bitter woods 

Updated 11/21/2010

2010 WBC Report    

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Bruno Sinigaglio, AK

2010 Champion

Offsite Links

AREA Boardgamegeek 
 L2 Design Group L2 Design Group

WBC Event History
1999    Phil Evans     19
2000    Randy Heller     16
2001    Rich Ogata     14
2002    Tom Gregorio     16
2003    Bob Ryan     17
2004    Bob Ryan     20
2005    Randy Heller     20
2006    Steve Likevich     21
2007    Tom Gregorio     21
2008    Tom Gregorio     22
2009    Tom Gregorio     26
2010    Bruno Sinigaglio     22

PBeM Event History
2000    Randy Heller     20
2001    Bob Ryan     27
2002    Tom Gregorio     25
2005    Phil Evans     27
2008    Bruno Sinigaglio     32

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Randy Heller       NH    10    214
  2.  Tom Gregorio       PA    09    191
  3.  Bob Ryan           MI    09    128
  4.  Phil Evans         fr    05     94
  5.  Bruno Sinigaglio   AK    10     84
  6.  Bill Morse         VA    10     72
  7.  Forrest Pafenberg  VA    08     57
  8.  Steve Likevich     OH    08     57
  9.  Mike Mitchell      GA    09     42
 10.  John Grant Jr      CT    01     35
 11.  Rich Ogata         VA    01     30
 12.  Mike Pacheco       CA    05     24
 13.  Marty Musella      VA    10     18
 14.  Buddy Sinigaglio   CO    08     18
 15.  Dan Tierney        CA    05     18
 16.  Ed Witkowski       VA    10     15
 17.  Doug James         NC    06     15
 18.  Jeff Hacker        PA    10     12
 19.  John Popiden       CA    04      9
 20.  Nick Frydas        uk    03      9
 21.  Kevin Hacker       PA    09      8
 22.  Jim Tracy          OH    05      7
 23.  Jeff Lange         ap    08      6
 24.  Larry Hollern      TX    08      3
 25.  Frank Sinigaglio   NJ    08      3
 26.  Johnny Hasay       PA    07      3
 27.  Lance Roberts      AK    05      3
 28.  Rob Mull           CO    02      3
 29.  Chris Roginsky     PA    01      3
 30.  Paul Koenig        CA    00      3
 31.  Rob Beyma          MD    02      2

2010 Laurelists                                              Repeating Laurelists 

Bill Morse, VA

Randy Heller, NH

Ed Witkowski, VA

Jeff Hacker, PA

Marty Musella, VA

Past Winners

Phil Evans, fr

Randy Heller, MD
2000, 2005

Rich Ogata, VA

Tom Gregorio, PA
2002, 2007-09

Bob Ryan, MI

Steve Likevich, OH

Bruno Sinigaglio, AK

The Hacker brothers and Bill Thomson tell war stories as the head of the Wargame Academy no doubt recruits Squad Leader players.

Designer Randy Heller finds it tough going in his pride and joy these days - having not won the event for the past five years.

Roll the Panzers ...

25 games were played; 15 of the 6-turn scenario and ten of the 8-turn scenario. Balance remained tight with 13 German wins and 12 losses.

The original champ, '99's Phil Evans, was eliminated in Round 2 by Bruno Sinigaglio with weak German combat results out of the gate. Designer and two-time champ, Randy Heller, was nearly bounced by Forrest Pafenberg in another early round upset. Forrest played a brilliant Allied defense in the 6-turn scenario while Randy pursued an attrition strategy. By the18 AM turn, he had eliminated approximately 20 American units, but was not yet close enough to the victory point towns to secure a victory. Forrest left the road to Eupen defended with one unit and no back up, needing all artillery near Stavelot to counter German threats in that area. On the final turn, Randy swung 12SS onto the road leading to Eupen and gambled on the one die roll needed, a D4, to capture Eupen. Using his "lucky die," the needed result materialized and the Germans captured Eupen, resulting in a German win.

Bruno Sinigaglio was on a roll this year with a combination of skill, perseverance, and good dice. Once past Evans, he put "the kosh" on Marty Musella and Larry Hollern, both high caliber, experienced players. In the semi-finals, Bruno was paired against Ed Witkowki's Germans. Ed just couldn't seem to kick start his forces as he was plagued by adverse combat die rolls. Randy Heller played Bill Morse in the other semi-game. Randy's first couple of turns were on the mark and Bill's Allied forces were on the run. By Turn 4 of the 8-turn scenario, a lesser player than Bill would undoubtedly have thrown in the towel. On 18 PM, Parker's Crossroads was captured, and on 19 AM, the Samree fuel dump was taken. Both Peiper and Fuh. Es. defended the fuel dump from an American counterattack. Yet Bill was able to muster a flanking combined arms attack for a 2-1 to take it back. The last turn resulted in Randy's long shot attack on Bastogne (1/6 chance of success) and a 2-1 to, again, capture the Samree fuel dump. Neither attack succeeded, leaving Bill with a hard earned win.

The Final thus pit Bill Morse and Bruno Sinigaglio in the 6-turn scenario as both tried for their first title in this event. Bill had trouble from the beginning with very lackluster combat results. He used the Peiper breakout turn to maneuver the KG next to Stavelot. He knocked on that door, but was unable to get in, giving Bruno his first BWD title.

Grognard con is well named with old timers like Bruno Sinigaglio and John Tighe Sr in attendance pushing cardboard.

Larry Hollern and Phil Evans work off the rust in the Mulligan Round on Tuesday night which guarantees everyone at least two games.
 GM      Randy Heller  [9th Year]  NA   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page