formula de  

Updated 11/21/2010

2010 WBC Report  

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Jason Levine, NY

2009-10 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
2000    Keith Levy     65
2001    Roderick Lee     80
2002    Barry Smith     58
2003    Steven May     50
2004    James Kendrick     52
2005    Jason Levine     63
2006    Jason Levine     62
2007    Lance Fogel     60
2008    Mario Veillette     80
2009    Jason Levine     57
2010    Jason Levine     65

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Jason Levine       NY    10    120
  2.  Barry Smith        NY    05     89
  3.  Lance Fogel        PA    07     78
  4.  Roderick Lee       CA    09     42
  5.  Robert Kircher     MA    02     38
  6.  Mario Veillette    qc    08     30
  7.  James Kendrick     uk    04     30
  8.  Steve May          MD    03     30
  9.  Keith Levy         MD    00     30
 10.  Bill Dyer          IL    09     27
 11.  Harrison Anderson  PA    09     24
 12.  Stan Buck          MD    08     24
 13.  Rob Runnicles      FL    06     24
 14.  Curt Collins II    PA    10     21
 15.  Andrew Maly        MD    08     18
 16.  Patrick Maloney    PA    07     18
 17.  Joe Sposito        NJ    04     18
 18.  Ilan Woll          CT    03     18
 19.  Matt Muir          MD    00     18
 20.  Steve Field        IL    02     15
 21.  Brad Johnson       IL    02     13
 22.  Matt Bacho         MD    10     12
 23.  Josh Githens       SC    07     12
 24.  Doug Galullo       FL    06     12
 25.  Rich Shipley       MD    05     12
 26.  Steve Cameron      PA    04     12
 27.  Tony Musella       VA    10      9
 28.  Patrick Monte      NY    09      9
 29.  Brady Wade         IN    08      9
 30.  David Albin        PA    07      9
 31.  Nick Henning       CT    07      9
 32.  William Kendrick   uk    06      9
 33.  Jessica Finkeldey  MD    05      9
 34.  Paul Murphy        UT    03      9
 35.  Jim Rochford       IL    00      9
 36.  Mark Mitchell      VA    03      8
 37.  Jason Wagner       PA    10      6
 38.  David Wong         NJ    01      6
 39.  Joe Wetherall      PA    00      6
 40.  Steve LeWinter     NC    10      3
 41.  Robert Davidson    IL    09      3
 42.  Chris Hancock      NH    06      3
 43.  Jim Castonguay     PA    05      3
 44.  Eric Lenhart       PA    04      3
 45.  Eric Eshleman      PA    00      3

2010 Laurelists                                               Repeating Laurelists:

Curt Collins II, PA

Matt Bacho, MD

Tony Musella, VA

Jason Wagner, PA

Steve LeWinter, NC

Past Winners

Keith Levy, MD

Roderick Lee, CA

Barry Smith, NY

Steven May, MD

James Kendrick, UK

Jason Levine, NY
2005-06, 2009-10

Lance Fogel, PA

Mario Veillette, QC

Like father like son ... Alex Maly drives with dad Andrew. Wait for the real driving lessons to start.

Mike Dwyer and Rob Eastman move while Cut Collins is obviously camera shy.

Return to the Big Track

The 2010 WBC Formula 1 season saw another year of strong attendance. Once again the tournament brought drivers from across the globe to the racing capital of the world; Lancaster, Pennsylvania. In the quiet countryside of hand churned butter, barn raising, and finely crafted furniture; the excitement that is Formula 1 racing took over for two glorious days. Again using a two-heat format with the top ten qualifiers advancing directly to the Final gave racers a chance to play, have fun, and not need to race for days on end to maybe make the semi-final if they produced enough trade goods.

Each of the two heats had enough entrants to run boards containing six to eight drivers. Players were allowed to sit at any table of their choosing, eliminating lengthy randomization, while also allowing players to sit with their friends and have fun at 200 MPH. Much like last year the heat tracks seemed to be mostly Melbourne, a quick moving track that rewards good rolls, and makes you try to keep pace with the leader. A missed turn can take you from near victory to the back of the pack in a hurry. Another track frequented in the heats was Monaco. Some technical portions are favorable to good planning, but ground can easily be gained if you have a miscue.

The 2010 Final returned to the large scale track last seen in 2008. This year's featured track was a re-designed Hockenheim. We used the new track expansion for Asmodee Games. The actual Hockenheim underwent a major redesign in 2001, and now alternates hosting the German Grand Prix with Nurburgring.

The starting grid was filled with ten unique race winners. Another perk this year was I brought dozens of 1:64 scale GT style cars to select, along with the 1:64 scale Formula 1 cars. Every driver opted for the GT style. The start grid was filled with machines ranging from VW GTi, '63 Corvette, Triumph TVR, Dodge Viper, and Dodge Charger. Pit boxes were chosen, gear boxes were thrashed, tires were shredded, and brakes were glowing red.

At the conclusion of the race defending champ Jason Levine once again crossed the finish line first to wrack up his fourth title which suggests either that the game is not as luck dependent as some think or Jason should spend more time in Vegas. No one walked away empty handed, as participants were allowed to take home the very race cars they chose as a souvenir of the event. Planning is already underway for a new Final track for 2011 and I am considering adding an additional heat to allow more drivers to take part in the Lancaster WBC Grand Prix.

GM Josh Githens outdid himself this year with another giant track for the Final to make for a memorable championship race.

The huge course must have made long arms a prerequisite for moving cars in the middle of the board. Anyone got a pool cue?
 GM      Joshua Githens [3rd Year]  NA   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page