war of the ring   

Updated 11/17/2011

Middle Earth Pre-Con
2011 WBC Report  

 2012 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment

Ty Hansen, DC

2011 Champion


Download Recommended Another Recommended

Event History
2006    Phil Rennert     21
2007    Kevin Wojtaszczyk     26
2008    Chris Trimmer     28
2009    Kevin Wojtaszczyk     23
2010    Chris Trimmer     24
2011    Ty Hansen     23

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Chris Trimmer      TX    10    106
  2.  Kevin Wojtaszczyk  NY    11    101
  3.  Ty Hansen          DC    11     42
  4.  Phil Rennert       MD    06     30
  5.  Jason Levine       NY    08     24
  6.  George Young       VT    07     24
  7.  Alan Sudy          DC    11     18
  8.  Jacob Hebner       CO    10     18
  9.  Nick Anner         NY    07     17
 10.  Lyman Moquin       DC    08     16
 11.  Andy Latto         MA    07     16
 12.  Lucas Rhodes       PA    11     12
 13.  Scott Marcotte     NY    10     12
 14.  Chris Yaure        PA    07     12
 15.  David Pack         CO    06     12
 16.  Hans Kirketerp     dk    10      9
 17.  Michael Sosa       FL    09      9
 18.  Mary Ellen Powers  VA    09      9
 19.  John Pack          CO    08      8
 20.  Todd Treadway      VA    11      6
 21.  David Pack         CO    10      6
 22.  Dick Jarvinen      OR    06      6
 23.  Jim Doughan        PA    07      4
 24.  Ted Lange          ae    11      3

2011 Laurelists                                               Repeating Laurelists:

Alan Sudy, VA

Lucas Rhodes, PA

Kevin Wojtaszczyk, NY

Todd Treadway, VA

Ted Lange, ae

Past Winners

Phil Rennert, MD

Kevin Wojtaszczyk, NY
2007, 2009

Chris Trimmer, TX
2008, 2010

Ty Hansen, DC

Alex Lange vs soon-to-be champ Ty Hansen

AJ Sudy vs Michael Sosa

 Lyman Moquin vs Jacob's sparring sister, Rebecca.

Kevin Lewis vs James Denam 

In Praise of the Eliminator ...

The sixth battle for Middle Earth concluded this summer with the new Single Elimination format generating a pair of new finalists as the rotating even/odd championships of Chris Trimmer and Kevin Wojtaszczyk were laid to rest! 26 games were played with the Free people dunking the ring 11 times and the Shadow achieving military victory 11 times. Ted Lange had the only Free People's military victory and there were three corruption wins. Half the Dwarven rings were either 2 or 3 with one big bid of 7 going to Rebecca Hebner's Free people in the first round which was instrumental in getting the ring dunked. The rest of the bids were 0, mostly in the early rounds. The Witch King was a marked Nazgul, with Saruman a close second. The Witch King fell in his first battle in Chris Yaure/Todd Treadway's game to Fateful Strike and was killed by Ents a couple times. Saruman met his end courtesy of the Ents a couple times too, including Brian Jones's Turn 2 double Ent play that hit eight times on 15 dice to kill Saruman, with icing on the cake being the final post Ent card play of Mirror of Galadriel to change a remaining die to a Will of the West! The fastest game turned out to be Jacob Hebner's 80-minute military blitz during the mulligan round which started off with a Turn 1 Balrog and Saruman.

The single elimination format whittled the field down to three unbeaten players by Monday night. Ty Hansen narrowly avoided defeat vs two-time champion Kevin Wojtaszczyk when there was no dawn on the final turn, eliminating a possible game dunking Will of the West. A.J Sudy needed a couple free people wins to stay undefeated and Lucas Rhodes had to put down defending champ Chris Trimmer to round out the top 3.

A.J. was randomly assigned to play Ty, handing Lucas the eliminator game vs the GM. Lucas's Free people were found early and had a slow go of it while Kevin's Shadow had great action dice and event cards which enabled him to militarily blitz taking out all the DEW, Lorien and HD with Peligar to close out the 10 VPs before the fellowship could get to Mordor. This successful eliminator role transformed the Ty vs AJ game into the last one with unbeaten players and thus became the Final. Ty managed to get Aragorn crowned in Turn 2 while AJ managed to get the Corsairs in play. The Ents were mustered and Smeagol guided the Fellowship on a steady pace. The extra action die for Aragorn enabled Ty to slow down AJ's military advances. On Turn 11 the Shadow were sieging three strongholds in position for the win, but Frodo got to dunk the ring giving Ty his first War of the Ring shield and the first of three titles he would earn that week!

Tripp Killin (a great name for a War of the Ring player)
vs two-time champ Kevin Wojtaszczyk

Ted Lange vs Andy Waller as Americans
living in Germany and Kuwait meet at WBC
 GM     Kevin Wojtaszczyk (4th Year)  NA 
    kwojtasz@gmail.com   NA

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page