the napoleonic wars  

Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report  

 2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

John Emery, SC

2012 Champion


Event History
2003    Forrest Speck     67
2004    David Gantt     64
2005     Ed Rothenheber     50
2006    Melvin Casselberry     55
2007    Scott Fenn     52
2008    Lane Hess     46
2009     Henry Russell     45
2010    Mike Casselberry     45
2011    Bruce Young     54
2012     John Emery     48

Waterloo Event History
2003    BruceYoung     24
2004    Scott Moll     14
2005    Mark Hodgkinson     24
2006    Kevin Sudy     32
2007    Kevin Sudy     28
2008    John Emery     24


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bruce Young        SC    11    206
  2.  John Emery         SC    12    188
  3.  Lane Hess          PA    12    137
  4.  Ed Rothenheber     MD    12    111
  5.  Henry Russell      PA    10    102
  6.  Melvin Casselberry PA    11     99
  7.  Scott Moll         VA    05     80
  8.  Mike Casselberry   PA    10     60
  9.  David Gantt        SC    04     60
 10.  Forrest Speck      MD    03     60
 11.  Francis Czawlytko  MD    11     54
 12.  Scott Fenn         MD    07     50
 13.  Mark Hodgkinson    au    05     50
 14.  Scott Pfeiffer     SC    08     48
 15.  Bryan Collars      SC    04     38
 16.  Tom Eskey          MD    11     36
 17.  John Haas          PA    03     36
 18.  Pat Duffy          VA    08     32
 19.  Brian Sutton       MD    12     30
 20.  Jim Savarick       PA    11     30
 21.  Harry Theodore     NY    09     24
 22.  Jesse Boomer       KS    09     24
 23.  Jason White        VA    04     24
 24.  Mark McCandless    CT    03     24
 25.  Kevin Sudy         VA    12     25
 26.  Nick Frydas        uk    11     18
 27.  Daniel Broh-Kahn   MD    10     18
 28.  Joe Burch          MD    06     18
 29.  Josh Githens       SC    04     18
 30.  Charley Hickok     PA    04     17
 31.  Richard Beyma      MD    08     16
 32.  Keith Wixson       NJ    04     16
 33.  Brian Sutton       MD    07     15
 34.  James Eaton        LA    03     15
 35.  William Burch      MD    04     14
 36.  Lance Roberts      AK    06     12
 37.  Steve Jansen       MD    05     12
 38.  George Young       UT    03     12
 39.  Al Hurda           on    12     10
 40.  Alan Sudy          VA    07     10
 41.  Fred Schachter     NY    05     10
 42.  Kevin Emery        SC    10      6
 43.  Robert Vollman     ab    06      6
 44.  Edward Kendrick    uk    03      6

2012 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Brian Sutton, MD

Kevin Sudy, VA

Ed Rothenheber, MD

Al Hurda, on

Lane Hess, PA

Past Winners

Forrest Speck, MD

David Gantt, SC

Ed Rothenheber, MD

Melvin Casselberry, PA

Scott Fenn, MD

Lane Hess, PA

Henry Russell, PA

Mike Casselberry, PA

Bruce Young, SC

John Emery, SC

Brian Mountford, Jesse Boomer, Ed Rothenheber, Steve Koleszar and John Emery

Nick Benedict, Phil Barcafer, Ken Richards and Pete Stein enjoy the comfortable early heat.

Kevin Emery and Geoff Allbutt 

 Bart Pisarik, Tommy Johnston, and GM Gareth Williams

Never Trust the Mafia in the Dry Season ...

Monday night saw a turnout of 33, the highest of the week and vindicating I think the decision to move a heat there. While it was not intended to run a demo table that night, it happened anyway.

This heat saw the only French conquest of Britain during the week, Napoleon touring London and the Spanish playing Capitulation. Austria responded with a major invasion and got as far as Marseilles. However, in the last card play of the turn Blake attacked over into Languedoc and Charles intercepted. Charles won the battle, but had left Marseilles empty, allowing a secondary Spanish force to come in by sea and retake the key. This kept France at +6 VP and caused an automatic game end.

Tuesday drew 25 players overall, and saw the formal demo with a much appreciated use of Rich Shipley's 3D pieces. The demo result was posted after one turn; however we played a second turn to demonstrate some of the logistic difficulties involved in invading Russia. Attrition and Cossacks wore Napoleon, Davout and Blake down to little more than their corps by the end of the turn. Nappy pulled the conquest off, even if reduced to fending off kamikaze Finnish cavalry by himself at times. Britain also conquered Denmark, a feat that was managed twice during the week. The Danes did however enjoy a moment of glory when their lone squadron sortied under Admiral Fischer and accounted for a British SQ but were left in the Irish Sea. The British fleet converged on them and proceeded to get two disrupts on 12 dice. The Danes returned fire, earning two kills on two dice and prompting a second day of battle at 6 dice to 0 which finally ended their historic voyage.

Thursday's heat dropped to 15 players, perhaps not helped by the conditions in Lampeter. At this point both Casselberry's made a Bernadottesque late appearance to slot in as Prussia in two games. Melvin managed the rare result of losing all keys except his capital to conquest, posting a -5 and thereby edging out Rejean Tremblay for the wooden spoon.

Other highlights of the heats included a game with Wellington being hit with just about every debilitating card: Dysentery, Generals Health, Leader Wounded and killed twice in battle. In that reality he presumably has a very large statue in London that is missing a great many body parts.

The Semis were, for the first time ever, seeded based on performance in the heats, with the best performing players getting first pick of side. This change seems to have been universally considered an improvement. There were five no shows, thereby allowing some alternates a seat in the last 24, one of whom went on to claim 6th place.

In the only 4-player game, John Emery's French took a commanding win, with dark horse Bart Pisarik (who had attended the first demo Monday, then stayed to play the Tuesday game till 0400) taking second with Britain -- making that three runner-up performances in the first three plays of his Napoleonic career. In the 5-player semi's, the first pick was usually Britain, though France swept all the elimination games. Despite being preferred, Britain did no better than one second with Jesse Boomer scoring 3 VP. Jesse looked tied with Bill Burtless's Prussians and Henry Russell's Russians until Lane Hess narrowly missed out on a Nobel Peace Prize by posting 4 VP as a neutral Prussia with three pacts to take 6th place overall.

The Final proved to be the shortest ever, indeed one of the shortest games ever. John Emery used his 1st seed to claim France and took only 35 minutes to win, advancing to 5 VP and then playing Drought when the bulk of the rest of the table had one card + reserve each, causing them to lose their cards and be deprived of the chance to play their reserves. Europe Exhausted was in play, and France was allowed a shot at a peace die roll. C'est la guerre!

I'd like to thank everyone who played, especially Rich Shipley and Henry Russell for agreeing to act as assistant GMs. Inshallah I will be able to return next year and move forward. Despite the issues in Lampeter Nappy posted its second highest participation in five years, and I would like to build on that with a stable ref team.

Rich Shipley, Jim Doughan and Jesse Boomer

Lane Hess, Scott Fenn and Ed Rothenheber

 GM      Gareth Williams  [1st Year]   NA   NA

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page