san juan  

Updated 11/26/2010

2010 WBC Report  

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Raphael Lehrer, CA

2010 Champion

Offsite Links

AREA Boardgamegeek 


Event History
2004    Jeff Mullet     123
2005    Bill Salvatore       48
2006    Bruce Reiff       43
2007    Peter Stein       42
2008    Tom Browne      44
2009    Tom Browne       74
2010    Raphael Lehrer     102

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bruce Reiff        OH    10     64
  2.  Jeff Mullet        OH    09     50
  3.  Tom Browne         PA    10     48
  4.  Raphael Lehrer     MD    10     46
  5.  Bill Salvatore     MD    05     30
  6.  Nick Page          on    10     24
  7.  Pete Stein         OH    07     20
  8.  Rob Kircher        RI    06     18
  9.  Bill Murdock       NY    05     18
 10.  Tom McCorry        VA    04     18
 11.  Lexi Shea          CT    10     16
 12.  Eric Brosius       MA    08     14
 13.  Eric Freeman       PA    08     12
 14.  Nate Hoam          OH    04     12
 15.  Eric Lenhart       PA    05      9
 16.  Alan Kaiser        OH    04      9
 17.  Jason Levine       NY    08      8
 18.  David Platnick     NY    07      8
 19.  Arthur Field       SC    06      8
 20.  Debbie Gutermuth   NC    08      6
 21.  Trevor Bender      WA    05      6
 22.  Bob Wicks Jr       CT    10      4
 23.  Peggy Pfeiffer     FL    09      4
 24.  Richard Irving     CA    09      4
 25.  Ken Richards       SC    06      4
 26.  Jennifer Scancella PA    05      3
 27.  Chris Kamm         NY    04      3
 28.  Suzanne Tuch       NY    06      2

20010 Laurelists                                        Repeating Laurelists:

Bruce Reiff, OH

Lexi Shea, CT

Nick Page, on

Tom Browne, PA

Bob Wicks Jr., CT

Past Winners

Jeff Mullet, OH

Bill Salvatore, MD

Bruce Reiff, OH

Pete Stein, OH

Tom Browne, PA

Michael Wei takes on Josh Githens as fellow Blue Devils Amanda Yu and Misha Lavrov check out the gaming at their first WBC.

Eric Engelmann vs Dave Pack in the qualifying rounds as the Monday event got underway with a large turnout.

Collecting Bounty Buttons

San Juan enjoyed its highest attendance numbers since it's inaugral year. After years of steady numbers in the 40s, we made it to 74 and made the Century for 2010. In 2010, we made "the century" in attendance as well, coming in at 102 players!

Once again, there was a fairly large crowd at the demo, proving that a game does not have to be new to draw people interested in learning how to play. While many veteran players prefer to play other experienced players in the "skill" games, an "A" rating soon becomes a self-fulfilling prophesy beckoning declining attendance while GMs who welcome new players with a demo have a better chance of keeping their events around by putting out the welcome mat. San Juan is not difficult to learn, so several people learned the game an hour before they were playing in the tournament. Many of them even won some games.

As in previous years, there were four rounds and you had to win three times to advance to the elimination bracket. As usual, if you won your first three games, you got to take a lunch break. If not, you played the fourth round, hoping to squeeze in. When all was said and done, a whopping 30 players advanced to the elimination rounds.

As everyone was made aware, Tom Browne had won the last two years in a row. An impressive feat, but one that we wanted to prevent from happening again. And so, thanks to "button master" Greg Schmittgens, we had lots of buttons made up with Tom's face with a circle and a line through it. Tom got the lone button with his face and a bullseye on it. Everyone was instructed that if they knocked Tom out of the tournament, they got his button. If he knocked another player out, he got your button. Tom was a great sport and challenged everyone to "come and get him, if they could". Nothing was said about it distracting attention from the three Cabbies who had won in three of the previous four years before Tom spoiled our party. After collecting buttons of his own, Tom finally lost his to perennial finalist, Bruce Reiff. (Big shock, huh?)

The 30 finalists were whittled down to Reiff and Raphael Lehrer. After about three turns it was apparent Raphael was going to win. Bruce could not draw a decent card to save his life, and Raphael worked the purple building strategy to perfection on his way to a blowout win. Next year, we gotta have " Get Lehrer" buttons.

Marie Pack vs Mark Neale in one of 51 opening pairings.

Raphael Lehrer, my hero, denies the Bruce in the Final.
 GM      Jeff Mullet  [4th Year]   NA   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page