Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report  

 2012 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

Paul Sampson, OH

2012 Champion
Event History
2010    Bruce Hodgins     32
2011    Rob Flowers     45
2012    Paul Sampson     37


 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Paul Sampson       OH    12     36
   2.  Bruce Hodgins      on    11     33
   3.  John Corrado       VA    12     30
   4.  Rob Flowers        MD    11     30
   5.  Daniel Speyer      NY    12     21
   6.  Tom McCorry        VA    10     18
   7.  Eugene Hourany     TX    12     12
   8.  Chris Skuce        on    10     12
   9.  Ed Kendrick        uk    12      9
  10.  William Kendrick   uk    11      9
  11.  David Platnick     VA    10      9
  12.  Lachlan Salter     on    12      6
  13.  John Dextraze      on    11      6
  14.  Philip Shea        FL    10      3

2012 Laurelists                                             Repeating Laurelists: 

John Corrado, VA

Eugene Hourany, TX

Ed Kendrick, uk

Lachlan Salter, on

Daniel Speyer, NY

Past Winners

Bruce Hodgins, on

Rob Flowers, MD

Paul Sampson, OH

Kevin Barry and Sceadeau D'Tela in the first heat.

Brian Conlon watches champion Paul Sampson at work.

A First in Brass ...

Attendance at the third tournament fell to a midpoint of 37 players, again originating from four nations. After 14 preliminary games, nine of the 12 winners attended the semis, so two alternates (based on their two best scores) were admitted to form two 4-player and one 3-player semifinal games. The two best seconds from the semis were 2.990 and 2.984 and so the GM advanced by 0.006 of a point!

From the start of the Final, Hourany and Sampson both went heavily for cotton development. Corrado, third last year, and Sampson both developed iron, coal and ports. Kendrick took opportunities to build coal and iron but fell behind in development. By the end of the canal era, Kendrick had built all his iron and had a lead but the others had shipped two and three M3s and were better placed to score twice.

The rail era opened with the usual flurry of double rail builds. Hourany and Sampson both shipped three mills, Hourany with a slight edge having built three in the canal phase. Corrado went for rail, iron and a shipyard, dipping to -10 income at one point. Kendrick stayed away from mills, built coal opportunistically and managed to block Corrado to build two shipyards. However he found his rail network constricted and eventually finished last with 133. Several coal and iron overbuilds proved decisive as Hourany reached 139 and Sampson and Corrado both made 140 -- but Sampson was one point higher on the income track -- enabling him to secure his first ever WBC title. All in all, it was a very tight game and any of the players could have emerged triumphant.

The 18 games yielded an average score of 133.9 -- significantly higher than last year -- and the highest was Lee Proctor with 167. Two players, Proctor and Hourany, each won two heats. The standard of play was noticeably higher than in preceding years which can be attributed to the Web version which allows players to hone their skills against opponents around the world throughout the year.

Assistant GM William Kendrick took meticulous notes during the play of the Final, without which this report would have been much shorter! And the GM's component retrieval and return service enabled several players to maintain the integrity of their game sets.

Chris Senhouse, Elaine Pearson and Eugene Hourany in the first heat.

The finalists at work.

 GM      Edward Kendrick  [3rd Year] NA   NA

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page