Updated 11/30/2009

2009 WBC Report   

  2010 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Bruno Passacantando, CT

2009 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1993    Kurt Litscher      16
1994    Mark Potter      16
1995    Mark Potter      16
1996    Harry Flawd      19
1997    Harry Flawd      15
1998    John Ellmann      16
1999    Harry Flawd     20
2000    Harry Flawd     30
2001    Devin Flawd     20
2002     Bill O'Neal     28
2003     Harry Flawd      42
2004     Harry Flawd      38
2005     Devin Flawd      38
2006      Devin Flawd      41
2007      Devin Flawd      38
2008     Devin Flawd      40
2009     Bruno Passacantando      49

Rank  Name               From  Last  Total
  1.  Devin Flawd         PA    09    200
  2.  Harry Flawd         PA    09    150
  3.  Bill O'Neal         NY    02     40
  4.  Mike Destro         NJ    07     36
  5.  Bruno Passacantando CT    09     32
  6.  Derek Landel        NJ    06     28
  7.  Barry Shoults       MI    08     24
  8.  John Ellmann        MD    01     22
  9.  Jordan Flawd        PA    08     21
 10.  David Tianen        WI    09     18
 11.  Dave Buchbinder     PA    03     18
 12.  Ray Stakenas II     MI    03     18
 13.  Dan Dolan Jr        NJ    05     15
 14.  Bill Place          PA    05     13
 15.  Jacob Hebner        CO    08     12
 16.  Chad Gormly         MA    07     12
 17.  Dale Long           NJ    09      9
 18.  Paul O'Neil         MD    06      9
 19.  Jason Levine        NY    03      9
 20.  Ron Pisarz          VA    09      6
 21.  John Shaheen        MA    07      6
 22.  Andy Lewis          DE    06      6
 23.  Pete Putnam         PA    04      6
 24.  Greg Berry          VA    01      6
 25.  Michael Cook        VA    01      4
 26.  Mark Love           MD    08      3
 27.  Jeff Finkeldey      OH    04      3
 28.  Dennis Nicholson    NY    03      3
 29.  Bruce Reiff         OH    00      2

2009 Laurelists                                            Repeating Laurelists:

David Tianen, WI

Devin Flawd, PA

Dale Long, NJ

Ron Pisarz, VA

Harry Flawd, PA

Past Winners

Mark Potter, PA

Harry Flawd, PA
'96-97, '99-00, '03-04

John Ellmann, MD

Devin Flawd, PA
2001, 2005-08

Bill O'Neal, NY

 Its SRO in Cornwall during the opening heat of Paydirt with some games spilling over into the neighboring Terrace demonstration tables.

Sports games, once thought on the outs at WBC, have enjoyed record attendance of late with both Paydirt and Superstar Baseball drawing their biggest fields ever.



So who knew Mark Love was a Redskins fan? Surely not Bruce Wigdor.

 A pair of first-time returnees from the Camp Hill days of Avaloncon meet as Keywood Cheves and Roger Cox call plays.

Beating the Spread & the Flawds ...

The tournament got underway Wednesday afternoon with a record number of 42 coaches trying to stop Devin Flawd from winning his fifth straight title. It would be a quick exit for the champ in the AFC Heat, as Doug Porterfield led his Browns to a convincing 57-28 win over Devin's Colts. Devin's brother Jordan also bowed out in the first round, losing to Paul Bean's Houston Texans. Dad held serve though, topping Terry Coleman and his Dolphins with Harry's Titans, 26-10. Other notable winners were Andy Lewis, without his favorite Steelers, who guided the Chiefs to a 55-6 win, Derek Landel who held on for a 41-38 win, Mark Yoshikawa and his Raiders, yes the Raiders actually won, chart designer Ron Pisarz, newcomer David Tianen, youngster Jacob Hebner who is now a proven veteran and his beloved Broncos, and Dale Long Sr., recruited by his son to play in the tourney. The second round was a very manageable ten games, with advancers being Ron, John Welage, Chad Gormley and his Steelers, both Buffalo teams, Jacob, John Shaheen, Harry, Joe Yaure, and Derek. Down to the few remaining teams, John Shaheen guided his Jets over the Bills 38-33, Ron was proving it was an advantage to design the charts with a hard fought 34-29 win over John Welage and his Jaguars, Jacob topped Chad 18-17, David Tianen and his Bills defeated Derek's Colts 29-24, Dale Long topped the Bengals 24-18. The final four had two Buffalo teams (Dale Long Sr. and David Tianen, Ron Pisarz, and Harry Flawd) still standing. Dale Long soundly beat Harry's Titans 40-20, while Ron's Chargers were topped by the other Buffalo team, setting up the AFC title game between two Bills teams. In a hard fought defensive struggle, David beat Dale 12-7 to advance to the Super Bowl.

The NFC round was Friday afternoon, with 28 coaches competing to set a new record for players. Bruno P bid quick and hard to grab his Giants and try to guide them to the promised land. He started off very strong with a win over Detroit in the first game 56-36. The Flawd clan all won, along with John Welage, Joe Youre, Bruce Reiff (what was he doing rolling dice in a football game???), Jacob, Ron P, Doug Porterfield, Jeremy Billones, Barry Shoults, Dan Long, and Rob Kichner. Devin kept everyone nervous with a 28-24 win with his Bears, to keep the dream alive, while Jordan became Bruno's second victim, losing 20-13 with his Vikings. Harry and Dan Long played one of the greatest games seen in a long time, a 28-24 win for Harry's Saints over Dan's Arizona Cardinals, with five lead changes and great plays on both sides of the ball. Doug Porterfield and his Saints beat Ron's Packers 21-20, Jacob won again, 36-17, Barry won 44-20, and Bruce was quietly proving he belongs in the "other" football tourney with a 38-28 win with his Eagles. Barry took out Doug 44-22, while Harry became Bruno's latest target, and Bruno came out on top 34-31. In another amazing "Bruce moment", Bruce sat on Jacob's 3 yard line on the last play of the game, and using his "mind meld" powers, called the correct play for the defense Jacob was in and scored a TD for the win. Devin then matched up with Bruce in the one game, with Devin ending Bruce's run 24-14 and Bruno taking out yet another, Barry's Buccaneers, 34-13. The NFC title game matched up Devin and his five titles against Bruno. Could Bruno take all three Flawds out of the tourney? Devin trailed 10-9 after the first quarter, but regained the lead at 16-10 at the half. Bruno took back the lead 17-16 after three quarters, and tacked on another TD for a 27-19 win and his first berth in the Super Bowl, and also ended Devin's quest for a fifth straight title. Mrs. Flawd did not take the news well, that this Bruno character had defeated all three of her lads, so we caution Bruno against answering the door if she shows up in Connecticut to let her feelings be known!

The Super Bowl was, after many games and rolls of the dice, a formality for Bruno, as he dispatched David's Bills even with his +14 point spread, 42-17. A very dominating game, with the Giants running at will, tossing in an occasional pass, but putting forth a dominating effort. Congratulations to Bruno on his title. It's back to the drawing board for the Flawd household which will be putting in many more hours this offseason!

Chad Gormly and Jacob Hebner wear their respective colors as the Steelers play the Broncos. The updated team charts for the out-of-print game are a big draw.

Bruno Passacantando and his Giants end a six-year Flawd dynasty on his way to becoming only the fourth non-Flawd to win this event in 17 years.
 GM      Harry Flawd  [15th Year]   NA   717-569-7103

2009 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page