lost cities  

Updated 11/30/2008

2008 WBC Report  

  2009 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Andy Latto, MA

2008 Champion

Offsite Links

  EuroQuest Rio Grande Games

Event History
2000    Daniel Broh-Kahn       48
2001    Jared Scarborough       84
2002    Daniel Karp       66
2003    Charles Blahouse       60
2004    Rebecca Hebner       60
2005    Chris Entwistle     130
2006    Sean McCulloch     125
2007     Jarett Weintraub     171
2008    Andy Latto     185

Euro Quest Event History
2003    Jeff Mullet     21

Rank  Name               From  Last  Total
  1.  Andy Latto          MA    08     58
  2.  Jared Scarborough   IL    04     48
  3.  Sean McCulloch      OH    06     34
  4.  Daniel Karp         MD    03     32
  5.  Jarett Weintraub    NY    07     30
  6.  Chris Entwistle     MD    05     30
  7.  Daniel Broh-Kahn    MD    00     30
  8.  Laurel Stokes       NJ    04     26
  9.  Cally Perry         MA    08     24
 10.  David Meyaard       CT    08     24
 11.  Rebecca Hebner      CO    04     20
 12.  Charles Blahouse    VA    03     20
 13.  Jeff Mullet         OH    03     20
 14.  Eric Brosius        MA    07     18
 15.  Wayne Schmittberger PA    06     18
 16.  Bert Schoose        IL    05     18
 17.  Jeff Bakulchuk      NY    02     18
 18.  Lexi Shea           CT    08     16
 19.  Rob Kilroy          PA    02     13
 20.  Rick Dutton         MD    05     12
 21.  Nate Hoam           OH    04     12
 22.  Doug Galullo        FL    03     12
 23.  Laurie Wojtaszczyk  NY    03     12
 24.  Richard Sciacca     FL    02     12
 25.  Larry Kratz         ID    00     12
 26.  John Conlon         OK    07      9
 27.  Paul Weintraub      MD    06      9
 28.  Brian Addison       VA    05      9
 29.  Gordon Aickin       UK    00      9
 30.  Sue Ellsworth       IL    08      8
 31.  Carol Caler         PA    03      8
 32.  Joshua Cooper       MD    03      8
 33.  Joshua Garton       VA    01      8
 34.  Sam Brosius         MA    07      6
 35.  Ivan Lawson         MD    06      6
 36.  Jeff Gardner        MD    03      6
 37.  Debbie Gutermuth    TX    03      6
 38.  Jordan Ludwick      NJ    01      6
 39.  Fearghal Donnau  Ireland  00      6
 40.  Malinda Kyrkos      NY    08      4
 41.  Kathy Stroh         PA    03      4
 42.  Winton LeMoine      CA    07      3
 43.  Claire Brosius      CT    06      3
 44.  Jeff Power          MI    05      3
 45.  Rob Flowers         MD    02      3
 46.  Anthony Rubbo       PA    00      3
 47.  Peter Reese         VA    04      2
 48.  Paul Gaberson       PA    03      2
 49.  Eric Hymowitz       MD    01      2

2008 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists 

Cally Perry, MA

Lexi Shea, CT

David Meyaard, CT

Sue Ellsworth, IL

Malinda Kyrkos, NY

Past Winners

Daniel Broh-Kahn, MD

Jared Scarborough, IL

Daniel Karp, MD

Charles Blahouse, VA

Rebecca Hebner, CO

Chris Entwistle, MD

Sean McCulloch, OH

Jarett Weintraub, NY

Andy Latto, MA

Such is the popularity of Lost Cities, that some heats were forced to improvise to find sufficient tables, games or even floor space to participate.

Since Ivan Lawson took the GM reins, Lost Cities has become the largest two-player event at WBC. What's more amazing is that he actually finds time to play himself!


 The ladies acquitted themselves well in Lost Cities. Not only did 50 of them play, they were four of the six laurelists.

 Hey, they let Laurie out to play games! The Junior's Room Monitor did yeoman's work all week with the younger set.

Rounding the Bases ...

"And the number of the counted shall be 185 - it shall not be 186, neither shall it be 184, but 185 shall be the counting." WHEW!!!  In 2008, as in years before, they came to Paradise in search of something Lost, some in groups, some in waves, and some alone, some bearing gifts and some empty-handed, but, in the end, they were all paired and prepared for competition ... 53 pairs in the first heat, 60 in the second, 25 in the third and 37 in the last heat. In all, 104 explorers tested fate in more than one heat. With three expeditions scoring bonuses, Sam Atabaki posted the highest overall score of 344.

Good feeling for this GM to see so many families continue to play in this tournament, usually registering together and some bringing friends. You may recall one family - Claire, Eric, and Sam Brosius, all making the SE rounds last year, only to fall one by one to the eventual champion, Jarett Weintraub. In fact, Jarett also defeated one of their friends, Andy Latto (archive that name), in the championship round.

There was only one game tied at the end of regulation this year, but it was a remarkable struggle. Wayne Schmittberger and Laurel Stokes managed to engage in their own extended duel as they recorded tie scores at the end of the first and third hands, requiring a fourth hand, in which they tied again! In their fifth hand, Wayne prevailed with a score that belied the closeness of the contest, as he was able to score a decisive expedition with three handshakes and a bonus.

32 advanced to the single elimination rounds with 17 compiling three or more wins. Cally Perry, Claire Brosius, and Kathy Kilroy won in all four heats. David Meyaard and Andy Latto (!) advanced into the semi-finals, familiar territory for them, and were joined by Cally Perry and Lexi Shea, newcomers to these heights. Many present noted that it was an All New-England semi-final. David lost to Cally, and was overwhelmed in his subsequent bid to achieve third place in the consolation game against Lexi. That left a championship game between two friends. Apparently exhausted by their efforts to survive the preceding five SE rounds, Cally and Andy trudged through a pedestrian Final round. Among their expeditions, they combined for no bonuses and four expeditions with three handshakes that yielded a total of 51 points! Trailing by 17 points as he entered the last hand, the 2007 runner-up, Andy Latto, prevailed with a winning score of 122 to 99 to become the alltime leading Lost Cities laurelist and complete his four-championship week.

Thanks to everyone who played and, especially, who brought a copy of the game to share, as well as those who bought a copy in order to play. This has happened each year! On a down note, this year marked the first time that a borrowed game was not returned, so signout sheets will become mandatory. However, as they worked well this year, preprinted labels for all who have played since 2007 and the method for quicker pairings and starts will be enhanced and employed next year. On a final note, the results are being logged into AREA by the tireless Ed Menzel as I compose this AAR. See you at WBC 2009. In the meantime, hope everyone pursues some happiness.

Wayne Schmittberger finished second in 2006 but was unable to advance that far this year. The editor of GAMES magazine has been a WBC regular in recent years.

Andy Latto beats Cally Perry in the Final. The two friends made the trip from Massachusetts together only to meet in the Final some 185 players later.
 GM      Ivan Lawson [4th Year]   NA
    lawsonic@comcast.net   NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page