queen's gambit  

Updated 11/21/2010

2010 WBC Report  

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Larry Lingle, PA

2010 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
2002    Buddy Sinigaglio     61
2003    Larry Lingle     59
2004    Brian Sutton     43
2005    Karl Henning     51
2006    Larry Lingle     48
2007    William Sparks     54
2008    Nick Page     55
2009    Brian Sutton     41
2010    Larry Lingle     43

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Larry Lingle       PA    10    109
  2.  Brian Sutton       MD    10     96
  3.  Karl Henning       CT    09     57
  4.  Alex Bell          MD    09     39
  5.  Buddy Sinigaglio   CO    03     34
  6.  Andrew Wilson      NJ    10     30
  7.  Nick Page          on    08     30
  8.  William Sparks     MD    07     30
  9.  Phil Rennert       MD    06     27
 10.  Sean McCulloch     OH    07     25
 11.  Bill Morse         VA    07     24
 12.  Rick Sciacca       FL    08     18
 13.  Lee Fitzjerrels    mc    04     18
 14.  Craig Moffitt      NJ    03     17
 15.  Greg Zegalia       PA    09     15
 16.  Tony Musella       NJ    09     12
 17.  Rob Flowers        MD    07     12
 18.  Seth Kirchner      KY    04     12
 19.  Carolyn Strock     PA    10      9
 20.  Evan Cagwin        PA    07      9
 21.  David Gubbay       TX    05      9
 22.  Chelsea Sinigaglio NJ    04      9
 23.  John Pack          CO    03      8
 24.  Micah Hultgren     CA    10      6
 25.  John Schoose       IL    08      6
 26.  Bob Heinzmann      FL    02      4
 27.  Dan Stock          PA    10      3
 28.  Ted Lange          ae    05      3
 29.  Dan Dolan Jr       NJ    02      3
 30.  Ken Whitesell      PA    02      2

2010 Laurelists                                              Repeating Laurelists:

Brian Sutton, MD

Andrew Wilson, NJ

Carolyn Strock, PA

Micah Hultgren, CA

Dan Strock, PA

Past Winners

Buddy Sinigaglio, CO

Larry Lingle, PA
2003, 2006, 2010

Brian Sutton, MD
2004, 2009

Karl Henning, CT

William Sparks, MD

Nick Page, on

Remember when this linebacker was a Junior? Don't yell fumble! Dave Gubbay is dwarved by Daniel Long.

Devon Miller and Aurora Pack fight for/agin the Queen. No dolls for these gals.

Still brought to you by BPAclassics.org ...

In the ninth year of Queen's Gambit play, the field remained stable with 43 entrants despite the game being long out of print. As usual, players who can't handle the time-pressure of Doncon fell by the wayside as they crapped out with the Naboo and whimpered about the unfair nature of the format and how "it sucks to be the Naboo!" This year's overall outcome was again close to a 50-50 split.

In the preliminary heats the Naboo won 20 games to Darth Maul's 16. There is no time limit in the preliminary games and this slants the game some towards the Naboo. In the time-limited playoffs, however, the Trade Federation wins if it is still standing after two hours - this reflects the time-limited aspect of the battle in the theatre. In 2010, the Trade Federation won eight of the 15 playoff games, so the total tally for the preliminaries and the single-elim playoffs was Naboo 27, Darth Maul 26.

Special thanks are in order for Bill "Battle Droid" Morse. Bill is invaluable as an Assistant Game Master for his organizational and clerical skills.

As occurred last year in the preliminary and single elimination rounds, there were no game shortages. This is attributed to three reasons: "Jabba the Hutt" Gubbay, Brian "Bossk" Sutton and Frank "IG88" Sinigaglio - each brought multiple copies of the game and deserve honorable mention for the Sportsmanship Award. However, there was no nomination for sportsmanship this year, because a player must do a great deal to earn a sportsmanship nomination in my event, which has shown itself to be a very cut-throat game. In fact, there has been only one Queen's Gambit player ever nominated for the Sportsmanship Award, David "The Hutt" Gubbay

16 players advanced to the playoffs, including past champs Karl "Sith Witch" Henning, William "Wampa" Sparks, Nick "Padawan" Page and two-time champs Brian "Bossk" Sutton and Lawrence "Red Queen" Lingle. The three onetime champs fell by the wayside as the single elimination rounds progressed, but the two veteran, two-time winners displayed their pedigree on their way to the Final. Alas, Larry "Red Queen" Lingle defeated Brian "Bossk" Sutton and won his third Queens Gambit title. The implacable, child-killing Larry Lingle - aka Captain Larry to his pirate crews - thus becomes the one and only three-time champion of Star Wars - The Queens Gambit.

David Rennert and Carol Strock, once Juniors opponents, meet again.

Sean has his hands full with an Ewok rebellion apparently.
 GM      Bruno Sinigaglio  [6th Year]   NA 
    sinigaglio@hotmail.com   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page