queen's gambit  

Updated 11/30/2009

2009 WBC Report  

 2010 Status: pending 2010 GM commitment

Brian Sutton, MD

2009 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
2002    Buddy Sinigaglio     61
2003    Larry Lingle     59
2004    Brian Sutton     43
2005    Karl Henning     51
2006    Larry Lingle     48
2007    William Sparks     54
2008     Nick Page     55
2008     Brian Sutton     41



Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Larry Lingle       PA    08     79
  2.  Brian Sutton       MD    09     78
  3.  Karl Henning       CT    09     57
  4.  Alex Bell          MD    09     39
  5.  Buddy Sinigaglio   CO    03     34
  6.  Nick Page          on    08     30
  7.  William Sparks     MD    07     30
  8.  Phil Rennert       MD    06     27
  9.  Sean McCulloch     OH    07     25
 10.  Bill Morse         VA    07     24
 11.  Andrew Wilson      NJ    09     18
 12.  Rick Sciacca       FL    08     18
 13.  Lee Fitzjerrels    mc    04     18
 14.  Craig Moffitt      NJ    03     17
 15.  Greg Zegalia       PA    09     15
 16.  Tony Musella       NJ    09     12
 17.  Rob Flowers        MD    07     12
 18.  Seth Kirchner      KY    04     12
 19.  Evan Cagwin        PA    07      9
 20.  David Gubbay       TX    05      9
 21.  Chelsea Sinigaglio NJ    04      9
 22.  John Pack          CO    03      8
 23.  John Schoose       IL    08      6
 24.  Bob Heinzmann      FL    02      4
 25.  Ted Lange          ae    05      3
 26.  Dan Dolan Jr       NJ    02      3
 27.  Ken Whitesell      PA    02      2

2009 Laurelists                                              Repeating Laurelists:

Andrew Wilson, NJ

Tony Musella, VA

Alex Bell, MD

Karl Henning, CT

Greg Zegalia, PA

Past Winners

Buddy Sinigaglio, CO

Larry Lingle, PA
2003, 2006

Brian Sutton, MD
2004, 2009

Karl Henning, CT

William Sparks, MD

Nick Page, on

So why is everybody standing? This game must be pretty exciting. Keith Corbino and Brian Sutton seem to think so.

Bill Morse and David Platnik take turns doing their Jar Jar Binks imitations between dice rolls to qualify for the 16-player play-off.

Still brought to you by BPAclassics.org ...

In the eighth year of Queen's Gambit play, the field dropped to its lowest level ever, but remained viable despite the game being long out of print. As usual, players who can't handle the time-pressure of Doncon fell by the wayside as they crapped out with the Naboo and whimpered about the unfair nature of the format and how "it sucks to be the Naboo!" This year's overall outcome was again close to 50-50. In the preliminary heats the Naboo won 22 to Darth Maul's 19. There is no time limit in the prelims and this slants things towards the Naboo. In the time-limited playoffs, the Trade Federation wins if it is still standing after two hours - this reflects the time-limited aspect of the battle in the theatre. In 2009, the Trade Federation won nine of the 15 playoff games, so the final tally was Naboo 28, Darth Maul 28. Thanks to Bill "Battle Droid" Morse for his Assistant GM duties and clerical support.
16 players advanced to the playoffs, including past champs Brian Sutton, Karl Henning, William Sparks and the only two-time champ, Larry Lingle. Two previous champs, Buddy Sinigaglio and Nick Page, did not get past the preliminaries.  
An interesting development in both the preliminary and single elimination rounds occurred this year: game shortages were not experienced as they have in the past. This can be attributed both to the reduced field and the selfless acts of three guardian angels. "Jabba the Hutt" Gubbay, Brian "Bossk" Sutton and Buddy "Boba Fett" Sinigaglio each brought multiple copies of the game and deserve honorable mention for the Sportsmanship Award. However, there was no nomination for sportsmanship this year, because a player must do a great deal to earn a sportsmanship nomination for Queen's Gambit at Doncon, which has shown to be a very cut-throat game. In fact, there has been only one player ever nominated for the Sportsmanship Award, David "The Hutt" Gubbay.
Those who made it into the playoff rounds, but not to the championship game included Sean "Jar Jar Binks" McCulloch, Greg "Zuckuss" Zegalia, William "Wampa" Sparks, Red Queen Larry Lingle, Carolyn "Lady Lumiya" Strock, David "Tion Medon" Meyaard, Alex "Jedi Padawan" Bell, Daniel "Djas Puhr" Long, Karl "Sith Witch" Henning, Rob "Purple Queen" Flowers, Aaron "Mustafarian Flea Rider" Fuegi, Gino "Vornskr" Sinigaglio, Andrew "Krayt Dragon" Sinigaglio and Tony "Tamteel Skreej" Musella.
In order to reach the Championship game, Brian "Bossk" Sutton eliminated veterans Tony Musella and Rob Flowers as well as past champion "Sith Witch" Henning. On his way to the Championship game, Andrew "Wat Tambor" Wilson had to defeat Zuckuss Zegalia, Padawan Bell and past champion "Wampa" Sparks.   In the championship game, Sutton bested Wilson in a hard fought contest that could have gone either way. Congratulations to Brian "Bossk" Sutton for joining Queen Lingle as the only two-time champs of Queen's Gambit.

This gives "stacking" a whole new meaning.
Hex wargames will never be the same.

Why didn't they have games like this when I was a kid?
Oh wait, I am. Lucky stiff!
 GM      Buddy Sinigaglio  [5th Year]   NA 
    sinigaglio@hotmail.com   NA

2009 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page