Updated 11/26/2008

2008 WBC Report  

 2009 Status: pending December Membership Trial Vote

Henry Russell, PA

2008 Champion

Offsite Links

AREA Boardgamegeek Boardgamegeek Rio Grande Games

Event History
2006    David Gantt     28
2007     Ed Rothenheber     27
2008    Henry Russell     20

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Peter Reese        VA    08     48
  2.  Ed Rothenheber     MD    08     48
  3.  Henry Russell      PA    08     30
  4.  David Gantt        SC    06     30
  5.  Rob Mull           CO    07     12
  6.  Robert Vollman     AB    06     12
  7.  Nick Frydas        UK    08      9
  8.  Rob Olsson         MD    07      9
  9.  Melvin Casselberry PA    07      9
 10.  Robert March       CA    06      9
 11.  Ahmet Ilpars   Turkey    08      6
 12.  Phil Barcafer      PA    07      6
 13.  Jesse Boomer       KS    08      3
 14.  Tom Vickery        NJ    06      3

2008 Laurelists                                             Repeating Laurelists:

Ed Rothenheber, MD

Peter Reese, VA

Nick Frydas, UK

Ahmet Ilpars, Turkey

Jesse Boomer, KS

Past Winners

David Gantt, SC

Ed Rothenheber, MD

Henry Russell, PA


Stu Hendrickson, Henry Russell, and Rich Beyma

Marty Sample, Francis Czawlytko, Jesse Boomer and Matt Russell

Where's Nappy? ...

The ten games played in the two heats, semi and final split right down the line with five French and five Allied victories. Of those, the French South won two, French North three, Britain three and Spain two.

Two of those games were particularly close, one coming down to a half-point difference between the two sides in a game that went the distance all the way to the end of 1814. There were three runaway victories, including a rare liberation of Spain and an even more rare conquest of Portugal -- orchestrated by Ed Rothenburg setting it up for his ally Henry Russell to complete and claim the victory, which they gained in a conquest completed in the middle of the first turn, earning that contest the prize for shortest Wellington game of any convention.


Henry Russell, Pat Duffy, Francis Czawlytko, and Jesse Boomer partition Spain.

The Final protagonists. Pete Reese has made the Final all three years and has yet to win.
 GM      Mark McLaughlin (3rd Year)  NA  
    mgmprsm@yahoo.com   NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page