Updated Nov. 23 2012

2012 WBC Report     

  2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

Richard Fetzer, NY

2012 Champion

Event History
2001    Rebecca Hebner       27
2002    Steve Scott       29
2005    Bob Titran       38
2006    Dave Buchholz       55
2008    Andy Latto       69
2009    Keith Levy     103
2010    David Rohde     107
2011    Keith Levy     112
2012    Richard Fetzer     115


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Keith Levy         MD    11     60
  2.  Richard Fetzer     NY    12     30
  3.  David Rohde        MC    10     30
  4.  Andy Latto         MA    08     20
  5.  Dave Buchholz      MI    06     20
  6.  Bob Titran         NY    05     20
  7.  Steve Scott        CA    05     19
  8.  Laura Dewalt       MD    12     18
  9.  Judy Wobbeking     MD    11     18
 10.  Tim Keating        IN    10     18
 11.  Terri Wicks        CT    09     18
 12.  Marcy Morelli      PA    12     12
 13.  Angela Hoffman     NC    11     12
 14.  Michael Shea       CT    10     12
 15.  Frank Mestre       NY    09     12
 16.  John Ellsworth     IL    08     12
 17.  Ken Lee            PA    06     12
 18.  Mark Love          MD    05     12
 19.  Rebecca Hebner     CO    05     10
 20.  James Pei          VA    12      9
 21.  Stefany Speck      MD    11      9
 22.  Sam Atabaki        CA    10      9
 23.  Kelsey Lee         PA    09      9
 24.  Ed Beach           MD    08      8
 25.  Debbie Davidson    NE    06      8
 26.  John Poniske       PA    05      8
 27.  Bryan Berkenstock  NJ    12      6
 28.  Ted Bohaczuk       PA    11      6
 29.  Deb Lawrence       PA    10      6
 30.  Gino Sinigaglio    NJ    09      6
 31.  Donna Balkan       on    08      6
 32.  Greg Courter       MI    06      6
 33.  Laurel Stokes      NJ    02      6
 34.  Rick Bass          NC    01      6
 35.  Bobbi Warczak      CA    08      4
 36.  Stefan Mecay       TX    06      4
 37.  Carol Haney        CA    05      4
 38.  Bob Runnicles      FL    02      4
 39.  Sean Vessey        VA    01      4
 40.  Dacey Collinson    MD    12      3
 41.  Brian Mongold      MD    11      3
 42.  Shannon Keating    IN    10      3
 43.  Haim Hochboim      is    09      3
 44.  Eric Eshleman      PA    02      3
 45.  Forrest Speck      MD    08      2
 46.  David Duncan       PA    06      2
 47.  Chris LeFevre      AZ    05      2
 48.  David Sidelinger   CT    02      2
 49.  Michael Johnson    MA    01      2
 50.  Dan Hoffman        WA    02      1
 51.  Lee Price          NC    01      1

2012 Laurelists                                                  Repeating Laurelists: 0

Laura DeWalt, MD

Marcy Morelli, PA

James Pei, VA

Bryan Berkenstock, NJ

Dacey Collinson, MD

Past Winners

Rebecca Hebner, CO

Steve Scott, CA

Bob Titran, NY

Dave Buchholz, MI

Andy Latto, MA

Keith Levy, MD
2009, 2011

David Rohde, NC

Richard Fetzer, NY

Andrew Sinigaglio, Steffanie Speck and David Rohde enter the bloodless lists to unseat each other.

Alexander Lange, eventual champ Richard Fetzer, Marcy Morelli and Greg Schmittgens do combat.

A Tournament of Tournaments ...

Ivanhoe has a unique attendance record at WBC. In its nine- year WBC existence it has managed to grow every year! We saw another record turnout this year with a first heat boasting 74 entrants. I would love to see 90 next year and I believe it is completely attainable. Due to the overwhelming Tuesday night crowd, play started a bit late and ran even later with one of the 15 tables playing till nearly 1am.

Aside from shear numbers, I was pleased to see so many families participating. How heart warming that our little tournament was able to bring everyone together at the end of each night for a little healthy competition. Whether it be the Collinson's, the Yaure's or the Shea's, fun was had by all dueling for family honors. The Lange brothers walked away chipless on Night 1 but each returned to defend their honor and Ted emerged a participant in the Great Green Tournament of Heat #3 (more on that later).

We also had our share of power couples in attendance, with last year's finalist Angela Hoffman and her husband Dan, with qualifying this year for the semifinals. There was also Nick Ferris and Laura DeWalt qualifying for the semifinals and in attendance dressed to the nines for "Prom Night", but with only the fair maiden making it to the Final table. We even had a newby couple, the Roeper's who learned to play in a quickie, private demo on Night 3 and excelled, with Barb becoming first alternate in only two nights of play.

In the end it was the Fetzer family who enjoyed victory, even without a purple chip, with Richard claiming fealty over all and defending the family name. Richard's son, Matt, won all four heats last year only to lose in the semifinals, but dad got it done this year. Steve Caler should have been seeing red after Heat 3 as he was dragged into the Green Tournament to end all Tournaments. What a good sport he was, as he was repeatedly forced to defend green that night in a match we all thought would never end.

As a side note on next year, we are hoping to slightly change formats. I am toying with the idea of an earlier time slot and possibly doing two rounds in a night, giving everyone a chance to hit the hay earlier at least a few nights during the week. We are also tossing around a points system that should make rankings clearer for all participants. We have started an archive of players this year so check-ins should be quicker and smoother in the future.

Great fun was had by all. We hope to see last year's champion, Keith Levy, who was away at the Crusades fighting the new job wars, in attendance to defend his title properly against Richard. My wife and I certainly enjoyed meeting and playing alongside all of you in our first time GMing as a couple. Thank you all for making our honeymoon one to remember. We look forward to seeing you all next year!

Judy Wobbeking and Dan Hoffman are among the combatants.

Nessa Mongold oversees her finalists including ex-Caesar Pei.
 Ivanhoe Junior

Kirk Harris again ran a Junior version of Ivanhoe for 28 little knights. The most noble were:

Final Standings
1st - Antony Saccenti
2nd - Nicholas Sinigaglio
3rd - Mandy Mossman
4th - Megan Mossman
5th - Caitlyn Rau
6th - Jay Buckwalter

 GM      Brian Mongold [2nd Year]  NA 
    sharkecw@comcast.net   NA

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page