formula motor racing  

Updated 11/30/2008

2008 WBC Report  

 2009 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Jordan Flawd, PA

2008 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
2001    Steve Cameron     31
2002    Mike Stachowski     47
2003    Bill Place     69
2004     Lisa Gutermuth     87
2005     Debbie Gutermuth     72
2006    Matt Evinger     73
2007     Dan Lewis     70
2008     Jordan Flawd     79

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Lisa Gutermuth     TX    05     48
  2.  Jordan Flawd       PA    08     30
  3.  Forrest Speck      MD    08     30
  4.  Dan Lewis          DE    07     30
  5.  Matt Evinger       PA    06     30
  6.  Bill Place         PA    03     30
  7.  Mike Stachowski    NY    04     30
  8.  Debbie Gutermuth   TX    05     30
  9.  Steve Cameron      PA    04     28
 10.  Katie McCorry      VA    07     27
 11.  Ron Wuerth         VA    04     27
 12.  Brandon Bernard    PA    07     18
 13.  Ed Bielcik         NJ    07     18
 14.  Mike Coomes        PA    06     18
 15.  Barb Flaxington    NJ    03     18
 16.  Alan Bargender     VA    02     18
 17.  Chris Janiec       PA    06     15
 18.  Scott Nerney       RI    05     15
 19.  Matt Fetzer        NY    08     12
 20.  James Kendrick     UK    05     12
 21.  Devin Flawd        PA    06     12
 22.  Richard Fetzer     NY    08      9
 23.  Sarah Vasilakos    VA    05      9
 24.  Bert Schoose       IL    04      9
 25.  Mike Nagel         NJ    03      9
 26.  Pam Gutermuth      FL    08      6
 27.  John Speck         MD    07      6
 28.  Josh Ostrander     NY    05      6
 29.  Michael Coomes     OH    01      4
 30.  Nick Smith         UK    08      3
 31.  Chris LeFevre      AZ    07      3
 32.  Bob Titran         NY    04      3
 33.  Peter Perla        VA    03      3
 34.  Steve May          MD    01      3
 35.  Jeff Mullet        OH    01      2
 36.  Greg Mayer         MO    01      1

2008 Laurelists                                                Repeating Laurelists: 0

Forrest Speck, MD

Matt Fetzer, NY

Rich Fetzer, NY

Pam Gutermuth, FL

Nick Smith, UK

Past Winners

Steve Cameron, PA

Mike Stachowski, NY

Bill Place, PA

Lisa Gutermuth, TX

Debbie Gutermuth, TX

Matt Evinger, PA

Danny Lewis, DE

Jordan Flawd, PA

Every father's nightmare ... two teenagers contemplating their learner's permits.

The six finalists jockey for the unlead ... crash cards at the ready to play on anyone who mistimes their move to the front.

A Photo Finish ...

Formula Motor Racing kept the same format and times with three preliminary heats that generated a total of 19 games with the six-race-per-game format. Tables were randomly assigned six players, with five players being the default when the number of players did not break into even multiples of six.
The stats for the 19 games were:
Min score for win: 30 (unchanged from 2007)
Max score for win: 46 (increase from 44 in 2007)
Average score for win: 34.95 (decrease from 35.82 in 2007)
Min score for second place: 27 (unchanged from 2007)
Max score for second place: 37 (slight increase from 36 in 2007)
Average score for second place: 31.11 (increase from 30.29 from 2007)
We had two games where the winner had to be decided by the tie-breaker rules. One big change occurred in the five-player games where the bank car (aka the non-player car) finished either fifth or sixth, not even close to winning a race.
The winner of the "I lost the most cars to spin-out, engine blown or crash" prize had to wait till the semi-final round where Danielle Zack had lost both of her cars in the first three races. Honorable mention for the prize goes to April Gardner, who in the third heat, lost a car to crash in each of five races. Both Danielle and April should take this as a good sign as the winner of this prize in 2007, Tom McCorry, was the drawer of the "Queen of Spades" to win a free copy of Formula Motor Race provided by GMT.
16 or the 19 heat winners appeared for the semi-finals. Checking the list of second-place racers present gave Chad Gormly and Nikki Bradford their entrance to the field of 18 needed for the semis. One name not on the list of semi-finalists was young defending champion Dan Lewis. The record of Formula Motor Racing not having a repeat champion would remain intact another year.
The 18 semi-finalists were assigned randomly to six-player tables, with first and second place racers advancing to the Final. Those surviving for another round were:
Matthew Fetzer 43 points
Jordan Flawd  38 points
Forrest Speck 34 points
Rich Fetzer 33 points
Nick Smith  30 points
Pam Gutermuth 28 points
Terri Wicks tied Rich Fetzer with 33 points in their game, but lost on the tie breaker with Rich winning the sixth race. This yielded our first father-son team in the Final, but left us with no repeating laurelist. Only Forrest Speck had previously experienced the Final in this event.
The Final started calmly with no crash in the first race, but Rich Fetzer lost a car to spin out and Forrest Speck blew an engine. Forrest did win the race with his other car and Rich's surviving car took second so their losses were mitigated. Race 2 saw Forrest and Rich each lose another car to crash, while Jordan Flawd lost one to spin out. Race 3 proved the most difficult with Jordan and Matt each losing a car to crash, while Rich had one spin out and Forrest blew an engine.
At the mid-point, it was still anyone's game with only a six-point difference between first and sixth place.
Nick lost his first car in Race 4 to a blown engine, but did manage to win the race to give him the lead at 21 points. Jordan moved into second just one point behind by finishing second and sixth. Nick would lose a car again in Race 5 to spin out, and fall from first to fifth with 21 points. Scores going into the final race were: Forrest 28, Jordan 23, and the father-son team of Rich and Matt tied with 22 points,.

Forrest had a big enough lead that if one of his cars won the race, he would be the overall winner. The only cars knocked out fell victim to the same crash card, costing Pam and Matt a car each. Pam's other car won the race, one of Jordan's cars came in second (this would be key), Matt's other car came in third, one of Rich's cars came in fourth, Nick's car came in fifth and Forrest's car came in sixth. The final score had Forrest and Jordan tied with 29 points, Matt at 26, Rich 25, Pam 24 points and Nick with 23 points completing his fall from first after four races to last after six.

For the first time the WBC championship was decided by a tie-breaker with the order of finish in the last race being the difference.

Late GM substitute Sean McCulloch helps Junior Monitor Laurie Wojtasczyk herd the cats ... I mean kids.

Four soloists ready to move up in class. It won't be long before they'll be threatening Danny Lewis's record for humiliating adults.

Formula Motor Racing Junior

There were 16 little race drivers sans learning permits loosed on the streets of the Heritage room this summer. The best of these was Brian Sherwood who was followed in order by Jordan Shea, Gracie Putnam, Andrew Doughan, Thomas Melton and Adam Wojtaszczyk.

 GM      Chris LeFevre  [3rd Year]   NA   NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page