attack sub 

Updated 11/14/2009

2009 WBC Report  

  2010 Status: pending 2010 GM commitment

Bill Edwards, VA

2009 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1991    John Fuqua      33
1992    Steve Rugh      26
1993    Bruce Young      34
1994    Dave Kuchta      46
1995    Jack Reid     40
1996    John Emery   40
1997    John Emery      32
1998    Earl Anderson      32
1999     Brian Conlon     36
2000     Bill Edwards      32
2001     John Conlon      34
2002     Buck Karpowitz      24
2003     Steven Caler      24
2004     Daniel Hoffman      34
2005      Bill Edwards      30
2006     Dan Hoffman      20
2007      David Sidelinger      30
2008     Kaarin Engelmann      34
2009     Bill Edwards      28

 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Bill Edwards       VA    09     76
   2.  Daniel Hoffman     NC    08     52
   3.  David Sidelinger   CT    07     40
   4.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    08     35
   5.  John Conlon        OK    02     33
   6.  Rob Schoenen       PA    09     32
   7.  Steve Caler        PA    03     32
   8.  Buck Karpowitz     DC    02     30
   9.  Brian Conlon       OK    05     28
  10.  Greg Courter       MI    02     24
  11.  Jim Fleckenstein   VA    09     22
  12.  Frank Cunliffe     PA    06     20
  13.  Rob Mull           CO    05     19
  14.  Stan Buck          MD    02     18
  15.  Henry Jones        PA    00     18
  16.  Jerry Smolens      PA    01     15
  17.  John Emery         SC    09     14
  18.  Chris Janiec       PA    08     14
  19.  Andrew Cummins     uk    08     12
  20.  Bruce Young        SC    04     12
  21.  Andre Strauss      MD    03     12
  22.  Bob Heinzmann      FL    07     10
  23.  Greg Schmittgens   KS    02      9
  24.  Andy Maly          MD    00      9
  25.  Andrew Fedin       PA    04      8
  26.  Tim Mossman        MD    09      6
  27.  Alex Gesing        NY    08      6
  28.  James Doughan      PA    07      6
  29.  David Buchholz     MI    04      6
  30.  David Gantt        SC    00      6
  31.  Carol Caler        OH    07      4
  32.  Marvin Birnbaum    NY    06      4
  33.  Nathan Trent       VA    05      4
  34.  Jeremy Billones    VA    99      4
  35.  George Young       VT    09      2
  36.  Geoff Allbutt      NY    08      2
  37.  Scott Edwards      SC    04      2
  38.  Keith Hunsinger    OH    03      2
  39.  Jimmy Fleckenstein VA    99      2

2009 Laurelists                                               Returning Laurelists: 0

Rob Schoenen, PA

James Fleckenstein, VA

Tim Mossman, MD

John Emery, SC

George Young, VT

Past Winners

Bruce Young, SC

Dave Kuchta, ME

John Emery, SC

Earl Anderson, SC

Brian Conlon, OK

Bill Edwards, VA
2000, 2005, 2009

John Conlon, OK

Steve Caler, PA

Daniel Hoffman, NC
2004, 2006

David Sidelinger, CT

Kaarin Engelmann, VA

It's a different year but the scene and faces
are the same as Bill Edwards (left) and John Emery tussle again.

The voice of Slapshot schools the youngest sailor in the field
as Kevin Emery takes advantage of his Up Front lineage.

last chance for wood ...

There were seven past champions in attendance trying to recapture past glory. Only three players emerged from the three swiss rounds with unblemished records; John Emery (who showed no favoritism in defeating his son Kevin who also had a 2-0 record at the time), George Young, and James Fleckenstein. Tiebreakers were used to decide which five of the13 players with 2-1 records would join these three in the elimination rounds. The final eight included four past champions: John Emery, Bill Edwards, Bruce Young, and David Sidelinger. Joining them were Tim Mossman (who had just learned the game), George Young, Rob Schoenen, and James Fleckenstein.

Mossman continued his rags to riches run by defeating two-time champion John Emery in the Quarter Final round. Another two-time champ fared better as Bill Edwards handed George Young his first loss. Rob Schoenen defeated 1993 champion Bruce Young. And 3-0 James Fleckenstein remained unbeaten by making 1997 champion David Sidelinger his fourth victim.

In the semi-finals, the rookie's luck ran out as Edwards bested Mossman in an exciting match of Scenario H. Bill successfully commanded the Soviet boomer and its escort sub, against Tim's Los Angeles attack sub. It looked like a quick end for Tim as Bill's escort sub gained a firing solution on the Los Angeles and hit. But the Los Angeles was not sunk, just very badly damaged. Tim fought on, making aggressive active sonar searches trying to get a firing solution on the boomer. Just as he attained good contact, the boomer opened range to reduce contact and avoid attack. Meanwhile, the boomer's escort sub had developed sensor and attack system malfunctions. Tim tried to get Asheville to come to help Los Angeles, but it was too busy chasing whales to respond. Finally, Bill's escort sub finished off the Los Angeles for the win.

The other semi-final also used the Boomer scenario. Unlike Tim, Rob was able to get the Asheville to join the Los Angeles during the first deck and finished off Jim's boomer for the win.

That matched Bill Edwards against Rob Schoenen in the Final. Rob won the draw and chose to defer for choice of side. Bill chose the Boomer scenario and Rob took the NATO forces again. This would be the second match in a row of the same scenario and sides for each, but for one the results would be different. Rob got off the first shot, but missed the boomer. Bill likewise missed his first shot on the Los Angeles, but by just 1! All Los Angeles could do was to play passive sonar. Bill's second attack did sensor and attack damage to the Los Angeles. The Los Angeles' attack system malfunctioned twice in attacks on the boomer. Three successive calls for Asheville to join the fight failed to get a response. The escort sub experienced a sensor malfunction. Damage control parties on the Los Angeles managed to repair her attack system. Meanwhile the boomer also experienced a sensor malfunction. It looked like Rob might be able to turn the tables when he finally got Asheville to join the fight at the start of the second deck, but it was not to be. The boomer managed to escape on its third try in the second deck for the win.

Congratulations to Bill Edwards on becoming the first three-time Attack Sub champion!

 GM      Steven Caler  [1st Year]   NA    NA

2009 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page