Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report   

  2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

Mike James, MD

2012 Champion

Event History
1993    Kurt Litscher      16
1994    Mark Potter      16
1995    Mark Potter      16
1996    Harry Flawd      19
1997    Harry Flawd      15
1998    John Ellmann      16
1999    Harry Flawd     20
2000    Harry Flawd     30
2001    Devin Flawd     20
2002     Bill O'Neal     28
2003     Harry Flawd      42
2004     Harry Flawd      38
2005     Devin Flawd      38
2006      Devin Flawd      41
2007      Devin Flawd      38
2008     Devin Flawd      40
2009      Bruno Passacantando      49
2010      Harry Flawd      46
2011     Jacob Hebner       52
2012     Mike James      43


Rank  Name               From  Last  Total
  1.  Harry Flawd         PA    12    204
  2.  Devin Flawd         PA    09    200
  3.  Jacob Hebner        CO    12     60
  4.  Bill O'Neal         NY    12     49
  5.  Bruno Passacantando CT    11     41
  6.  Mike Destro         NJ    07     36
  7.  Mike James          MD    12     30
  8.  Chad Gormly         MA    11     30
  9.  Derek Landel        NJ    06     28
 10.  Barry Shoults       MI    08     24
 11.  John Ellmann        MD    01     22
 12.  Jordan Flawd        PA    08     21
 13.  Jeremy Billones     VA    10     18
 14.  David Tianen        WI    09     18
 15.  Dave Buchbinder     PA    03     18
 16.  Ray Stakenas II     MI    03     18
 17.  Dan Dolan Jr        NJ    05     15
 18.  Bill Place          PA    05     13
 19.  Joe Yaure           PA    10     12
 20.  Mark Love           MD    10     12
 21.  Ron Pisarz          VA    12      9
 22.  Dale Long           NJ    09      9
 23.  Paul O'Neil         MD    06      9
 24.  Jason Levine        NY    03      9
 25.  Terry Coleman       CA    12      6
 26.  Brian Conlon        CT    11      6
 27.  John Shaheen        VA    10      6
 28.  John Shaheen        MA    07      6
 29.  Andy Lewis          DE    06      6
 30.  Pete Putnam         PA    04      6
 31.  Greg Berry          VA    01      6
 32.  Michael Cook        VA    01      4
 33.  Steve Scott         CA    11      3
 34.  Daniel Long         NJ    10      3
 35.  Jeff Finkeldey      OH    04      3
 36.  Dennis Nicholson    NY    03      3
 37.  Bruce Reiff         OH    00      2

2012 Laurelists                                             Repeating Laurelists:

Jacob Hebner, CO

Harry Flawd, PA

Bill O'Neal, CT

Terry Coleman, CA

Ron Pisarz, VA

Past Winners

Mark Potter, PA

Harry Flawd, PA
'96-97, '99-00, '03-04, '10

John Ellmann, MD

Devin Flawd, PA
2001, 2005-08

Bill O'Neal, NY

Bruno Passacantando, CT

Jacob Henbner, CO

Mike James, MD

And the pigskin parade is on!

A-Rod apologist Dennis Nicholson gets thumped by Scott Beall.

Da Bears! ...

Travel and job concerns took a toll from 2011's record attendance. One nice improvement, on a wise request by Don, was to move the draft to the tiered seating of the Hopewell Room. With more room, seating for all, and a nice, relaxed atmosphere to conduct what many say is one of the highlights of the tourney, the draft! The top teams were bid up quickly with the top seeds of New England, Pittsburgh, and Baltimore going for 10 or more points above their tournament rating.

John Conlon's Ravens upset seven-time champ Harry Flawd's Steelers in the opening round of the AFC Heat to send shockwaves through the field. It was a fierce back and forth game with failed 4th down gambles, missed FG's and late turnovers.... all leading to OT. Pittsburgh held on their first defensive series to force a punt only to have their returner downed in the end zone for a game-winning safety. Other tightly contested first round games included: Ron Pisarz's Jets topping Barry Shoult's Raiders 35-28, Bill O'Neal's Dolphins over Joe Yaure's Chiefs 23-20, Ryan Friedman's Patriots over Paul Gaberson's Bills 32-31, and Mike James' Chiefs over Brian Conlon's Ravens 31-28.

