axis & allies   
Updated 11/15/2011
2011 WBC Report     

 2012 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment
Ty Hansen, DC
2011 Champion


AREA  Boardgamegeek
Consimworld  Download

Event History
1999    Kevin Keller     43
2000    Tim Rothenhoefer     43
2001    Patrick Mirk     41
2002    Phil Rennert     50
2003    Philip Shea     34
2004    Philip Shea     31
2005    Charles Michalek     19
2006    Joe Powell     28
2007    Ty Hansen     22
2008    Kevin Keller     17 
2009    Andrew Murphy     25
2010    Richard Beyma     33
2011     Ty Hansen     32

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Philip Shea        VA    09    192
  2.  Joe Powell         VA    09    180
  3.  Kevin Keller       MD    11    179
  4.  Ty Hansen          DC    11    144
  5.  Pat Mirk           FL    10    129
  6.  Phil Rennert       MD    04     96
  7.  Richard Beyma      MD    11     95
  8.  Andrew Murphy      PA    11     94
  9.  Tim Rothenhoefer   MD    07     68
 10.  Brian Fitzpatrick  VA    03     54
 11.  Charles Michalek   NV    05     40
 12.  Jeff King          ME    02     36
 13.  Alfred Wong        IL    01     30
 14.  Jeff Mathis        FL    11     24
 15.  Greg Berry         VA    04     24
 16.  Don Tatum          MD    02     24
 17.  Phil Rollins       ME    00     24
 18.  Matt Tolman        UT    08     22
 19.  John Sharp III     FL    00     18
 20.  Mike Terrana       GA    99     18
 21.  Brad Turney        NY    09     16
 22.  Ted Lange          ae    10     15
 23.  James D. Long      PA    06     12
 24.  Eric Lind          CA    03     12
 25.  Joe Collinson      MD    01     12
 26.  Barry Shoults      MI    99     12
 27.  Michael Reiner     PA    10     10
 28.  Doug Bailor        DE    09      8
 29.  James H. Long      PA    05      8
 30.  Steve Packwood     MN    11      6
 31.  David Rynkowski    NY    04      6
 32.  Russell Vane       VA    03      6
 33.  David Huss         NY    01      6
 34.  John Koski         MD    00      6
 35.  Rich Curtin        NY    99      6
 36.  Dan Pasaric        NY    08      3
 37.  Kevin McCarthy     OH    99      3

2011 Laurelists                                            Repeating Laurelists 

Richard Beyma, VA

Jeff Mathis, FL

Andrew Murphy, PA

Kevin Keller, MD

Steve Packwood, MN

Past Winners

Kevin Keller, MD
1999, 2008

Tim Rothenhoefer, MD

Patrick Mirk, FL

Phil Rennert, MD

Philip Shea, VA

Charles Michaleks, NV

Joe Powell, VA

Ty Hansen, DC
2007, 2011

Andrew Murphy, PA

Richard Beyma, VA

A pair of past champions meet in the third round as Philip Shea falls to Richard Beyma.

Ted Lange from Germany meets Canadian Rejean Tremblay in the Preliminaries.

Pre-Con Success Continues ...

The second year as a pre-con remained successful in improving attendance over that of recent years with 32 players vying for four golden tickets to Single Elimination glory. The final four included former champs Ty Hansen, Richard Beyma, Andrew Murphy, and one newcomer, Jeff Mathis.

The third round found eight undefeated players vying for the right to advance. Andrew Murphy and Kevin Keller played to a virtual tie in Victory Territories, but Andrew advanced with more increase in income, leaving Kevin with 5th place laurels. Meanwhile, Jeff Mathis took out 2001 champ Patrick Mirk, while defending champ Richard Beyma ended two-time champ Philip Shea's attempt for a third title. Ty Hansen defeated Henry Russell for the last seat in the semis.

Beyma defeated Murphy's Allies with a bid of 6 in the first semi-final. Richard captured Moscow with an infantry from Archangel and the Luftwaffe, and it proved decisive. Meanwhile, Hansen's Axis defeated Mathis with a bid of 2 in the other semi.

In the Final, Beyma gave Hansen a bid of 6 to play the Allies. On Turn 1 Germany bought a carrier and Japan a factory. The British counterattacked in Egypt and the Americans targetted the Japanese fleet after Pearl Harbor, building two carriers.

On Turn 2 Germany attacked on the Eastern Front at Archangel and Ukraine. Britain captured Norway and also attacked the German Mediterrean Fleet with three fighters and a bomber. Japan attacked Sinkiang, Manchuria, and Buratia. Attrition favored the Allies as Japan lost four infantry in the attack on Sinkiang. The USA built three fighters and a transport.

Russia bought six infantry, two tanks, and an artillery on Turn 3. Germany responded with four tanks and eight infantry while attacking Norway, France, Ukraine, and Archangel. Britain built two transports, two tanks, and four infantry. Japan built a fighter, a submarine, a tank, and four infantry and attacked Novosibirsk and Yakut. The USA built a carrier, a submarine, and two transports while taking the Solomon Islands.

On Turn 4 Russia built a tank and seven infantry while attacking Ukraine and Novosibirsk. Germany built two tanks and seven infantry, while attacking Norway. The British built a fighter, a transport, two tanks, an artillery, and three infantry, but were repulsed in their attack on Norway. Japan built a carrier, three tanks, and three infantry to attack Novosibirsk and Khazak. USA built two transports, a fighter, and four infantry to attack Wake Island.

Turn 5 saw Russia buy two tanks, and four infantry to attack the Ukraine and Karelia. Germany bought three tanks, two artillery, and five infantry to attack the Russians in Karelia, inflicting heavy Russian losses. The British attacked Karelia. Japan attacked the US fleet and retreats with heavy losses, a turning point in the game. The US now liberates the Philippines and sinks the Japanese Navy in home waters.

The Germans attack in the Norwegian Sea on Turn 6. The British attack and take Norway and Indochina. Japan retakes Indochina, but, the US takes Borneo and attacks and defeats the hastily rebuilt Japanese Navy. The game ends with an Allied victory of 13 victory territories and income of 111.

Overall, the Axis won 57% of the games. However, as the tournament progressed, those players accepting the Allies received higher bids, tending to balance play in the highly competitive third round. The average bid for the allies was 4.39. Players received 28 bids to play the Allies, with just one receiving a bid to play the Axis.

David Anderson opposes new GM Joe Powell in the swiss rounds. Joe's initial baptism of fire appeared to go smoothly.

Henry Russell loses his third round battle to advance to eventual champion Ty Hansen as Peter Gurneau observes.
 GM      Joe Powell  [1st Year]   NA   NA

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page