can't stop  

Updated 12/2/2009

2009 WBC Report  

 2010 Status: pending 2010 GM commitment

Danny Lewis, DE

2009 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
2006    David Burkey     104
2007     Rob Winslow     116
2008    Anne Norton     148
2009    Danny Lewis     184

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Danny Lewis        DE    09     30
  2.  Anne Norton        NJ    08     30
  3.  Rob Winslow        NY    07     20
  4.  David Burkey       PA    06     20
  5.  Brian Hanechak     MA    09     18
  6.  Ted Drozd          IL    08     18
  7.  Anna Marion        PA    09     12
  8.  Cheryl Burkey      PA    08     12
  9.  Nick Page          on    07     12
 10.  Jay Fox            NJ    06     12
 11.  Evan Cagwin        PA    09      9
 12.  Ben Gardner        VA    08      9
 13.  Jordan Flawd       PA    07      8
 14.  Legend Dan Hoffman MD    06      8
 15.  Larry Lingle       PA    09      6
 16.  Paul Bean          MA    08      6
 17.  Lance Fogel        PA    07      6
 18.  Steve Cameron      PA    06      6
 19.  Patrick Shea       VA    07      4
 20.  Matthew Amitrano   VA    06      4
 21.  Chris Greenfield   NY    09      3
 22.  David Bohnenberger PA    08      3
 23.  Nate Hoam          OH    07      2
 24.  David Fritsch      VA    06      2

2009 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Brian Hanechak, MA

Anna Marion, PA

Evan Cagwin, PA

Larry Lingle, PA

Chris Greenfield, NY

Past Champions

David Burkey, PA

Rob Winslow, NY

Anne Norton, NJ

Danny Lewis, DE

The number of people who Can't Stop is growing each year. The event is now firmly entrenched as a late night staple at WBC.

Andy and Danny Lewis go at it in Round 1 much to dad's dismay. Apparently, Andy wasn't alone in falling victim to youth's impulses.

Midnight Madness

Every night at WBC has a late night slot at 11 PM filled with quick, light fare that draws big crowds and Wednesday now appears to belong to Can't Stop which posted its third attendance increase in a row - each year's increase greater than the one before. We kept the same loose organization, where players sat "Slapshot style" -- which means everyone can sit with their friends or join any group fewer than four players in the first round. 

This year an amazing 184 people competed in the Can't Stop nightcap. Participants played four fast-paced, raucously loud rounds before the field was narrowed down to the four finalists. The survivors were Evan Cagwin, Brian Hanechak, Danny Lewis, and Anna Marion. It took three rounds of play before each player held a position on the board. These players truly took the definition of Can't Stop to a new level -- they busted (gained no movement on their current position) 66% of the time to the delight of a small crowd of onlookers. This bust rate was overtly encouraged by a shouting crowd of 25 people urging the continual pressing of their luck. Despite their cheers and questionable advice, Anna was the first one to close out a column (number 8).  Following a complete round of busts, Evan finally joined her in closing out a column (number 4). This was followed by more busts, until Brian joined the scorers by closing out the number 7 column. There were several more busts until Danny made a run for the win. Wth no columns closed out at the start of his turn, he was able to gain enough momentum to close out the five, six, and nine columns in a single turn. From rags to riches, young Lewis again showed his dad how easy it is to win wood.

Once again thanks to all of the assistant GM's ... your help is very much appreciated, it always makes the event run smoother. Also, another special shout out to all of you who brought copies of the game!

There appear to be many published version of Can't Stop around beside the more popular plastic set.

Rob Winslow and Scott Pfeiffer seem to have discovered one of the more esoteric versions.
 GM      Beth Zhao (2nd Year)  NA   571-217-6044 

2009 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page