Updated 11/21/2010

2010 WBC Report  

  2011 Status: pending December Membership Trial Vote

Bruce Reiff, OH

2007-10 Champion

Offsite Links

  GMT Games

Event History
2001    Peter Staab     54
2002    Kevin Youells     36
2003    Ken Gutermuth     44
2004    Arthur Field     44
2005    Arthur Field     48 
2006    Thomas Browne     52
2007    Bruce Reiff     40
2008    Bruce Reiff     45
2009    Bruce Reiff     40
2010    Bruce Reiff     48

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bruce Reiff        OH    10     95
  2.  Arthur Field       SC    09     52
  3.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    09     44
  4.  Kevin Youells      FL    10     36
  5.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    05     36
  6.  Peter Staab        PA    01     30
  7.  Sean McCulloch     OH    07     24
  8.  Jason Levine       NY    10     20
  9.  Thomas Browne      PA    06     20
 10.  Barrington Beavis  uk    03     18
 11.  Jonathan Miller    DC    02     18
 12.  John Leggat        CA    01     18
 13.  James Tyne         NJ    07     18
 14.  Chris Yaure        PA    09     16
 15.  Kate Taillon       SC    09     16
 16.  Bill Banks         KY    07     12
 17.  Mike Nagel         NJ    05     12
 18.  Andrew Cummins     uk    01     12
 19.  Cliff Ackman       PA    01      9
 20.  Craig Melton       VA    10      8
 21.  Greg Kulp          NJ    07      8
 22.  Keith Schoose      CA    05      8
 23.  Austin Walzl       VA    08      6
 24.  Andy Latto         MA    06      6
 25.  Richard Irving     CA    04      6
 26.  Carol Caler        PA    03      6
 27.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    01      6
 28.  Rob Kilroy         PA    10      4
 29.  Eric Kleist        MD    08      4
 30.  Brad Raszewski     MD    07      4
 31.  Alan Kaiser        OH    06      4
 32.  Stuart Tucker      MD    04      4
 33.  Lance Fogel        PA    03      3
 34.  Gordon Elgart      CA    01      3
 35.  Steve Raszewski    PA    10      2
 36.  Joseph Yaure       PA    09      2
 37.  David Burkey       PA    08      2
 38.  Mike Stanley       OH    06      2
 39.  Tom Powell-Bullock OH    05      2
 40.  Laurie Wojtaszcyk  NY    04      2

2010 Laurelists                                               Repeating Laurelists:

Jason Levine, NY

Craig Melton, VA

Kevin Youells, PA

Rob Kilroy, PA

Steve Raszewski, PA

Past Winners

Peter Staab, PA

Kevin Youells, FL

Ken Gutermuth, TX

Arthur Field, SC
2004, 2005

Tom Browne, PA

Mike Stanley tests his mettle vs two-time champ Arthur Field.

Jason Levine upset 2002 champ Kevin Youell in the semis.

Yawn ... Him Again

48 'regulars' posted at the usual time on Friday evening to contest the tenth title and continue the event's remarkable consistency. It's a great event because you are guaranteed three games, it's over within four hours and you can learn it very easily. Mastering it, well that's another story.

We broke into the usual pods of four. You play everyone in your pod once and the scoring system encourages you to win via breakthrough. As always I number the pods in order of finish. My pod is usually first, but slipped to fourth this year.

Pod 1, the speedy one, was won by Chad Gormly with breakthough wins over Mike Shea and Ryan Friedman. He was only able to manage a 5-2 win over Phil Rennert.

Pod 2 was taken by Eric Kleist over Eric Filiplowski, Nicole Reiff and Jeff Hacker. Nicole may not play as well as her old man (yet), but at least she plays as fast! Eric had three breakthroughs!

Pod 3 was won by Jason Levine over Gordon Rogers, Rick Young and Andrew Fedin but he needed the head to head tie-breaker to advance over Andrew who was also 2-1.

Pod 4 was won by yours truly with three wins over Bob Hamel, Dan not-the-legend Hoffman and Kate Tallion.

Pod 5 belonged to Philly regular Rob Kilroy at 3-0 versus Tom Murcko, Pat Mirk and Austin Walzl.

Craig Melton took Pod 6 with three wins over Matt Ellis, Bram Walzl and Charles Squibb.

2002 champ Kevin Youells showed that he still had the right stuff in Pod 7 by scoring three breakthroughs over Paul Bolduc, Angela "I'm not the legend's wife" Hoffman and John Kilbride.

Pod 8 saw the biggest upset as Barrington Beavis went unbeaten over two-time champ Arthur Field, Ron Fedin and Mike Stanley.

Steve Raszewski went 3-0 in Pod 9 over Huston Johnson, Gary Phillips and Joe Yaure.

Bob Wicks brought a smile to the GM's face by knocking fellow Cabbie Jeff Mullet out of the tournament while also beating Steve Squibb and Tamara Fedin in Pod 10.

Pod 11 was the only other group to resort to a tie breaker when Collin McFall's 2-1 advanced over Alan Arvold, Gordon Stewart and Kevin Toney.

And in pokey Pod 12, Charles Stucker turned back Brad Razewski, Carol Caler and Jason Pollack.

This set up the usual single elimination rounds. In the round of 16, Charles Stucker beat Bob Wicks, Jason Levine denied Eric Kleist, Barrington Beavis's day came to an end against Collin McFall and Rob Kilroy did Philly proud and won the right to play the GM in the next round by sparing Chad Gormly the same fate.

The quarter finals advanced Kevin Youells over Charles Stucker, Jason Levine over Steve Raszewski, Craig Melton over Collin McFall and yours truly over Roy Kilroy.

In the semis Jason Levine ended Kevin Youell's quest for a second title. Craig Melton came close and almost made Don smile, but Bruce won with a breakthrough just before Craig could.

That set up a Final between long time adversaries Jason Levine and Bruce Reiff. Fortunately for Bruce, Jason wasn't able to break any deals like he did in Age of Renaissance this year. Nevertheless, Jason could almost taste the victory as he had Bruce on the proverbial ropes only to have the lumber king score a breakthrough and stun Jason who was just a turn away from besting the plaque master. Karma for deal breaking? You decide. Instead, Bruce won his fourth straight title - a number very symbolic of his 2010 WBC as he would carry home four championship plaques in 2010.

My kingdom for a "5" ...

Craig Melton suffers a breakthrough vs you-know-who. Darn it!
 GM      Bruce Reiff  [7th Year]  NA   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page