Updated 12/6/2011

2011 WBC Report   

  2012 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment

Jacob Hebner, CO

2011 Champion



Event History
1993    Kurt Litscher      16
1994    Mark Potter      16
1995    Mark Potter      16
1996    Harry Flawd      19
1997    Harry Flawd      15
1998    John Ellmann      16
1999    Harry Flawd     20
2000    Harry Flawd     30
2001    Devin Flawd     20
2002     Bill O'Neal     28
2003     Harry Flawd      42
2004     Harry Flawd      38
2005     Devin Flawd      38
2006     Devin Flawd      41
2007     Devin Flawd      38
2008     Devin Flawd      40
2009     Bruno Passacantando      49
2010     Harry Flawd      46
2011     Jacob Hebner       52

Rank  Name               From  Last  Total
  1.  Devin Flawd         PA    09    200
  2.  Harry Flawd         PA    11    192
  3.  Jacob Hebner        CO    11     42
  4.  Bruno Passacantando CT    11     41
  5.  Bill O'Neal         NY    02     40
  6.  Mike Destro         NJ    07     36
  7.  Chad Gormly         MA    11     30
  8.  Derek Landel        NJ    06     28
  9.  Barry Shoults       MI    08     24
 10.  John Ellmann        MD    01     22
 11.  Jordan Flawd        PA    08     21
 12.  Jeremy Billones     VA    10     18
 13.  David Tianen        WI    09     18
 14.  Dave Buchbinder     PA    03     18
 15.  Ray Stakenas II     MI    03     18
 16.  Dan Dolan Jr        NJ    05     15
 17.  Bill Place          PA    05     13
 18.  Joe Yaure           PA    10     12
 19.  Mark Love           MD    10     12
 20.  Dale Long           NJ    09      9
 21.  Paul O'Neil         MD    06      9
 22.  Jason Levine        NY    03      9
 23.  Brian Conlon        CT    11      6
 24.  John Shaheen        VA    10      6
 25.  Ron Pisarz          VA    09      6
 26.  John Shaheen        MA    07      6
 27.  Andy Lewis          DE    06      6
 28.  Pete Putnam         PA    04      6
 29.  Greg Berry          VA    01      6
 30.  Michael Cook        VA    01      4
 31.  Steve Scott         CA    11      3
 32.  Daniel Long         NJ    10      3
 33.  Jeff Finkeldey      OH    04      3
 34.  Dennis Nicholson    NY    03      3
 35.  Bruce Reiff         OH    00      2

2011 Laurelists                                                Repeating Laurelists:

Chad Gormly, RI

Harry Flawd, PA

Bruno Passacantando, CT

Brian Conlon, CT

Steve Scott, CA

Past Winners

Mark Potter, PA

Harry Flawd, PA
'96-97, '99-00, '03-04, '10

John Ellmann, MD

Devin Flawd, PA
2001, 2005-08

Bill O'Neal, NY

Bruno Passacantando, CT

Jacob Hebner, CO

Cornwall again is filled with boys throwing the old pigskin around. John Welage is seen in the foreground perusing the 2010 Team charts.

Denied in his birthright event, Bruce Reiff tries to find succor in the other football game against Josh Githens but he still hasn't mastered those team charts.

Making Way for the Next Generation ...

The 2011 tournament set an attendance record, as 52 coaches vied to guide their favorite NFL team to glory. In the AFC heat on Wednesday, 44 players paired off, and after two rounds of play, there were ten left standing, as one of the winners opted out. Both John Coussis and Robert Rund guided their Patriots to wins, along with Dan Dolan/Pittsburgh, Chad Gormly/Tennessee, and Harry Flawd/San Diego. In the last :20 of their game, 2009 champ Bruno Passacantando chucked a long TD toss to overcome Rund 34-31, and Chad systematically took apart Dolan's Steelers 39-13. Bruno took the next bye while Chad and Harry played a classic back and forth game, with Chad and his Titans pulling out the 24-21 upset over seven-time champion Harry's Chargers. So the AFC title game was set, and again, it was back and forth, turnovers, TD's, FG's all over the place, until, Chad Gormly finally secured his spot in the Super Bowl with a 35-34 victory. Kudos to Geoffrey Pounder, who went to the demo and won his first two games, before falling to Bruno in Round 3.

The NFC heat Friday brought forth another 26 coaches, 20 returnees and six new players. Close games in Round 1 included Steve Scott's Panthers over Mark Love's Saints 35-27 with two late scores, Ryan Friedman's Falcons topping Doug Porterfield's 49ers 34-33, and Bruce Reiff's Eagles over Josh Githens' 49ers 39-37. The next round saw Brian Conlon's Giants defeat Joe Yaure's Seahawks 24-21, Jacob Hebner's Bucs get some previous year "whoop-ass" revenge on Reiff's Eagles 40-13, and Harry Flawd's version of the Eagles faring much better in holding off Conal Jaeger's Redskins 40-37. Jacob was paired against Brian in the next round and won 26-23. Harry defeated John Conlon 20-15, and Steve Scott got by Bruno and his Packers 37-31. Harry and Jacob, who had fallen to Harry in each of the last three seasons, played in the NFC title game, Bucs vs Eagles, and it was a great battle. Jacob took the early lead, only to have Harry came back to lead by 8 ....but Jacob had the final great die roll, hitting a bomb to the Eagles 2 with :20 left, and popped in a FG to win by 1! Celebrations went off late into the night at the Werewolf Prom that Jacob was planning to attend.

The Final was another hard fought battle with both players in their first title game. With three minutes to go, Chad pushed the Titans into the end zone, to take the lead. But once again, Jacob mustered a great die roll, and hit another long pass deep inside Titan territory, where he calmly kicked the game winning FG! With 11 new players this year, Paydirt is well positioned to continue its growth as the sports genre thrives at WBC.

Chad Gormly tops Bruno Passacantando in the semi-finals. With Devin Flawd no where to be seen again this year, mere mortals reached the play-offs.

GM Harry Flawd gets a rare cheap seat at the Super Bowl as Gormly and Hebner deny the Flawd dynasty it's customary seats on the field. Wait till next year!
 GM      Harry Flawd  [17th Year]   2826 Blacksmith Way, Lancaster, PA 17601   717-569-7103

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page