afrika korps 

Updated 11/15/2010

Grognards Pre-Con
2010 WBC Report  

  2011 Status: pending December Membership Trial Vote

Bert Schoose, IL

2010 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1991      John Poniske      12
1992      Mike Crowe      15
1993      Joe Beard      20
1994      Joe Beard      17
1995      Phil Evans      16
1996      Bruno Sinigaglio      10
1997      Bruno Sinigaglio      25
1998      Gregory Smith      23
1999      Gregory Smith     24
2000      Randy Heller     20
2001      Lane Newbury     29
2002      Vince Meconi     29
2003      Jonathan Lockwood     22
2004      Randy Heller      30
2005      John Popiden      20
2006      Vince Meconi      34
2007      Bert Schoose      23
2008      John Popiden      24
2009      Vince Meconi      20
2010      Bert Schoose      19

PBeM Event History
2003      Ed Menzel     26
2008      Bruno Sinigaglio      26
2010      Bert Schoose      26

 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Vince Meconi       DE    10    179
   2.  Jonathan Lockwood  VA    10    158
   3.  Bruno Sinigaglio   AK    10    144
   4.  Bert Schoose       IL    10    135
   5.  John Popiden       CA    10    108
   6.  Ed Menzel          CA    10     88
   7.  Randy Heller       MD    05     78
   8.  Lane Newbury       TX    03     48
   9.  Greg Smith         PA    08     44
  10.  Bill Morse         VA    10     30
  11.  Barry Smith        NY    08     30
  12.  Joe Beard          AZ    10     27
  13.  James Tracy II     OH    09     25
  14.  Doug Burke         MD    03     24
  15.  Mark Gutfreund     KY    08     21
  16.  Phil Evans         fr    01     15
  17.  Gary Dickson       CA    05     12
  18.  Johnny Hasay       PA    04     12
  19.  Andrew Miller      GA    03      9
  20.  Robert Hahn        NY    02      8
  21.  Bill Scott         VA    10      6
  22.  Pat Mirk           FL    09      6
  23.  Ted Drozd          IL    08      6
  24.  Steve Likevich     OH    01      6
  25.  Chris Godfrey      MA    06      3

2010 Laurelists                                          Repeating Laurelists

Bill Morse, VA

Vincent Meconi, DE

Jonathan Lockwood, VA

Bill Scott, VA

Bruno Sinigaglio, AK

Past Winners

John Poniske, PA

Mike Crowe, VA

Joe Beard, AZ

Phil Evans, fr

Bruno Sinigaglio, AK

Greg Smith, PA

Randy Heller, MD
2000, 2004

Lane Newbury, TX

Vince Meconi, DE
2002, 2006, 2009

Jonathan Lockwood, VA

John Popiden, CA
2005, 2008

Bert Schoose, IL
2007, 2010

Steve Koleszar eschews Titan battles to be a grognard again.

Jon Lockwood offers another clinic on the Palevda Gambit.

once more behind the sand dunes with the grognards...

In a year of record WBC attendance, the grognards who turned out for Afrika Korps fell to their lowest total in the past 14 years, and with that decline fell out of the Century for the first time. Not surprisingly, the final four for the 20th tournament featured the usual veteran faces, with three-time and defending champion Vince Meconi facing off against 2007 champion Bert Schoose in one semi-final, while GM Jonathan Lockwood (the 2003 champion) took on up and coming journeyman Bill Morse in the other playoff slot.

Lockwood took the British with no supply bid needed. Morse's opening attack offered Lockwood the chance to use his infamous Palevda Gambit opening, which Lockwood declined because of the opportunity to occupy the N19 escarpment and hamper German flanking efforts. As things turned out, this did not matter. Aided by a rare PERFECT supply run, Morse was able to drive the British into Tobruch with minimal casualties and mount an aggressive eastward drive towards Alexandria. By early August, the Germans were at the El Alamein line. Realizing his situation was desperate, Lockwood unleashed 1-2 and 1-1 counterattacks against two 7-7-10 Panzer regiments, hoping to kneecap the Afrika Korps with an exchange on the 1-2 and a D Elim or exchange on the 1-1. The 1-2 gained the exchange, but the 1-1 yielded an "Attacker Eliminated", enabling Morse to execute an automatic victory counterattack on the next turn to take Alexandria, sending Morse to his first AFK Final.

Schoose took the British without a supply bid. Much as in the other semi-final match, Meconi was able to drive the British into Tobruch and mount an eastward offensive with minimal casualties. However, Schoose's adroit use of delay units, combined with a less than perfect supply run for the Germans after July, enabled Schoose to hold until his November reinforcements could join the fray. Unfortunately for Meconi, he did not realize that the influx of two 4-4-7s and three 2-2-6s, combined with the other remaining 2-2-6s, enabled the British to mount a 3-1 counterattack against one of his 7-7-10 panzers, resulting in an Exchange. The British were able to follow this with further attacks to reduce the Afrika Korps. Faced with a dwindling attack force and an aggressive British counteroffensive, Meconi fell back to Tobruch and launched the "Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch" (1-1 attack) vs the Tobruch defenders. The resulting exchange gave the Germans possession of Tobruch, but at a prohibitive cost.

In the championship match, both sides wanted the Germans, to the point where Morse bid one "sunk" supply for the privilege. This became a critical factor early when Morse's first two convoys were "sunk". When he finally got a supply on his third roll, Bert used his one automatic "sunk" result to take out that convoy as well. The precarious German supply situation forced Morse to resort to flanking maneuvers south of Tobruch in an effort to force the British out of their initial blocking positions. Schoose then demonstrated once again why Afrika Korps is known as "The Unforgiving Game" by isolating one of Morse's 7-7-10 panzer regiments. A desperation 2-1 German counterattack on the second turn of isolation managed to break the isolation at the cost of Ariete in an exchange. Schoose then isolated the 7-7-10 a second time using his June reinforcements. Morse was compelled to resort to a 1-1 counterattack to break the isolation but this attempt failed, resulting in the elimination of the isolated 7-7-10. This drew the German concession, and made Bert a two-time champ and the first player ever to win both the WBC and the PBeM titles in the same year!

Greg Smith counting Movement Factors in the game of maneuver.

Finalists John Morse and Bert Schoose mug for the camera.
 2010 PBeM Tournament

The Third BPA PBeM Afrika Korps tournament again drew 26 grognards some 46 years after this game was first published. After 25 games, only 2007 champ Bert Schoose and venerable 1993-94 champ Joe Beard remained. Bert's Axis forces outdid their historical counterparts to allow Bert to capture his first PBeM AFK title.

On a sadder note, John Popiden earned his last laurels in this event posthumously - having passed away during the course of the tournament. Others winning laurels were Ed Menzel, Jonathan Lockwood and Vince Meconi in that order.

 GM      Jonathan Lockwood  [11th Year]   P.O. Box 3436, Reston, VA 20195-1436   703-476-5237

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page