superstar baseball  

Updated 11/26/2010

2010 WBC Report  

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Rich Moyer, MN

2008-10 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1991    Mike Ryan      21
1992    John Brandeberry        9
1993    Mike Ellsworth      16
1994    Randy Cox      16
1996    Jon Diminnie      11
1997    Henry Richardson        8
1998    Harry Flawd III        9
1999    Randy Cox     18
2000    Carl Coscia     20
2001    Mike Hazel     24
2002    Ken Samuel     20
2003    Gordon Elgart     18
2004    Chris Palermo     22
2005    Harry Flawd     19
2006    Mark Giddings     36
2007    Harry Flawd     40
2008    Rich Moyer     42
2009    Rich Moyer     52
2010    Rich Moyer     39

Rank  Name               From  Last  Total
  1.  Rich Moyer          MN    10    150
  2.  Harry Flawd         PA    10    106
  3.  Bill Beckman        SC    10     56
  4.  Chris Palermo       NY    04     47
  5.  Terry Coleman       CA    10     44
  6.  Mark Giddings       NY    06     40
  7.  Randy Cox           SC    05     28
  8.  Ken Samuel          VA    02     28
  9.  Devin Flawd         PA    07     22
 10.  John Welage         OH    08     20
 11.  Gordon Elgart       CA    03     20
 12.  Mike Hazel          SC    01     20
 13.  Carl Coscia         DC    00     20
 14.  Ilan Woll           CT    06     16
 15.  Henry Richardson IIIVA    00     14
 16.  Doug Galullo        FL    09     12
 17.  Bob Menzel          VT    08     12
 18.  John Tighe          NJ    05     12
 19.  Ken Richards        SC    04     12
 20.  John Emery          SC    02     12
 21.  Jared Scarborough   IL    01     12
 22.  James Terry         NJ    07      9
 23.  Mike Lam            CA    10      8
 24.  Bill Ashbaugh       NY    09      8
 25.  Roderick Lee        CA    08      8
 26.  Brian Stone         NY    06      8
 27.  Dave Gantt          SC    05      8
 28.  Greg Berry          VA    05      8
 29.  Greg Schmittgens    KS    04      8
 30.  Bob Jamelli         PA    03      8
 31.  Ralph Gleaton       SC    01      8
 32.  Steve Vance         MI    05      6
 33.  Pete Putnam         PA    04      6
 34.  Michael Destro      NJ    02      6
 35.  Ben Goldstein       SC    99      6
 36.  Joe Gandara         AZ    10      4
 37.  Andy Lewis          DE    08      4
 38.  Erick Young         SC    01      4
 39.  Darren Velez        NY    00      4
 40.  John Coussis        IL    07      3
 41.  Dan Dolan Sr        NJ    04      2
 42.  Joe Haardt          VA    03      2
 43.  Bill Cleary         MD    99      1

2010 Laurelists                                       Repeating Laurelists:

Harry Flawd, PA

Terry Coleman, CA

Bill Beckman, SC

Mike Lam, CA

Joe Gandara, AZ

Past Winners

Randy Cox, SC
1994, 1999

Jon Diminnie, TN

Henry Richardson, VA

Harry Flawd ,PA
1998, 2005, 2007

Carl Coscia, DC

Mike Hazel, SC

Ken Samuel, VA

Gordon Elgart, CA

Chris Palermo, NY

Mark Giddings, NY

Bob Jamelli and Roderick Lee minus the peanuts and crackerjacks. The play anytime format allows for offhour sessions.

Danny Lewis plays Doug Galullo in his quest to win more wood than his father. Isn't that race already won?

The Nation's Pastime ...

Year 3 of the Dynasty

Superstar Baseball took a step back from its recent growth of the past four years, with 12 less managers in 2010, although the number of games played held fairly steady. The tournament continued the format change from last year - rather than a free-form, week-long tournament, each 'day' was its own heat. Each heat was still free-form; but each day reset, and each day's heat would advance its own winner and runner-up, to round the playoff field to eight.