John Conlon's Ravens continued their winning streak in the second round over Ryan's Patriots 35-21. Bill O'Neal gave up the lead late, only to score with :30 left to defeat Chris Palermo's Jaguars and defending champ Jacob Hebner's beloved Broncos downed Greg Courter's Titans 15-13 as Doug Porterfield, Mike James, Vassilli Kyrkos, and Terry Coleman also advanced.

Round 3 had Bill topping Doug's Colts 31-8, Mike defeating John's Ravens 37-21, and Terry scoring early and often in a rout of Vassilli's Raiders 45-14, with Jacob rounding out the final four.

Jacob led his Broncos over Bill's Dolphins 39-27 in one semifinal, while Mike James toppled Terry's Jets, 32-7. The AFC title game was a back and forth affair, and in the end, the defending champ earned a return trip to the Super Bowl with a 26-24 victory over Mike's Chiefs. However, this was not to be the last we would hear from Mike James.

The NFC Heat drew 32 managers vying for a shot at Jacob in the Super Bowl and there were a lot of early fireworks. Derek Landel's Rams introduced Bruce Reiff's Saints to the wonderful world of point spreads, 45-39! John Welage's 49ers beat Greg Courter's Bucs 44-39, and to top them all, Joe Yaure's Packers broke the scoreboard while holding off Brian Conlon's Falcons 55-51! On the other end of the spectrum, Steve Scott's Redskins took a break from RA tiles long enough to pin a 9-3 loss on Mark Love's Seahawks. Bruno Passacantando's Eagles defeated Tom Knapp's Cardinals 24-13, and Terry Coleman continued his impressive run with the Falcons, beating Joshua Coyle (TB) 41-27.

Round 2 winners were Harry Flawd's 49ers over Terry's Falcons 24-18, Bill O'Neal's Rams over Andy Lewis's Bucs 27-16, Bruno, 31-6 over Dennis Nicholson's Cowboys, Steve Scott over Jordan Flawd's Saints 36-14, and Mike James' Bears in a tight one over Derek Landel 14-10. Chris Palermo, Joe Yaure, and Ron Pisarz also advanced.

Round 3 found eight teams left, and nothing closer than an 11-point spread to worry about. Mike downed Chris 30-6, Bruno beat Ron 31-17, Joe ran roughshod over Bill 65-38, and Harry beat Steve 34-23. It was more of the same in the semifinals, as Mike whupped up on Bruno's Eagles 38-14 and Harry picked off four passes in a 38-24 win over Joe's Packers. So the NFC title game came down to the Bears and 49ers, with the Bears getting a 17-point spread. Harry cut the lead to 17-13 late in the first quarter, stopping the Bears O and moving the ball fairly easily. But the Bears D stepped up in the 2nd quarter, getting two turnovers and scoring to push the halftime lead back to 11. The Bears got two more turnovers in the second half to put it away 44-27, and earn a rematch with Jacob.

Mike James was a newcomer to the tourney although he plays online Paydirt in a league with Ron and Bill, so he knows what he's doing. Defending champ Jacob Hebner was looking to start his own dynasty. The spread was 5 points, but Mike totally shut down Jacob, allowing only a Bronco FG, in a relatively easy 24-8 win as he took his first WBC title while amassing an overall record of 10-1! It would appear the Flawd dynasty has found some competition with the first back-to-back non-Flawd champions since 1995.

Daniel Long, who has some firsthand knowledge of football, exchanges pleasantries with football official and Paydirt GM and one-man dynasty Harry Flawd.

WBC newcomer Mike James tops off his 10-1 tournament performance with a convincing 24-8 win over defending champion Jacob Hebner's Broncos.

 GM      Harry Flawd  [18th Year]   2826 Blacksmith Way, Lancaster, PA 17601   717-575-4547

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page