Updated 11/14/2009

2009 WBC Report  

 2010 Status: pending 2010 GM commitment

Steve Cuccaro, MD

2009 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1993    Bruce Reiff        8
1994    Ken Gutermuth      32
1995    Bruce Reiff      28
1996    Bruce Monnin      32
1997    Ken Gutermuth      16
1998    Cliff Ackman      28
1999    George Sauer     26
2000    Kevin Wojtaszczyk     39
2001    Arthur Field     34
2002    Bruce Reiff     40
2003    David Brooks     44
2004    Ray Stakenas II     42
2005     James Tyne     36
2006    Bruce Reiff     30
2007     Jon Lockwood     33
2008     Mike Stanley     34
2009    Steve Cuccaro     32

 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Bruce Reiff        OH    07     70
   2.  Arthur Field       SC    09     50
   3.  George Sauer       OH    06     34
   4.  Steve Cuccaro      MD    09     32
   5.  Jeff Mullet        OH    08     30
   6.  Jon Lockwood       VA    07     22
   7.  Mike Stanley       OH    08     20
   8.  James Tyne         OH    05     20
   9.  Ray Stakenas II    MI    04     20
  10.  Andy Gardner       VA    04     20
  11.  David Brooks       TN    03     20
  12.  Kevin Wojtaszczyk  NY    02     20
  13.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    09     18
  14.  John Schoose       IL    08     16
  15.  Andy Joy           MD    07     16
  16.  Luke Koleszar      VA    99     14
  17.  Nate Hoam          OH    06     12
  18.  Doug Galullo       FL    05     12
  19.  Davyd Field        SC    04     12
  20.  Lisa Gutermuth     TX    03     12
  21.  Mary Kratz         ID    00     12
  22.  Tom Browne         PA    07     10
  23.  Marc Houde         VA    09      8
  24.  Debbie Bell        MD    02      8
  25.  Nick Benedict      on    01      8
  26.  Debbie Gutermuth   TX    00      8
  27.  Mike Buccheri      MD    08      6
  28.  Nick Smith         uk    01      6
  29.  Cliff Ackman       PA    00      6
  30.  Jason O'Donnell    OH    99      6
  31.  Carol Haney        CA    09      4
  32.  Robert Buccheri    MD    09      4
  33.  Sean McCulloch     OH    07      4
  34.  Ben Shanks         SC    04      4
  35.  Kate Taillon       SC    06      2
  36.  Tim Kelley         SC    05      2
  37.  Beth Zhao          VA    03      2
  38.  Debbie Otto        MO    99      2

2009 Laurelists                                          Returning Laurelists:

Arthur Field, SC

Marc Houde, VA

Ken Gutermuth, NC

Carol Haney, CA

Robert Buccheri, MD

Past Winners

Bruce Reiff, OH
1993, 1995, 2002, 2006

Ken Gutermuth, TX
1994, 1997

Bruce Monnin, OH

Cliff Ackman, PA

George Sauer, OH

Kevin Wojtaszczyk, NY

Arthur Field, SC

Dave Brooks, TN

Ray Stakenas II, MI

James Tyne, OH

Jon Lockwood, VA

Mike Stanley, OH

Steve Cuccaro, MD


A Greenville- CABs confontation with Sean McCulloch (right) facing Mafia honchos Arthur Field and Scott Pfeiffer. The WBC's very own Big Ten/ACC challenge.

Hmm ... more Mafia - CABS showdowns with Bryan Collars and Ralph Gleaton vs Mike Stanley. Since when is the Mafia into Auction?

Collecting by another name ...

This year could easily be called 'The Invasion of the Mafia' as several members of the Greenville Mafia showed up to challenge the CABS hegemony in this event.

In the mulligan round Auction regulars Jon Lockwood, Kate Taillon, Ken Gutermuth, Lisa Gutermuth and Bruce Reiff all punched their ticket to the semi-finals. The Wojtaszczyk clan, the Field family, and pond hopper Nick Smith were among the folks who would have to try again.

The second-chance Round 1 came and defending champ Mike Stanley ran into a buzzsaw in the form of young Henry Pfieffer of the Greenville Mafia who quickly put an end to his title defense. Our illustrious champ imitated my wife by managing to end the game with less money than he started!! Other winners included Carol Haney, Arthur Field, Jason Levine and Steve Cuccaro.

12 players advanced to the semi-finals knowing that with only three games in the semis, the best runner-up would also make the Final. Arthur Field won his board by a comfortable margin. Ken Gutermuth edged Kremlin guru Steve Cuccaro by selling his last item - Queen Anne - for 100% and just making the $7500 needed to win. However, Steve managed to make enough to slip into the Final by the back door with his close second. Marc Houde, crushed his table including yours truly, by over $4000. And so, began my week ...

The Final was set with two experienced past champions, a relative newcomer in Marc Houde and the sneaky KGB head Steve Cuccaro. Arthur jumped out to an early lead with Prints and Glassware, but he made a fatal mistake when he sold Rare Miscellany trying for the win. Marc Houde had a set of books, but was waiting around for more Queen Anne furniture that never showed. Ken Gutermuth, NOT showing why he is a past champion didn't have any sets, just a little bit of cash. However, our sneaky KGB Chief managed to get himself an additional Buyers card and was able to swoop in and add Arthur's Rare Miscellany to his hand for the win. Arthur finished second and Mark third. And a new member was added to the exclusive club known as Auction champions.

Auction is an overlooked little gem. You can pick it up quickly, but it is still a very strategic game. It's a "B" event so stop by and join the fun next year!!!!!


Little Reiff, Marc Houde, Steve Cuccaro and Kevin Wojtaszcyk
provide a less confrontational foursome.
Egad ... another Reiff plaque collector in the wings.

The finalists. Although CABS claims Gutermuth as a ringer ...
err member, he lives closer to the Mafia and attends more
of their meetings so I gotta give this one to Greenville.
 GM      Bruce Reiff  [3rd Year]  NA
    NA   NA 

2009 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page