b-17: queen of the skies   

Updated 11/11/2011
2011 WBC Report    

 2012 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment
Steve Sabatino, PA
2011 Champion


AREA Boardgamegeek

Event History
1992    Frank Alexander      32
1993    Kevin Combs      35
1994    Kevin Combs      32
1995    Paul Risner      31
1996    Robert Hamel      32
1997    Paul Risner      34
1998    Paul Weintraub      32
1999    William Burch     32
2000    John Conlon     29
2001    Jim LeVay     32
2002    Paul Risner     32
2003    William Rohrbeck     34
2004    Stephen Quirke     37
2005    Keith Hunsinger     36
2006    Paul Risner     39
2007    Dave Long     42
2008    Dan Dolan Sr     46
2009    Rich Moyer     47
2010    Paul Risner     66
2011    Steve Sabatino     77

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Paul Risner        FL    11    283
  2.  Richard Moyer      MN    09    156
  3.  William Rohrbeck   NH    06    106
  4.  Keith Hunsinger    OH    05    100
  5.  Eric Stranger      OH    11     76
  6.  Steve Sabatino     PA    11     60
  7.  Dan Dolan Sr       NJ    08     60
  8.  Dave Long          NC    07     60
  9.  Stephen Quirke     WI    04     56
 10.  Judy Krauss        PA    02     42
 11.  Jim LeVay          MA    01     40
 12.  John Conlon        OK    00     40
 13.  Brian Wool         DE    11     36
 14.  Bill Beckman       SC    10     36
 15.  Chris Daly         SC    10     36
 16.  William Burch      MD    00     34
 17.  Tim Evinger        PA    10     31
 18.  Kevin Coombs       GA    07     28
 19.  Anthony Musella    VA    10     27
 20.  Joshua Vierheller  MD    10     24
 21.  Ruth Evinger       PA    09     24
 22.  Mike Windle        DE    09     24
 23.  Ken Richards       SC    08     24
 24.  Don Del Grande     CA    01     24
 25.  John Ellmann Sr    MD    00     24
 26.  Paul Weintraub     MD    09     22
 27.  David Gantt        SC    03     20
 28.  Jonathan Izer      MD    11     18
 29.  Jim Miller         TN    08     18
 30.  Bill LeVay         MA    01     16
 31.  John Poniske       PA    00     16
 32.  Roger Knowles      OH    04     15
 33.  Bruce Peckham      NY    07     12
 34.  Scott Pfeiffer     SC    06     12
 35.  Ralph Gleaton      SC    02     12
 36.  Rob Navolis        OH    01     12
 37.  Steve Sheldon      NY    00     12
 38.  Chris LeFevre      AZ    04     10
 39.  Michael Metcalf    NC    99      9
 40.  John Emery         SC    02      8
 41.  Joshua Dunn        VA    02      8
 42.  Michael Haley      NY    00      8
 43.  Roger Covington    MD    11      6
 44.  Steve Munchak      VA    08      6
 45.  Phil White         MD    09      6
 46.  Marty Musella      VA    06      6
 47.  Evan Hitchings     DE    04      5
 48.  John Poniske Jr    PA    05      5
 49.  Henry Richardson   VA    03      3

2011 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists 

Brian Wool, DE

Eric Stranger, OH

Jonathan Izer, MD

Paul Risner, FL

Roger Covington, MD

Past Winners

Kevin Coombs, GA

Paul Risner, TN
95, 97, 02, 06, 10

Robert Hamel, CT

Paul Weintraub, MD

William Burch, MD

John Conlon, OK

Jimmy Levay, MA

William Rohrbeck, NH

Stephen Quirke, WI

Keith Hunsinger, OH

Dave Long, NC

Dan Dolan Sr, NJ

Richard Moyer, MN

Steve Sabatino, PA

Mike Backstrom and Rich Moyer enjoy the new Paradise airfield as the 8th Air Force grows again to fill the room.

No wonder Paul Risner wins so much - he has Reverend Keith as his wingman. A little help from the chaplain never hurts.


Flight Officer Michael Lam shows Roger Covington and Earl Schultz the ropes.

Peter Pollard brings in a Me-109 attack out of the sun and through the dice roller.

8th Air Force Grows Again!

The 20th Annual B-17 Tournament:

Record Set as the Air War over Germany Intensifies!

B-17 again flummoxed the CD with a record turnout and posted its seventh straight attendance increase as 77 daring pilots, including our first-ever "all-female" squadron, turned out for "Black Thursday:" the climax of 20 years of tournament planning, gaming and history!

Our three missions again took us to the heart of Nazi Germany, but in numbers never seen before.

Mission 1: Marienburg; an 11-zone mission that pushed the planes and crews to the limit! Losses were light due to good fighter cover and poor Luftwaffe response!

Mission 2: Munster; a 7-zone mission where losses were low and opposing fighters fell victim to concentrated fire from the gunners of the100th Bomb Group (H).

Mission 3: We saw the end of the milk runs as we returned to Schweinfurt, to bomb the ball-bearing factories. This mission simulated "Black Thursday" the bloodiest day in the history of the 8th Air Force. For the first time, the "Bloody Hundredth" faced the Luftwaffe's new night-fighter, the twin-engine, cannon-firing Me-410! The combination of heavy fighter cover and intense flak caused severe losses.

After all was said and done, B-17 crowned a new champion, Steve Sabatino and a new Sand Man: Roger Covington. I'm not sure who was envied more.

On Friday Night, we assembled again in record numbers with 60 present at the Officers Club for our After Action Party featuring a debriefing, the awarding of medals and honors, a trip to the prize table and refreshments. Among the gathering were eight past champions, representing 13 past events.


2012 will be our 21st year, as a group, with the same GM and game system. Word has it we will put 100 flyers into the air for our biggest missions yet and, later at the O-Club, we are expecting a visit from the USO!

As always, we owe a debt of gratitude to the "Command" structure of the B-17 tournament:

"Col." David Terry, Gamemaster;
"Capt." Mike Lam, Assistant Gamemaster;
"Maj." Keith Hunsinger, Assistant Gamemaster;
"Capt." Mark Yoshikawa, Assistant Gamemaster;
"Maj." Paul Risner O-Club OIC and Morale Officer; and...
...of course all the other B-17 players, our friends all, who are the cast of fliers that make this such a fun experience each year. Thanks to all and see you in 2012!

Humorous sidenote: As the convention drew to an end I sent Harry Flawd off in search of four "young studs" to carry our display case to its storage area. Being a recent and reluctant initiate into the Senior Citizens club, I emphasized "young" having already had my share of struggles with said display case. Anyway, Harry comes back a few minutes later with a few volunteers who included none other than B17 GM Dave Terry. Now Dave and I go waaay back—having thrown dice at each other before a lot of these young whippersnappers were born. I look at Dave and then I tell Harry: "I thought I told you to bring back YOUNG studs." Harry blurts back apologetically: "he was all I could catch". Dave took umbrage at this and with great bravado hoisted the case and off we went. He was moving a lot slower when we came back, though.

The Mafia's blackshirt squadrom is out in force again. Chris Daly, Ken Richards, Gus Collars, Tim Rogers, Bill Beckman and Daniel Lawall fly again.

Paul Weintraub and Ruth Evinger struggle through the flak as Ace Of Aces champ Joe Belyeu observes this less chivalrous form of air combat.
 GM      Dave Terry  [20th Year]  NA 
    david.terry@jhuapl.edu   NA

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page