advanced civilization   

Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report  

 2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

Doug Galullo, MD

2012 Champion

Event History
1991    Alan Behrens    24
1992    Dan Vice    48
1993    Dan Vice    37
1994    Ken Rothstein    35
1995    Michael Neal    40
1996    Joe Gundersen    28
1997    Todd Vander Pluym     23
1998    Eric Gundersen    34
1999   Doug Galullo    38
2000   Eric Gundersen    27
2001   Doug Galullo    19
2002   Doug Galullo    20
2003   Joe Gundersen    28
2004    Harald Henning    31
2005   John Morris   34
2006   Joe Gundersen    33
2007   Kevin Youells    30
2008   Christina Harley    30
2009    Kevin Youells    32
2010    Gregory Kulp    32
2011   Kevin Youells    30
2012   Doug Galullo    28

PBeM Event History
2012    Mads Lunau      31


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Kevin Youells      PA    12    333
  2.  Doug Galullo       FL    12    316
  3.  Joe Gundersen      IN    06    186
  4.  Shantanu Saha      NY    12    139
  5.  Eric Gundersen     NJ    03    125
  6.  Christina Harley   VA    12    114
  7.  Harald Henning     CT    11     80
  8.  Mads Lunan         dk    12     60
  9.  Gregory Kulp       NJ    12     58
 10.  Jon Anderson       PA    12     54
 11.  Ted Mullally       NJ    03     50
 12.  John Morris        MD    05     40
 13.  Joe Lux            NJ    12     32
 14.  Ken Rothstein      NY    09     30
 15.  Chris Robbins      UT    07     30
 16.  Rodd Polsky        PA    01     30
 17.  Jeff Bowers        UT    06     29
 18.  Charley Hickok     PA    00     26
 19.  Jeff Cornett       FL    12     20
 20.  Sean Bryan         TN    11     20
 21.  Peter Rauch        MA    00     18
 22.  Kevin Hillock      VA    09     15
 23.  Rachel Harley      VA    08     15
 24.  Russell Harley     WA    07     15
 25.  Ann Cornet         FL    02     15
 26.  Mark Neale         RI    10     12
 27.  Nathan Barhorst    MI    11     10
 28.  Robert Vollman     ab    07     10
 29.  Mike Musko         FL    03     10
 30.  Francis Spencer    CT    01     10
 31.  Robert Kircher     RI    05      8
 32.  Neil McIver        ec    12      6
 33.  Zui Mowshowitz     NY    11      5
 34.  Jennifer Visocnik  IL    09      5
 35.  Janice Thorne      OH    08      5
 36.  Rich Jenulis       OH    07      5
 37.  Harry White        TX    04      5
 38.  Jamie Tang         MD    02      5
 39.  Malinda Kyrkos     NY    10      4

2012 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists 

Jon Anderson, PA

Jeff Cornett, FL

Kevin Youells, PA

Shantanu Saha, NY

Christina Harley, VA

Past Winners

Dan Vice, VA
1992 - 1993

Ken Rothstein, NY

Joe Gundersen, IN
1996, 2003, 2006

Todd Vander Pluym, CA

Eric Gundersen, NJ
1998, 2000

Doug Galullo, FL
1999, 2001, 2002, 2012

Harald Henning, CT

John Morris, MD

Kevin Youells, PA
2007, 2009, 2011

Christina Harley, WA


Gregory Kulp, NJ

Wally Hnativ, Jenn Visocnik, Dave Rynkowski and Kevin Youells multiply.

Rynkowski and Youells are joined by Brian Stone and Joe Collinson on the other side of the Med.

Russell Harley, Wayne Saunders, Michael Mullins and William Kendrick repopulate the Earth.

Jon Anderson, Elisa Hoeger and Kathryn Harley spread Civil Unrest in between floods and plagues.

First Quadruple Champ ...

Attendance dipped to its lowest level since 2003, allowing three games in the first heat and two in the second. Africa and Babylon proved the most successful with two wins each, while Assyria and Thrace each scored one win. The breakdown included four 8-player and two 7-player games. Nine players in search of laurels played in both heats with five former champions in the field. Asia was removed from play. Aside from the 'bottom-three' shuffle rule, there were no variants used.

Jon Anderson drew notice as the most improved player. Jon reached the Final for the first time in 2011 but finished out of the laurels in seventh place. This year he took 4th in the PBeM tournament, and posted the largest WBC margin of victory with a 497-point African win over Marc Visocnik. Despite being near the rear of the pack in the Final, his Babylon persevered, waited for the right moment, and took second place with a 400-point purchase in the last round, finishing just 181 points shy of the title.

Other Preliminary winners included prior champions Greg Kulp (Africa), Doug Galullo (Babylon), and Kevin Youells (Assyria) plus Nathan Barhorst (Babylon). The top three runners-up also advanced in the form of Christina Harley, Shantanu Saha, and Paul Sampson. Kulp and Sampson withdrew, allowing alternates Jeff Cornett and Marc Visocnik to also advance to their first ACV Final. The nation draw set the field as Kevin (Assyria), Marc (Egypt), Jon (Babylon), Shantanu (Africa), and Christina (Iberia). Nathan then took Crete, eliciting the first whine of the day, allowing Kevin to win the pre-game pool. Doug then took Thrace and left Illyria for Jeff.

Between attacks and trying to maximize the number of cards actually drawn from the deck, city counts were kept low. While not always an indicator of success, city averages ranged from a high of 6.69 per turn for Egypt to a low of 5.85 for Iberia. Only Assyria, Babylon, and Egypt built a full nine cites, each managing the feat just once.

The outcome was never really in doubt as Thrace jumped to an early lead. Africa and Iberia each grabbed the lead for a turn while Doug rebuilt his hand of trade cards in pursuit of his fourth ACV title. He then took control and held a lead ranging between 20 and 200 points for the last seven turns. The last turn was eliminated by the time limit. Final scores were: Doug 3885, Jon 3704, Jeff 3548, Kevin 3500, Shantanu 3492, Christina 3415, Marc 3404, and Nathan 3238.

The BPA also provides an online ACV tournament. Check us out at

Shantanu Saha, Marc Visocnik, Joe Maiz and Peter Walsh avoid calamity - or not.

The finalists forsake Kinderhook to enjoy cooler days in the Wheatland room

 Play By Email 2012

Dane Mads Lunau emerged triumphant from a field of 31 in our first PBeM tournament with a 16-point victory over reigning WBC champ Kevin Youells!! The game moved at a good pace, and took just over four months to complete. It was well fought, with four players vying for the top slot heading into the final round. Greg Kulp led for much of the game with Iberia, but calamities and an invasion from Egypt conspired to deny his title. Jon Anderson led the last two turns, but used all of his trade cards on the penultimate turn to purchase Theology, and was unable to make any purchase in the last round. Mads started the last turn in fourth place, but was holding half sets of Spice and Oil. This was enough to allow him to buy Theology and Philosophy for the win. The final scores were:

Mads Lunau Thrace 4353

Kevin Youells Babylon 4337

Jon Anderson Illyria 4273

Gregory Kulp Iberia 4095

Joe Lux Africa 4021

Neil McIver Egypt 3721

Kevin Worth Assyria 3715

Greg Stripes Crete 3305

 GM      Kevin Youells [2nd Year]    NA    NA

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page