union pacific  

Updated 11/26/2010

2010 WBC Report     

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Bruce Reiff, OH

2010 Champion

Offsite Links

AREA Boardgamegeek

Event History
2000    Joe Lux     67
2001    Jamie Tang     77
2002    Bruce Young     84
2003    Arthur Field     73
2004    Luke Koleszar     64
2005    Jeff Mullet     65
2006    Fred Minard     40
2007    Steve Shambeda     44
2008    Paul Bolduc     32
2009    Curt Collins     64
2010    Bruce Reiff     46

Euro Quest Event History
2003    Arthur Field     28

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Arthur Field       SC    06     92
  2.  Luke Koleszar      VA    04     48
  3.  Jeff Mullet        OH    09     43
  4.  Steve Shambeda     PA    08     42
  5.  Fred Minard        PA    09     35
  6.  Joe Lux            NY    06     34
  7.  Bruce Reiff        OH    10     30
  8.  Curt Collins II    PA    09     30
  9.  Bruce Young        SC    02     30
 10.  Jamie Tang         MD    01     30
 11.  Scott Pfeiffer     SC    02     21
 12.  Cliff Ackman       PA    10     20
 13.  Paul Bolduc        FL    08     20
 14.  John Wetherell     PA    07     19
 15.  Jeff Meyer         MA    10     18
 16.  Rodney Davidson    AZ    09     18
 17.  Jim Carvin         PA    07     18
 18.  Tom Stokes         NJ    03     18
 19.  Davyd Field        SC    02     18
 20.  David Fritsch      VA    00     18
 21.  Jeff Senley        PA    09     16
 22.  Brandon Bernard    PA    10     12
 23.  Mike Backstrom     MN    04     12
 24.  Sean McCulloch     OH    04     12
 25.  Debbie Gutermuth   TX    03     12
 26.  Harald Henning     CT    03     12
 27.  Stu Hendrickson    VA    02     12
 28.  Bill Edwards       VA    00     12
 29.  Rich Meyer         MA    10      9
 30.  Chris Terrell      VA    05      9
 31.  Cathy Kratz        ID    04      9
 32.  Kathy Stroh        PA    01      9
 33.  Max Jamelli        PA    08      8
 34.  Jed Shambeda       PA    07      8
 35.  Lisa Gutermuth     NC    10      6
 36.  Bruce Bernard      PA    09      6
 37.  Mark Guttag        VA    07      6
 38.  Matt Calkins       VA    05      6
 39.  Rich Zelano        RI    04      6
 40.  Ewan McNay         CT    03      6
 41.  Tom DeMarco        NJ    03      6
 42.  Evan Davis         IN    02      6
 43.  Michael Mahady     TX    01      6
 44.  Mike Hazel         SC    00      6
 45.  Tom Johnston       IL    08      4
 46.  Thomas Saal        MI    05      3
 47.  Chris LeFevre      AZ    02      3
 48.  Kim Foster         TX    01      3
 49.  Steve Scott        CA    00      3
 50.  Peter Staab        PA    03      2

2010 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Jeff Meyer, MA

Brandon Bernard, PA

Rich Meyer, MA

Lisa Gutermuth, NC

Cliff Ackman, PA

Past Winners

Joe Lux, NY

Jamie Tang, MD

Bruce Young, SC

Arthur Field, SC

Luke Koleszar, VA

Jeff Mullet, OH

Fred Minard, PA

Steve Shambeda, PA

Paul Bolduc, FL

Curt Collins II, PA

Bruce prooves the Master can be beat - as long as he's playing your game - and not his. Bob Wicks and Fred Minard get a front row seat.

Rebecca Hebner, Jack Stalica, Ralph Gleaton and Jon Anderson are among the early arrivals betting on trains for fun.

Sigh ...

One of the few perks of editing these reports is that I get the last word in massaging the statements of my favorite GMs. See if you can spot where I helped Bruce along in reporting the facts.

It was decided to switch San Juan and Union Pacific on the Monday schedule this year. The result? Union Pacific was down nearly a third and San Juan rocketed off the chart. Next year it looks like San Juan will go back to early morning and Union Pacific will return to the afternoon.

Your GM is getting smarter in his old age - but not any better looking - and enlisted the help of whiz kid Rebecca Hebner as an assistant GM. Rebecca came equipped with her laptop and a handy dandy electronic scoring system. Man, what took me so long? ... Naah .... too easy! Thanks Rebecca!

The participants were set up on 4-player boards (with a couple of 3's) and the first round began. Highlights from the first round included Lisa Gutermuth handling her board easily, Rich Meyer with a comfortable win, along with James "For The People" Pei who ventured forth from CDW land to record a win over Rich's son Jefferson Meyer. Defending champ Curt Collins put up the high score of the round - 158 (albeit in a 3-player game) and yours truly with a comfortable victory over his board.

Second round matchups were based on first round results. Curt Collins won again, defeating winners Bobbi Warczak, Cliff Ackman and Rich Meyer. Rich Irving won his second as well. I beat James Pei by six points in the battle of the round earning bragging rights over "the Master" for the rest of the week. So, when are you going to play For the People, Bruce? Sam Packwood had the high score of the tournament with a 177 (again in a 3-player game).

Round 3 starts to separate the men from the boys. There were three undefeated players at this point - defending champ Curt Collins II, Rich Irving and moi. Jefferson Meyer won (or lost as the case may be) the draw from the first and seconds to be moved up to the all-winners board. He then proceeded to dominate the hotshots to make the Final on his own merits. Bruce finished second which was enough to advance. Curt was a distant fourth and therein ended his title defense. Brandon Bernard beat Tom Browne, James Pei and Steve Shambeda in Semi #2 to advance while Rich Meyer took Semi #3 over Jack Stalica, Fred Minard and Alan Stencius to advance on a tie breaker over Lisa Gutermuth and Cliff Ackman who had to settle for fifth and sixth place laurels. The latter was the only former laurelist to return to "Top Six" land.

In the Final Brandon jumped out to a sizable early lead after the first scoring round. Bruce was in last, but managed to get control of the Union Pacific - which would be huge later - with the Meyer clan completing the sandwich in the middle. So far so good. The second scoring card saw much the same - Brandon ahead, the Meyers and then Reiff - and all was right with the world. The key to the end of this happy story was Brandon building the Yellow trains and Jefferson the Black. Bruce had one share of each and was quietly benefiting from their work in the background. In the third scoring round some ownership jockeying took place, but Bruce's solo second place shares of the Yellow and Black were still good and things started going horribly wrong. In the last round Bruce managed to take control of both the Purple and Green which along with the Union Pacific and the two second place shares was enough for a comfortable victory with Bruce at 119, Jefferson 99, Brandon 99, and Rich 98. Jefferson took second on the tie breaker and Bruce made a down payment on an extension to his trophy room.

Sean McCulloch, Rob Kircher, Russ Irving and Steve Shambeda invest in Monday leisure time.

The finalists do their dirty work but fail to keep the GM from winning more wood.
 GM      Bruce Reiff  [2nd Year]   NA
    bdreiff@aol.com   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page