hammer of the scots     

Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report   

  2013 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment

Lyman Moquin, DC

2012 Champion

Event History
2003    Phil Barcafer     55
2004    Lyman Moquin     29
2005    George Seary     29
2006    George Seary     25
2007     George Seary     17
2008     George Seary     23
2009    Lyman Moquin     16
2010    Lyman Moquin     24
2011    Malcolm Smith     24
2012    Lyman Moquin     15

Block Party History
2004    Bruce Reiff     23
2005    Ric Young     21
2006     Ric Manns     12

PBeM Event History
2006    Hank Burkhalter     31
2008     George Seary     30
2010    Hank Burkhalter     22


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  George Seary       NY    10    219
  2.  Lyman Moquin       DC    12    187
  3.  Rick Young         NC    06    108
  4.  Hank Burkhalter    GA    10     87
  5.  Ric Manns          IN    09     68
  6.  Phil Barcafer      PA    05     53
  7.  Bruce Reiff        OH    06     51
  8.  Malcolm Smith      VA    12     48
  9.  Fred Bauer         VA    12     45
 10.  Bill O'Neal        NY    08     33
 11.  Susanne Tuch       NY    10     32
 12.  Rob Taylor         MI    10     30
 13.  Jeff Mullet        OH    06     30
 14.  Ray Freeman        CA    11     27
 15.  Phil Rennert       MD    09     24
 16.  Stuart Pierce      VA    04     24
 17.  Troy Daniels       OH    06     22
 18.  Mike Dauer         TX    10     21
 19.  Nicholas Benedict  CA    07     18
 20.  Chris Byrd         CT    06     16
 21.  Ron Draker         VA    12     15
 22.  David Platnick     VA    10     15
 23.  Tom Drueding       FL    03     15
 24.  Tim Hall           UT    11     13
 25.  Keith Wixson       NJ    10     12
 26.  Joe Pabis          VA    08     12
 27.  Alfred Smith       NC    06     12
 28.  Grant Dalgliesh    WA    12      9
 29.  Rick Kirchner      KY    05      9
 30.  Sean McCulloch     OH    04      9
 31.  Barry Smith        NY    04      8
 32.  Steve Lollis       MD    08      6
 33.  Derek Miller       VA    07      6
 34.  Brad Bellomo       NJ    04      4
 35.  Robert Hammond     on    12      3
 36.  Paul Barrett       uk    08      3
 37.  Mike Zehnal        OH    05      3
 38.  Jake Busch         OH    06      2
 37.  Charles Stucker    IN    06      1

2012 Laurelists                                      Repeating Laurelists: 

Malcolm Smith, VA

Fred Bauer, VA

Grant Dalglirsh, WA

Ron Draker, VA

Robert Hammond, on

Past Winners

Phil Barcafer, PA

Lyman Moquin, DC
2004, 2009-10, 2012

George Seary, NY

Malcolm Smith, VA

Grant Dalgliesh, prior to his Slapshot referee gig, takes on three-time champ Lyman Moquin as David Rennert gets some pointers.

Craig Yope hitches up his kilts vs Ray Clark. Who said old grognards couldn't learn new tricks? If you can't beat 'em, join 'em I say.

Opposing Clans . . .

... Another Four-Time Winner Claims a Share of the Crown

My thanks to Lyman Moquin, last year's GM for the event, for serving as assistant GM this year and for providing the account of the Final which appears below. I am not sure if it was the change of play day from Friday to Wednesday or changing to the Clan MacInnis as GM, but attendance was down noticeably this year. Only the unseasonable weather in Lampeter granted us a reprieve from the annual culling of the weak and lame. The clans need to heed the warning and gather in larger numbers next year.

There were 23 games played, with the Scots victorious in 14, but only one of the three that counted most. The award for Best Scot has to go to the defending champion, Malcolm Smith, who went 4 - 1, losing only in the Final to three-time champion Lyman Moquin. In addition to winning the title, Lyman also claimed the honors as Best English, at 4 - 0, to complete his perfect 5-0 slate.

Publisher Grant Dalgliesh joined us and played one of the more interesting games as the English in the semifinal against Malcolm. Grant consolidated the South in Turns 1 and 2, and managed to keep Ross loyal to the English while doing so. Assembling a large force, Grant fought a key battle in Mentieth in Turn 4 and was victorious, securing that important terrain for the English crown. That turned out to be the high water mark for the English, as the Vikings made an appearance in Argyll for the Scots and defied all comers, first killing off the Hobelars in an attempt to get at Edward I, then eliminating Longshanks himself when the King returned with reinforcements and attacked Argyll again. Malcolm earned a sudden death victory in the last turn, 1305, by eliminating Edward II in the last action.

In the Final, Lyman bid zero years without Edward I for the English, and Malcolm bid zero extra initial levies for the Scots, and the rematch was on. Malcolm started with a good opening turn, ending with eight Nobles joining the rebellion. Lyman had an excellent draw for the levy on Turn 2, including Longshanks and some knights, and lowered the count to 7 - 7 at the end of Turn 2. The dice were not kind to Moray in an attack on the Comyn at home on Turn 3, with three hits in three tries eliminating Moray early. The Scots made somewhat of a comeback on Turn 4, as Edward attempted a seaborne invasion of Fife and was eliminated by a Scots force led by Wallace. Edward II built up the noble count and the infantry garrisons in the middle turns, including three consecutive years of pillaging steps from the Scots, notably Wallace. Turn 8 was a very short year because of simultaneous play of events, which allowed Malcolm to mount a counterattack in 1305, but Lyman's advantage was too big to overcome, and he returned as champion with a final noble count of 8 - 5, with Moray and Edward I Longshanks both among the fallen. With his victory, Lyman tied the absent George Seary with four HOS titles apiece.

 GM      Randall MacInnis [1st Year]   57 Academy Court, Bedminster, NJ 07921
    randymac2@verizon.net   NA

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page