san juan  

Updated 11/30/2009

2009 WBC Report  

 2010 Status: pending 2010 GM commitment

Tom Browne, PA

2008-09 Champion

Offsite Links

AREA Boardgamegeek 

Event History
2004    Jeff Mullet     123
2005    Bill Salvatore       48
2006    Bruce Reiff       43
2007    Peter Stein       42
2008    Tom Browne       44
2009    Tom Browne       74



Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Jeff Mullet        OH    09     50
  2.  Tom Browne         PA    09     40
  3.  Bruce Reiff        OH    09     40
  4.  Bill Salvatore     MD    05     30
  5.  Pete Stein         OH    07     20
  6.  Rob Kircher        RI    06     18
  7.  Bill Murdock       NY    05     18
  8.  Tom McCorry        VA    04     18
  9.  Eric Brosius       MA    08     14
 10.  Nick Page          on    09     12
 11.  Eric Freeman       PA    08     12
 12.  Nate Hoam          OH    04     12
 13.  Eric Lenhart       PA    05      9
 14.  Alan Kaiser        OH    04      9
 15.  Jason Levine       NY    08      8
 16.  David Platnick     NY    07      8
 17.  Arthur Field       SC    06      8
 18.  Debbie Gutermuth   NC    08      6
 19.  Raphael Lehrer     MD    07      6
 20.  Trevor Bender      WA    05      6
 21.  Peggy Pfeiffer     FL    09      4
 22.  Richard Irving     CA    09      4
 23.  Ken Richards       SC    06      4
 24.  Jennifer Scancella PA    05      3
 25.  Chris Kamm         NY    04      3
 26.  Suzanne Tuch       NY    06      2

2009 Laurelists                                          Repeating Laurelists:

Nick Page, on

Bruce Reiff, OH

Jeff Mullet, OH

Peggy Pfeifer, FL

Rich Irving, CA

Past Winners

Jeff Mullet, OH

Bill Salvatore, MD

Bruce Reiff, OH

Pete Stein, OH

Tom Browne, PA


The first tournament of WBC gets underway
with a bustling ballroom as San Juan makes a comeback.

Bruce Reiff falls in the semi-finals to Tom Browne which instantly admits Tom to my personal Pantheon of Heroes.

The Usual Suspects

The first official tournament of WBC proper started an hour earlier than last year with a demo at 9 AM. Several players had never played before and a few just needed a refresher. San Juan is a fairly simple game to pick up, especially if you're familiar with Puerto Rico. And a few of the newcomers did fairly well.  But most of those that advanced were familiar faces, proving it takes a bit of time to master.
San Juan has had a steady, loyal following the last few years with an average attendence of 43 players. We were pleasantly surprised to have 74 players at the start.
There are four rounds played and you need to win three to advance - pretty simple. The first round is random pairings and thereafter people are paired with like records. After the first three rounds, we called all the other 3-0's around and explained they could only hurt themselves by playing again and should go get lunch, which they did. The 2-1's (and several players who were out of it, but still wanted to play some more) finished off the fourth round.
That gave us 21 qualifiers. The 3-0 players (which included Kirk Harris, Andy Latto, Jeff Mullet, Bruce Reiff, Robert Cranshaw, Sean McCulloch, Tom Browne, Rich Irving, Geoffrey Pounder and Rob Kircher) got a bye and most of the 3-1 players ( Daniel Eppolito, Nick Page, Corey Kim, Mike Shea, Rich Meyer, Cliff Ackman, Rich Shay, Eric Freeman, Richard Shay and Peggy Pfeifer) had to play to see who would be paired against an undefeated player. George Young also qualified at 3-1, but withdrew.
The Final Four included Nick Page and three former champs (Reiff, Browne and Mullet). San Juan was my team game and Bruce Reiff was my teammate.  But unlike most teams, we root against each other in our team games.  We don't want to concede bragging rights to a teammate, after all.  Bruce got his wish and Nick played well and advanced to the Final.  I had to take solace in the fact that Bruce would also be an onlooker rather than a Finalist.
In the Final, Nick ended with his starting Indigo and a  Silver Mine, Poor House, Statue, Tobacco, Hero, Triumphal Arch, Market Stand, City Hall, Victory Column and another Indigo, in that order. Nick had 36 points.
Tom Had his starting Indigo and a Library, Market Hall, Carpenter, Chapel, Silver Mine, Archive, Tower, Palace, Hero, Triumphal Arch and Statue.  Tom got 42 points and the victory. And so Tom became the first defending champion to repeat.  Tom has had a very impressive run the last two years and we call upon the masses to help us put a stop to it next year.


GM Jeff Mullet falls to Nick Page in the semi-finals,
thus ending Cabbie hopes for another year.

GM Mullet oversees his finalists
in the second consecutive non-Cabbie Final.
 GM      Jeff Mullet  [3rd Year]   NA   NA

2009 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page