VA    09     81
  7.  Jimmy Fleckenstein VA    12     78
  8.  Lane Newbury       TX    10     66
  9.  Mike Aubuchon      PA    15     64
 10.  John Welage        OH    12     64
 11.  Dennis Nicholson   NY    09     60
 12.  Bruce Rae          bc    12     56
 13.  Lance Ribeiro      NH    02     52
 14.  Randy Needham      NJ    15     50
 15.  Jeff Cornett       FL    12     48
 16.  Don Tatum          MD    12     46
 17.  Tim Carnahan       MD    11     40
 18.  Robert Kircher     RI    14     39
 19.  John Shaheen       MA    12     34
 20.  Chris Hancock      PA    06     32
 21.  Trevor Bender      CA    02     32
 22.  Seth Kirchner      KY    15     28
 23.  Darin Morley       NC    04     26
 24.  Chris Long         PA    15     20
 25.  Robert Rund        MA    13     17
 26.  Lane Hess          PA    00     16
 27.  Curt Collins II    PA    14     15
 28.  Jason O'Donnell    OH    01     13
 29.  Michal Aubuchon    PA    14     12
 30.  Bruno PassacantandoCT    08     12
 31.  John Sharp III     FL    06     12
 32.  Christina Hancock  OH    14      9
 33.  Martin Burgdorf    de    14      9
 34.  Franklin Haskell   NH    03      9
 35.  Turyko Suky        it    12      8
 36.  Dan McGowan        ME    01      8
 37.  Dave Anderson      PA    00      8
 38.  Doug Galullo       MD    10      6
 39.  Guiseppe Incorpora it    12      4
 40.  James Fleckenstein VA    02      4
 41.  Phil White         MD    14      3
2015 Laurelists Returning Laurelists: 4

Kevin Keller, MD

Randy Needham, NJ

Tim Mossman, MD

Chris Long, PA

Seth Kirchner, OH

Past Winners

Mike Fitzgerald, CT

Chris Hancock, NH

Andrew House, MD

Lane Hess, PA

Trevor Bender, CA

Robert Kircher, RI

John Weber, MD

Kevin Keller, MD
1999, 2006, 2014

Gerald Lientz, VA
2000, 2008

Scott Cornett, FL

Lance Ribeiro, NH

Doug Schulz, MD
2003, 2009

John Welage, OH

Dennis Nicholson, NY

Terry Schulz, PA
2007, 2013

Lane Newbury, TX

Tim Carnahan, MD

Bruce Rae, bc

Michael Aubuchon, PA

Kevin Keller bides his time as Dennis Nicholson watches.

Don Tatum, Rob Kircher and Randy Needham await their chance.

Steady & Patient Wins the Day ...

Over three days at WBC, 33 drivers competed to qualify for the Final on day 4. Qualifying heats were split into two (or three) different tracks, with the top qualifiers from each advancing. There were a lot of familiar faces as well as a mix of welcome new drivers. In the end, Mike Aubuchon took home the title, winning his first WBC Shield to become our 19th champion in 25 years.

The first heat’s tracks, Hockenheim and Monza, were long and fast. The second day’s tracks were Melbourne, Monaco, and Valencia, where a wide range of strategies were possible. The third qualifying heat tracks were COTA and India, where racing slow and saving wear seemed to be the best strategy.

Mike, Chris Long, and Randy Needham all managed to double-qualify with first and second place finishes. This meant that the last qualifier was one of the third place finishers, who turned out to be another one of our new players: Jonathan Winicki. Unfortunately, he couldn’t be present on Sunday, and neither did our alternates, so only 11 qualifiers made the Final track this year.

The Final was a familiar track: Singapore. We’ve seen this track in the past both online and in the qualifying heats, but this was the first time it was a WBC Final. As we discovered through the course of the race, there was a reason for that. It was a tight and unforgiving track, and it led to some very risky play, as each racer went all out to take home the title.

There was heavy bidding for the front with five cars that built 100 start speed. As the cars negotiated the first corner, the lead pack solidified into Don Tatum, Dennis Nicholson, Seth Kirchner, and Jim Fleckenstein. Doug Galullo, defending champ Kevin Keller, Rob Kircher, and Randy Needham became the chase pack, with Chris Long, Mike, and Tim Mossman rounding out the back.

The first lap saw Tatum and Nicholson spend a lot of wear to maintain their lead, but it was all for naught. Galullo caught up to them, and then Kirchner passed them both early in the second lap. At that point in the second lap, Fleckenstein broke his brakes for a second time (at the very same spot) and was forced to retire. Tatum also broke his car’s accel, which signaled the beginning of the end for him.

Meanwhile, at the back of the race, Mike spent only two wear in the first lap and realistically lost no position doing it. This was an early signal that things likely weren’t going to go well for the current leaders. The chase pack had also rearranged itself a bit, but the defending champĀ  was still at the head and had managed to spend his least wear doing so. By the start of the third lap, Kirchner had gained a significant lead but had spent all of his wear doing so. The chase pack began to gain, and then the chaos started. Within three turns, over a third of the field was lost. Tatum tried to push accel again and his engine finally broke, forcing him out of the race. Galullo crashed in the fourth corner while rolling chance and took Nicholson out along with him. Then Kircher broke his engine as well trying to push a second time and failing.

Suddenly, Keller and Mike were less than a turn behind Kirchner with a lot fewer racers left to pass. They proceeded to pass him and set themselves up for the win. However, Mossman and Long were gaining quickly and were looking to pass Keller. Lining up behind Keller in the second to last corner left Long with few options, however. He was forced to roll a forced pass just to have a chance at clearing the corner, and wound up spinning when the dice came up boxcars.

Mike spent the last of his wear to win the race easily, a full turn and a half ahead of the rest of the field. He built a solid car and then spent little to no wear until the later stages of the race, at which point he could glide by everyone else like they were standing still.

That meant Keller and Mossman were now lining up to finish second and third, but Needham still had wear to spend. He rolled chance into the penultimate corner and spent his last two wear going full out through the last corner to line up next to Keller and Mossman. Kevin, who played his usual conservative and opportunistic race, came very close to winning for the second year in a row, but couldn’t compete with Mike’s wear and fell back to second place. With some final die rolls to break ties, Needham managed to push ahead of Mossman, as they finished third and fourth respectively. Finally, Long and Kirchner limped across the finish to take the remaining laurels as Lampeter emptied out for the last time.

GM Chris Long (second from right) and his ten co-finalists.
GM Chris Long [2nd Year] NA
chris.long@gmail.com NA

2015 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page