titan 2   

Updated 11/17/2011

2011 WBC Report    

 2012 Status: pending December Membership Trial Vote

Aaron Fuegi, MA

2010-11 Champion


Event History
1994    Paul Goliwas      26
1995    Bruno Wolff      26
1996    Brian Sutton      17
1997    Brian Sutton      29
1998    Ed Rothenheber      39
1999    Jason Ley     32
2000    Brian Sutton     36
2001    Andrew Gross     30
2002    Dan Strock     36
2003    Aaron Fuegi     25
2004    David des Jardins     24
2005    David des Jardins     24
2006    John Sharp III     26
2007    Sean McCulloch     22
2008    Aaron Fuegi     29
2009    David desJardins     30
2010    Aaron Fuegi     30
2011    Aaron Fuegi     24

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    11    196
  2.  David des Jardins  CA    11    149
  3.  Brian Sutton       MD    11     81
  4.  Dan Strock         PA    11     73
  5.  David Finberg      MA    11     57
  6.  Sean McCulloch     OH    10     57
  7.  Jason Ley          WA    11     50
  8.  Andrew Gross       WA    03     49
  9.  John Sharp III     FL    06     32
 10.  Ed Rothenheber     MD    08     30
 11.  Clifford Smith     PA    05     28
 12.  David Platnick     VA    09     27
 13.  Bruno Wolff        WI    09     26
 14.  Jeff Cornett       FL    06     18
 15.  Bill Dufton        CA    02     16
 16.  Masahide Hisanaga  jp    07     12
 17.  Ben Foy            MD    02     12
 18.  Chuck Nail         GA    02     12
 19.  Larry Lingle       PA    01     12
 20.  Geoffrey Pounder   on    07      9
 21.  Steve Koleszar     VA    01      8
 22.  Dave Burkey        PA    04      4
 23.  Akihisa Tabei      jp    10      3
 24.  Nick Page          on    08      3
 25.  Rick Northey       MA    05      3
 26.  Jason Russ         VA    99      2

2011 Laurelists                                       Repeating Laurelists:

David des Jardins, CA

Jason Ley, WA

David Finberg, MA

Dan Strock, PA

Brian Sutton, MD

Past Winners

Paul Goliwas, MD

Bruno Wolff, WI

Brian Sutton, MD
1996-1997, 2000

Ed Rothenheber, MD

Jason Ley, WA

Andrew Gross, WA

Dan Strock, PA

Aaron Fuegi, MA
2003, 2008, 2010-11

David des Jardins, CA
2004-2005, 2009

John Sharp III, FL

Sean McCulloch, OH

Ken Nied vs Charles Coats

Ted Lange from Germany plays Dave Gubbay of Australia at WBC.

 Bruce Rae vs David Finberg

 Michael Rogozinski vs Alex Lange

Beware Warbears ...

The creme came to the op this year. Round 3 of this single elimination tournament fielded the most powerful set of players to ever participate at this late stage. Each of the surviving six had an Area rating residing in the top seven positions of the list. Not so coincidentally, that statement holds true for the upper echelons of our Laurel List as well. Five of the six were former champions of the two-player event. In a related happenstance, in each of the three Round 3 contests, the higher rated player also won the round.

Two of the games finished before either player added a pip to his titan strength. Aaron Fuegi beat Brian Sutton in the third battle of the game, when Aaron attacked with a titan, three rangers, two warbears and a gargoyle against Brian's titan, warlock, ranger, three lions and a cyclops. Aaron had better firepower at the start, and the angel call made it decisive. David desJardins beat David Finberg in a slower contest. At one point Finberg had an opportunity to attack seven on six on Turn 4, but elected to continue to recruit. When the decisive battle did come, he placed an angel between a griffin and a ranger to pin the creatures, but they rolled six hits on nine dice to kill the angel in a blow. This freed the griffin to fly next to the titan and it was enough to decide the battle. The last game of the round between Jason Ley and Dan Strock took more than four hours. The game was suspended so both players could attend other events. There appeared to be no early advantage as both players built their titans to eight pips, but Dan was eventually caught by a stack that outpointed his titan stack and lost the battle.

The single semi-final pit desJardins vs Ley as the defending champ received the high rent bye. While being chased, Jason was forced to attack a double cyclops, double gargoyle stack in the brush with his titan. Jason won but was left with only an angel and a lion with his titan, and he didn't recruit rapidly, needing to avoid David's nearby large stacks. Jason eventually built back to seven then got caught in the marsh and barely escaped the battle, with his titan one point from death. Later, when he fled through the mountains, he was attacked by five rangers and a gorgon. He should have won the battle but when he tried to pin all the pieces with his angel and titan, with three hits on his eight pip titan, the titan struck down two wounded rangers but they each rolled three hits out of four in retaliation to kill the titan.

Aaron and David met in the championship match. Each has won both WBC Titan tournaments multiple times. This match would decide which of the two would become the first 4-time winner of the 2-player version. Their matches tend to be either very brief or very long. This was one of the brief ones. Only one conflict took place early, with a two stack fleeing, so both titans were six pips. Aaron had two stacks chasing David's titan. One had a griffon, a guardian, two rangers and three lions, the other had an angel, five rangers and a guardian. David's titan was weaker, with three trolls and a warlock, when it went into the tundra to recruit a warbear, taking a risk in the attempt to become better. Aaron's angel stack was able to catch the titan and the battle was over swiftly.

Peg Meacham vs Nick Klercker

The usual suspects meet in the Final.
 GM      Rich Atwater  [8th Year]  NA 
    kmarma@comcast.net  NA

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page