titan: the arena  

Updated 11/26/2010

2010 WBC Report   

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Angela Collinson, FL

2010 Champion



Event History
1997    Peter Staab        72
1998    Brian Sutton      178
1999    Kaarin Engelmann     115
2000    Alan Witte       97
2001    Rebecca Hebner       56
2002    Joe Sposito       45
2003    Brenden Coomes       47
2004    Devin Flawd       63
2005    Robert Kircher       79
2006    Olin Hentz       74
2007    Harry Flawd       89
2008    Matt Calkins     116
2009    Greg Crowe       91
2010    Angela Collinson       81

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1. Rebecca Hebner      CO    09     57
  2. Alan Witte          NJ    00     50
  3. Harry Flawd         PA    07     42
  4. Joseph Sposito      NJ    02     40
  5. Devin Flawd         PA    09     38
  6. Bruce Monnin        OH    06     38
  7. Dan Eshleman        NC    08     36
  8. Kaarin Engelmann    VA    00     35
  9. Robert Kircher      RI    06     33
 10. Brendan Coomes      OH    10     32
 11. Greg Crowe          MD    09     30
 12. Matt Calkins        VA    08     30
 13. Gerald Lientz       VA    07     30
 14. Olin Hentz          CT    06     30
 15. Buddy Sinigaglio    CO    00     30
 16. Angela Collinson    FL    10     20
 17. Evan Hitchings      DE    09     18
 18. Ewan McNay          CT    07     18
 19. Keith Levy          MD    01     18
 20. Jerry Ohlinger      NY    99     18
 21. Rodd Polsky         PA    02     16
 22. Eric Gorr           VA    00     15
 23. James Hopkin        CA    02     14
 24. Devon Miller        VA    10     12
 25. Rebecca Melton      VA    09     12
 26. Jordan Flawd        CT    06     12
 27. Greg Thatcher       FL    06     12
 28. Rob Schoenen        PA    04     12
 29. Josh Campbell       NY    03     12
 30. Arthur Field        SC    02     12
 31. Ken Sheffield       VA    01     12
 32. Craig Melton        VA    99     12
 33. Josh Githens        SC    00     10
 34. Greg Zegalia        PA    09      9
 35. Steve Cameron       PA    08      9
 36. Jim Garvey          NY    07      9
 37. Carmen Petruzelli   PA    05      9
 38. Chris Greenfield    NY    03      9
 39. Scott Buckwalter    MD    01      9
 40. John Coussis        IL    99      9
 41. Tim Packwood        DE    10      8
 42. Abby Cocke          MD    04      8
 43. Sam Bowercraft      PA    10      6
 44. Brooks Beyma        MD    08      6
 45. Dennis Mishler      CT    07      6
 46. Nick Henning        CT    06      6
 47. Morio Taketori      jp    05      6
 48. Mark Love           MD    04      6
 49. Rob Brode           MD    03      6
 50. Randy Jackson       OH    99      6
 51. Jefferson Meyer     MA    10      4
 52. Tracy Graf          MD    04      4
 53. Lance Ribeiro       NH    02      4
 54. Greg Thatcher       CA    08      3
 55. Jean-Francois Gagne qc    07      3
 56. Mark Mitchell       VA    03      3
 57. Gordon Elgart       CA    01      3
 58. Jason Ley           WA    99      3
 59. John Poniske Jr     PA    05      2
 60. Joe Nemet           PA    04      2

2010 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Devon Miller, PA

Tim Packwood, DE

Sam Bowercraft, PA

Jeff Meyer, MA

Brendan Coomes, OH

Past Winners

Peter Staab, PA

Brian Sutton, MD

Kaarin Englemann, VA

Alan Witte, NJ

Rebecca Hebner, CO

Joe Sposito, NJ

Brenden Coomes, OH

Devin Flawd, PA

Robert Kircher, RI

Olin Hentz, CT

Harry Flawd, PA

Matt Calkins, VA

Greg Crowe, MD

Angela Collinson, MD


Always a titanic struggle ...

Although the attendance at WBC did not seem to slack all that much, we managed to have one fewer game in the preliminary heats than last year. A couple of them were even 4-player games in the third heat. Are the glory days that were the triple-digit attendance of 2008 now beyond our grasp? Only time will tell.

For the semi-finals we had 18 heat winners appear, but only one alternate. So, as we weren't able to fill to 20 with just him, our alternate went off to greener pastures in another event. This left us with four tables, two of them 4-player games. On three of the tables, competition was fierce - at each table the winner won by a single point. On the fourth, a staggering 20 points in bets were lost on the Cyclops in the last round, and, although Devon Miller lost four of those points, her two nearest competitors lost more, giving her a place at the Final table. 2003 champ Brendan Coomes fell in the semis - leaving us with a Final totally devoid of former laurelists.

The Final heated up quickly, as Sam played the Head Referee in the very first combat round, and managed to expose Jeff's secret bet on the Warlock. Though he also had a 4-point bet on his magic-wielding combatant, he managed instead to kill off Sam's first-round bet on the Unicorn, possibly out of revenge. In the second round, no one came to Jeff's aid, and the Warlock perished. This left two players with first-round bets still in play, Devon and Tim. Although negotiations were lively, it was decided that, since Devon had deliberately made no secret bet (a fact she pointed out at every opportunity), one of Tim's had to go. Since he didn't have the cards to successfully defend both, he made the active decision to kill his Hydra himself, probably because it took more of other players' bets with it than the Dragon did.

Even without a secret bet, Devon was now the only player with two first-round bets, and to further put a target on herself, she had managed to get three points onto two other creatures. So when killin' time a-came, Tim again made a tough decision to off the Troll instead of the Ranger, as he had fewer points on the Troll. In the last round, the two people with the most points on the board, Devon and Jeff, had no secret bets, which meant that Angela and Tim had higher potential scores if their secret bets survived. But in the end, it really came down to two things: the Dragon had the least support of the four survivors, and Sam had to choose to either kill the Dragon or risk losing the Cyclops, which carried his only existing points. Unfortunately for Devon, this meant that Angela's secret bet on the Titan also survived, allowing Angela to become the 14th TTA champion in as many years. No one repeats in the Arena!

At long last, I was able to get my act together enough to make medals for incidental awards, in addition to the usual finalist cups. I only had three this year, but hope to eventually have 11, one for each spectator card. The "Battling Behemoth," for the player who killed the most creatures in the qualifying heats, went to Ann Bruck, who managed to eliminate eight creatures in the three games she played. The "Shining Serpent," for the player who managed to lose the most points in bets in the final round of play, went to Harrison Anderson, who had nine points to lose on the Hydra in one of his games. Finally, the "Mighty Minotaur" went to Brendan Coomes for coming in sixth in the tournament which doesn't sport fez caps.

Congratulations to Angela, all of the other finalists and award winners, and I hope to see you all next year! Bring a friend!

 Titan: The Arena Junior

In Greg's Juniors event 23 kids reported for mayhem in the ring this year, with Thomas Melton winning - after finishing sixth last year. The Melton clan has long dominated TTA Juniors and this time it was young Thomas's turn to benefit from the hard lessons he learned from his older sisters who now do their thing in the adult tournament. The other finalists were:

2nd: Matthew Roizin-Prior (up from third place last year)

3rd: Zach Denysenko

4th: Franklin Rinko

5th: Andrew Doughan

6th: Dacey Collinson

The always helpful Mark Love lends a hand to the Titan wanna-bes.

GM Greg Crowe holds court for the Junior gladiators.
 GM     Greg Crowe  (7th year)   NA
   gregcrowe@mindspring.com   NA 

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page