wilderness war  

Updated November 2011

2011 WBC Report     

 2012 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment

James Pei, VA

2011 Champion


AREA Boardgamegeek Boardgamegeek
PBEM GMT Whitehorse Simulations   

Event History
2002    Rob Winslow     50
2003    Paul Gaberson     30
2004    James Pei     35
2005    Ron Fedin     40
2006     Keith Wixson     30
2007    Paul Gaberson     35
2008    James Pei     27 
2009    James Pei     23
2010    Paul Gaberson     23
2011    James Pei     26

WAM Event History
2003    Tom Drueding     20
2004    Bruce Monnin     18
2005    Tom Drueding     20
2006    Keith Wixson     13
2007    Pete Reese     17
2009     Sean McCulloch     14

PBeM Event History
2005    James Pei     64
2006     John Buse     50
2008    James Pei     62

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  James Pei          VA    11    336
  2.  Keith Wixson       NJ    11    190
  3.  Paul Gaberson      PA    11    186
  4.  Ron Fedin          PA    08    141
  5.  Peter Reese        VA    08    111
  6.  George Young       VT    11    107
  7.  Tom Drueding       MA    09     98
  8.  John Buse          IL    06     75
  9.  Rob Winslow        NY    05     70
 10.  Bruce Wigdor       NJ    05     48
 11.  Bill Peeck         NY    10     45
 12.  Bill Edwards       VA    08     42
 13.  Grant LaDue        NY    11     40
 14.  Bruce Monnin       OH    09     38
 15.  Gary Phillips      MD    10     32
 16.  Stefan Mecay       TX    06     30
 17.  Michael Ussery     MD    11     30
 18.  Adam Deverell      au    08     24
 19.  Don Chappell       TX    08     21
 20.  Randall MacInnis   NJ    07     20
 21.  Jonathan Miller    DC    06     20
 22.  Jim Gutt           TX    04     20
 23.  Phil Burgin-Young  VT    08     19
 24.  Bryan Thompson     VA    04     18
 25.  Roger Taylor       VA    02     18
 26.  Riku Riekkinen     fn    09     16
 27.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    07     15
 28.  Bari Wigdor        NJ    04     15
 29.  John Haas          PA    02     12
 30.  Doug Mercer        MD    09     11
 31.  Sean McCulloch     OH    09     10
 32.  John Vasilakos     VA    02      9
 33.  Paul Haseler       au    10      8
 34.  Andrew Maly        MD    07      6
 35.  Dennis Culhane     PA    03      6
 36.  Doug Smith         PA    03      6
 37.  Michael Sosa       FL    09      3

2011 Laurelists                                          Repeating Laurelists:

Michael Ussery, MD

Grant LaDue, NY

George Young, VT

Paul Gaberson, PA

Keith Wixson, NJ

Past Winners

Rob Winslow, NY

Paul Gaberson, PA
2003, 2007, 2010

James Pei, VA
2004, 2008-09, 2011

Ron Fedin, PA

Keith Wixson, NJ

Three-time champ Paul Gaberson vs Doug Mercer

Bills Edwards vs George Young

Monday, Monday ... not the answer

James "The Master" Pei became the first four-time winner in the event's history. Pei was undefeated, beating Chris Jones, Bob Jamelli, and Michael Ussery in the preliminary rounds, George Young in the semi-finals and Ussery again in the Final. Ussery defeated Ernie Chambers and Doug Smith in the preliminary rounds and advanced to the semi-finals on tiebreakers despite losing to Pei in Round 3. He defeated Grant LaDue in the semi-finals to advance to his rematch with the Master. Young and LaDue were each unbeaten in the preliminary rounds. In Round 3 LaDue knocked out Paul Gaberson, the defending champ, while Young outlasted GM Keith Wixson, 2010's other finalist.

The highlights:

* This year I cancelled the fourth round because of the light turnout, a large number of dropouts after Round 2 and a general lack of interest.
* There was only one new player this year, down from four lin 2010. It has been suggested to me that I should have a demo if I want to attract new players. I have resisted the idea in the past for various reasons, but I will have to reconsider in the future.
* Half of last year's laurelists made it into the top six again this year, including the defending champ.
* The best British player was Pei with four wins. Ussery had three wins with the Brits. Several players had two wins as the French.
* The rule changes I have implemented to address the game's inherent French advantage may have finally hit home. British players are now allowed to retrieve a reinforcement card from the discard pile at the start of each turn (if conditions permit), the French Marine Detachment units have been reduced to only one loss step, the starting French VPs have been reduced to 3 and side selection has been made random in order to eliminate specialization. This year the games split evenly with each side winning 16 (as compared to French advantages of 69% last year, 65% in 2009, 67% in 2008, 61% in 2007, 52% in 2006, 56% in 2005, 71% in 2004 and 62% in 2003). Along with similar results from the current online tournament, this is good news indeed. But time will tell if this isn't just a statistical anomaly.

Prizes: The Champ received a warhawk and the losing finalist received a spiked ballhead warclub. The losing semi-finalists each received a book.

Attendance was up only slightly in the new Monday timeslot. That was a disappointment but not really surprising in hindsight. I had hoped that the heavy competition from other tournaments in the old Wednesday timeslot would be lighter on Monday, but if there was less competition it did not really matter. This game has been around for a long time, and it has become apparent that new players in significant numbers are probably not going to be drawn to it, while veteran players are going to continue to drift away to new games. That is understandable and it appears unlikely that attendance will ever rise above the mid 20's again. I have my doubts whether that is enough for a viable tournament.

Assuming this game survives the Century cut for 2012, I have no idea at this point about what I will do next year. Since the switch to Monday was pretty much a flop, if there is a tournament in 2012 a move back to later in the week is possible. Also, a change in format is probably warranted as the current format was meant for a larger field.

Ernie Chambers vs Scott Beall

The Master picks up his fourth WNW title vs Michael Ussery.

 GM      Keith Wixson  [8th Year]   NA 
    Keith.wixson@verizon.net   NA

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page