Updated 11/30/2009

2009 WBC Report  

  2010 Status: pending 2010 GM commitment

Alex Bove, PA

2009 Champion


AREA Boardgamegeek
Consimworld Consimworld

Event History
2004    Perrianne Lurie     63
2005     Kevin Walsh     61
2006    Chris Trimmer     48
2007     Alex Bove     40
2008    Chris Moffa     30
2009    Alex Bove     38

Euro Quest Event History
2004    Arthur Field     30
2005     Christian Moffa     22
2006    Alex Bove     27
2007     Alex Bove     19
2008    Raphael Lehrer     16

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Alex Bove          PA    09    117
  2.  Chris Moffa        NJ    09     84
  3.  Arthur Field       SC    06     84
  4.  Raphael Lehrer     MD    08     79
  5.  John Kerr          VA    06     48
  6.  Rod Spade          PA    08     46
  7.  Kevin Walsh        NY    07     45
  8.  Chris Trimmer      TX    09     38
  9.  Perrianne Lurie    PA    04     30
 10.  Jeff Mullet        OH    08     21
 11.  Bruce Reiff        OH    08     18
 12.  Chris Johnson      CA    05     16
 13.  Mike Kaltman       PA    07     15
 14.  Tom Browne         PA    05     15
 15.  Jim McDanald       TN    07     12
 16.  Jason Levine       NY    06     12
 17.  Andrew Gerb        MD    05     12
 18.  Daniel Eppolito    CA    05     12
 19.  Lee Sensabaugh     VA    04     12
 20.  Rob Kircher        RI    08     10
 21.  Peter Staab        PA    05      9
 22.  Mario Lanza        PA    04      9
 23.  David Norman       uk    05      8
 24.  Aran Warszawski    is    09      6
 25.  Sean McCulloch     OH    08      6
 26.  Sam Atabaki        CA    07      6
 27.  Charlie Kersten    OH    06      6
 28.  Brian Reynolds     MD    04      6
 29.  Jeff Meyer         MA    09      4
 30.  Rob Flowers        MD    05      4
 31.  Matt Calkins       VA    08      3
 32.  Michael Fox        IL    06      3
 33.  Andrew Greene      VA    04      3
 34.  Phil Rennert       MD    04      3
 35.  Steve Shambeda     PA    09      2
 36.  Kenneth Horan      PA    08      2

2009 Laurelists                                          Repeating Laurelists 

Chris Moffa, NJ

Chris Trimmer, TX

Aran Warszawski, Israel

Jeff Meyer, MA

Steve Shambeda, PA

Past Winners

Perrrianne Lurie, PA

Kevin Walsh, NY

Chris Trimmer, TX

Alex Bove, PA
2007, 2009

Chris Moffa, NJ

Consul Andy Latto, Andrew Gerb and Caesar Raphael Lehrer provide stiff competition in this heat foursome.

Fnalists Bove, Moffa, Trimmer and Warszawski celebrate their soon-to-be-won laurels.

If at First (or Second, or Third) You Don't Succeed

38 players sent expeditions to Goa this year (a 21% increase over 2008's attendance), giving us 14 tables in two heats and 18 total tables (three semi-finals and one Final).  We also had many close games, with more than half of all games decided by two points or less (including two ties).  Among winners, the highest score was 54 (by both Rod Spade and Aran Warszawski), and the lowest was 43 (Michael Isgur and Alex Bove, whose game lasted only seven rounds due to time pressure). 

In terms of winning strategies, a few interesting trends are worth noting.  While the tendency over the past few years has been for winners to advance their spice and expedition card tracks to the bottom, this year only five winners accomplished that task.  Cards were still very important, though, as 12 of 18 winners advanced that track all the way.  Having the flag at the beginning of the game (seven of 18 wins) and having most money at the end (11 of 18) also seemed to be the key to many victories, though the eventual champion had neither in the Final.

The heats produced but one two-game winner (Mike Kaltman), but he had to miss the semi-final to play Vegas Showdown.  Rich Meyer's absence, also due to a Final conflict, allowed first alternate Chris Trimmer to make the semi-finals.  Chris, a former Goa champion, had been the only player to finish the heats with two seconds. Chris quickly proved that he belonged in the elimination rounds, besting his semi-final opponents handily (48-42-41-33).  The other two semis were much closer, with Chris Moffa beating Jeff Meyer 49-48 and Aran Warszawski scoring over 50 for the third straight game to edge Alex Bove 52-51.  Alex's higher second advanced him, leaving Jeff (an unlucky second in two one-point games) in fifth place.  Steve Shamboda's second place finish (one point ahead of Rod Spade) in the first semi-final earned sixth place laurels.

The Final featured three former champions and a high-scoring, formidable contender.  In the early game, Chris Moffa advanced evenly while Chris Trimmer used his first turn plantations (double-ginger and double-cinnamon) to push quickly down the ship-building track.  Aran went for early cards but did not draw very well, at one point having to discard two cards before drawing two others.  Alex failed twice on colonies in the first round and fell behind.

Moffa used his two Phase B tiles (Espionage and Vice King) to advance the ship-building track to the bottom and three other tracks to level 4.  Trimmer's decision to buy two tiles in the first auction and pay to advance his colonist track in Round 2 caused him to have to use actions for money (he was the only player to take a tax action) and may have cost time he needed to catch up to the leaders by game's end.  Aran's bad card draws and lack of extra actions (he only bought the flag once) also cost him dearly.  Alex's purchase of six extra actions (three from the flag) helped him overcome a third failure at colonization to edge Moffa by two points, 51-49.  On the strength of six VP from two tiles (Duty and Mission), Trimmer finished third with 44 points.  Aran's unlucky draws continued to the end, with five expedition cards scoring only eight VP to give him a total of 39.

Alex thus becomes the first two-time Goa winner in the six-years of WBC vompetition.

Note: The move from three-hour to two-hour heats created a bit of controversy.  The shorter heats probably helped us draw more players, but the two-hour block also caused one game to end in Round 7 due to slowness.  I think we will have to go back to three-hour heats next year.  At the tournament level, Goa doesn't seem to be a two-hour game.

 GM      Alex Bove [1st Year]   NA
   gamermontu@gmail.com   NA

2009 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page