Updated 11/30/2008

2008 WBC Report    

 2009 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Ken Gutermuth, NC

2008 Champion

Offsite Links

  RISK Championships

Event History
1993    Andy Lewis        24
1994    Luke Kratz        39
1995    Peter Staab        74
1996    Leonard Omolecki        75
1997    Dan Metzger      106
1998    Dennis Nicholson      116
1999    Derek Landel     131
2000    Leonard Omolecki     133
2001    Kaarin Engelmann     108
2002    Richard Curtin     140
2003    Mark Guttag     141
2004    Devin Flawd     122
2005    Greg Berry     137
2006    Jeff Cornett     156
2007     Ted Simmons     180
2008    Ken Gutermuth     171

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    08     66
  2.  Derek Landel       NJ    08     41
  3.  Ted Simmons        NJ    07     40
  4.  Greg Berry         VA    06     39
  5.  Ken Gutermuth      NC    08     30
  6.  Jeff Cornett       FL    06     30
  7.  Doug Galullo       FL    06     30
  8.  Devin Flawd        PA    04     30
  9.  Mark Guttag        VA    03     30
 10.  Richard Curtin     NY    02     30
 11.  Leonard Omolecki   PA    00     30
 12.  Jerry Cantrill     VA    07     24
 13.  Jerome Billones    VA    05     18
 14.  Rebecca Hebner     CO    04     18
 15.  Mike Stachowski    NY    02     18
 16.  Gordon Elgart      CA    01     18
 17.  Ken Keller         AZ    00     18
 18.  John Poniske Jr    PA    00     17
 19.  Joe Yaure          PA    07     16
 20.  John Emery         SC    01     16
 21.  Sam Edelston       CT    08     12
 22.  Derik Galullo      FL    07     12
 23.  Legend Dan Hoffman MD    06     12
 24.  Steve Scott        CA    05     12
 25.  Tim Dolan          NJ    02     12
 26.  Andy Lewis         DE    00     12
 27.  Ben Goldstein      SC    99     12
 28.  Harald Henning     CT    05      9
 29.  Branden Bernard    PA    04      9
 30.  Ray Stakenas II    MI    03      9
 31.  Jason Levine       NY    02      9
 32.  Paul Saunders      VA    01      9
 33.  Tony Musella       VA    07      8
 34.  Brooks Beyma       MD    08      6
 35.  Adam Nolan         VA    06      6
 36.  Brian Mountford    CA    05      6
 37.  Mark Mitchell      GA    04      6
 38.  Josh Githens       SC    03      6
 39.  Dan Lawall         VA    02      6
 40.  John Ellsworth     IL    01      6
 41.  Harry Flawd        PA    00      6
 42.  Luke Koleszar      VA    99      6
 43.  Brittany Bernard   PA    07      4
 44.  Sam Brosius        CT    08      3
 45.  Andy Gardner       VA    06      3
 46.  Dan Dolan Jr       NJ    05      3
 47.  John Kerr          VA    04      3

2008 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Kaarin Engelmann, FL

Sam Edelston, CT

Derek Landel, NJ

Brooks Beyma, MD

Sam Brosius, MA

Past Winners

Andy Lewis, DE

Luke Kratz, ID

Peter Staab, PA

Leonard Omolecki, PA
1996, 2000

Dan Metzger, PA

Dennis Nicholson, NY

Derek Landel, NJ

Kaarin Engelmann, VA

Rich Curtin, NY

Mark Guttag, VA

Devin Flawd, PA

Greg Berry, VA

Jeff Cornett, FL

Ted Simmons, NJ

Ken Gutermuth, NC

Memo to the Board ... double the chair budget next year.

Everybody's got to horn in on the act.


 The Maly/Paull Hair Salon is here.

 Now there's two real Slapshot players!

Talk About Rigged Outcomes ...

What kind of GM is so undedicated, so unworthy and so whipped that he'd rather go to a wedding than attend his event and write this report? Your Slapshot GM Sean McCulloch, that who's!!!!! He left the WBC on Friday this year!!!!! Sad huh? He went to his brother's wedding in New York on Saturday!

In Sean's defense -- he did try to get them to change it, he did whine about it all year, and he did wait until the last possible moment to leave. He also served penance in the Junior's room, so we'll cut him some slack and welcome him back next year. I, in abstentia, award Sean the highest honor of the WBC Slapshot Tournament -- The Stuart K. Tucker Memorial I Got 'Pucked' Award! Congratulations Sean!

Two interesting things happened at the Jeff Paull/Andy Maly table. The first one was Mike Gentile played 25 straight games and only won one -- but STILL made the playoffs. He was given the pucked award, and deservedly so, from this table. The other thing was that Catherine and Nathan Paull -- Jeff's kids -- were jointly awarded the traveling Hansen Brothers trophy for their great outfits and spirit at this year's event. They need to remember to bring it back next year.

In other news many, many people were sent to the penalty box including my own daughter Nicole who whined while playing at Don Greenwood's table (hey, it's all about who you know at Slapshot). Thanks to Mark Yoshikawa as always for being the referee -- in costume!!!!

We had three semi-final boards this year. In semi-final #1 Brooks Beyma and Sam Brosious advanced over David Meyaard, Jordan Shea, John Ellesworth, Jacob Hebner and Joe Yaure.

In semi #2 Derek Landel and Kaarin Engleman advanced over Tom Gregorio, the 'Voice of Slapshot' Keith Huinsinger, the sultan of swat Andy Latto, and Geoffrey Entwistle.

In semi #3 Ken Gutermuth and Sam Edelston advanced over Louise Strickland, Craig Yope, Bert Calentime, two-time chanp Leonard Omaleck Jr (who says there isn't strategy in this game?) and Tom Paruda.

The Final came down to the two biggest muckety mucks of the BPA (besides Don of course) Ken Gutermuth and Kaarin Engleman. I was rooting for a tie. But Ken squeaked out the victory and the wood! Ken and Kaarin traded a combined 13 times and only drafted twice. Derek and Brooks (4th and 5th) drafted a combined 14 times and only traded three times. You draw your own conclusions.

At least some people know how to dress for Slapshot.

That's ok Dave - we'll settle for you keeping your shirt on this year.


It's amazing what you discover when you have 2,000 photos to edit. You might ask, why is the Voice of Slaphsot choking Kaarin? But when I saw this, I said you mean Andy Latto made the semis in Slapshot  too? Did he lose any games that week?

The rarest photo in the WBC Archives ... no, not Stein winning wood ... a Slapshot final. Usually the photographer is hoisting Z's by this time. Could it be because the Chairman of the Board made it to the big game?

GM Mark Yoshikawa drops the puck and runs for cover.

But my guy is better than his guy.
 Slapshot Junior

15 little hockey players vied for ice glory this year. Jordan Shea came out victorious followed in order by Jack Doughan, Sophia Harrison and Wes Lewis.

 GM     Sean McCulloch [4th year]  NA  NA 

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page