The six teams making the playoffs (sorted by winning percentage) were 1.) defending two-time champ Rich Moyer (1931 Philadelphia As); 2) Bill Beckman (1948 Cleveland Indians); 3) Harry Flawd (2004 Boston Red Sox), 4) Terry Coleman (1902 Pittsburgh Pirates); 5) Chris LeFevre (1970 Cincinnati Reds); 6) Joe Gandara (1984 Chicago Cubs); 7) Danny Lewis (1986 Houston Astros); 8) Mike Lam (1971 Baltimore Orioles).

Throughout the heats, once again, Moyer's As and Beckman's Indians were the most formidable teams. Beckman's team went 10-0 in the first heat, but lost the #1 seed in the playoffs because Moyer won multiple heats. Once again, in the "regular season," Moyer's team was unstoppable - going 21-0, and scoring seven or more runs in all but one game. In the event they weren't able to meet in the playoffs, Moyer and Beckman played one game in the regular season, with Moyer's As emerging triumphant, by the score of 18-2.

With the increase in the number of playoff teams to eight, there was an additional round of playoffs.

In the first game of the playoffs, Lam's Orioles beat LeFevre's Reds in 13 innings, in a pitching duel. A total of nine pitchers held down both teams to a 1-1 tie, until the top of the 13th, when Davey Johnson popped a 2-run homer for the Orioles. The Reds loaded the bases with one out in the bottom of the 13th, but failed to put a run across, falling 3-1.

In Game 2, Gandara's Cubs shut out Lewis' Astros, as Scott Sanderson pitched a complete game. Nolan Ryan pitched only one inning, before being injured, and the Cubs took the game 5-0.

In Game 3, Lam took on Coleman's Pirates, but the magic from the first game was gone, as the Pirates walloped the Orioles 9-2, scoring seven in the first two innings

In Game 4, Flawd's Red Sox edged the Cubs 4-3, as the teams traded single run innings for most of the game. Pedro Martinez pitched a complete game, with nine strikeouts.

The next round introduced the top two seeds to the playoffs. The first game, Moyer's As took down Coleman's Pirates 7-2, as the As continued to look unbeatable. Every batter had a hit, and the Pirates were never in contention. With the win, Moyer advanced to his fourth Final in five years.

Beckman's Indians fell to Flawd's As in the next game, as Bob Feller received no run support, while giving up only seven hits and a walk against ten strikeouts. Curt Schilling, pitching for the Sox, no-hit the Indians through the first five innings. The Sox took a 3-0 lead; then the Indians clawed back with a pair of runs in the bottom of the sixth. The Red Sox tacked on an insurance run in the seventh to win 4-2.

The World Series matched Flawd's Sox against reigning Consul Moyer's As. As the defending champ won his robes in this event last year, it was only fitting he played in the wardrobe of his office. Harry was suitably impressed. The Sox pitched Bronson Arroyo against the As' Lefty Grove. On paper, the game looked like it would be a spectacular offensive show by the As.

The Sox started the game with Doug Mirabelli doubling in Nomar Garciaparra in the first inning. The As matched the run with Jimmie Foxx doubling in Lou Finney. Amazingly, the next six innings saw no runs scored! There were a few opportunities, but the Sox only got one more player to third base the rest of the game. Finally, in the eighth inning, Mickey Cochrane singled home Mule Haas, with two outs, to give the As a 2-1 lead, which held up for the win and Rich Moyer's third consecutive title. Grove pitched a seven-hitter, with three walks and 11 strikeouts, while Arroyo was nearly as impressive, with six hits, three walks (one intentional) and five K's.

The decline in attendees, however, may lead to some changes for next year - whether it be a change in the teams offered; or, potentially, even a change in the game being used. The overall format, however (multiple heats over several days) should remain intact.

Tom Browne and Bill Beckman calling balls and strikes.

Flawd's jersey trumps Beckman's cap in the playoffs.
 GM      Chris Palermo [5th Year]   NA   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page