can't stop  

Updated 11/30/2008

2008 WBC Report  

 2009 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Anne Norton, NJ

2008 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
2006    David Burkey     104
2007     Rob Winslow     116
2008    Anne Norton     148

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Anne Norton        NJ    08     30
  2.  Rob Winslow, Rob   NY    07     20
  3.  David Burkey       PA    06     20
  4.  Ted Drozd          IL    08     18
  5.  Cheryl Burkey      PA    08     12
  6.  Nick Page          ON    07     12
  7.  Jay Fox            NJ    06     12
  8.  Ben Gardner        VA    08      9
  9.  Jordan Flawd       PA    07      8
 10.  Legend Dan Hoffman MD    06      8
 11.  Paul Bean          MA    08      6
 12.  Lance Fogel        PA    07      6
 13.  Steve Cameron      PA    06      6
 14.  Patrick Shea       VA    07      4
 15.  Matthew Amitrano   VA    06      4
 16.  David Bohnenberger PA    08      3
 17.  Nate Hoam          OH    07      2
 18.  David Fritsch      VA    06      2

2008 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Ted Drozd, IL

Cheryl Burkey, PA

Ben Gardner, VA

Paul Bean, MA

Dave Bohnenberger, PA

Past Champions

David Burkey, PA

Rob Winslow, NY

Anne Norton, NJ

The number of people who Can't Stop is growing each year.

Simple and short are rthe equirements for late night fare.

Midnight Madness

Every night at WBC now has a late night slot at 11 PM filled with quick, light fare that draws big crowds and Wednesday now appears to belong to Can't Stop which posted its third attendance increase in a row while drawing triple digits.

This year we had six assistant GM's (thanks everyone for your help) -- which made it a lot easier. Since the game is easy to learn and only takes about 20 minutes to play we were able to get through the preliminary rounds quickly. Thanks to everyone who brought games (especially the CABS gang that brought eight copies), we didn't have anyone standing around long waiting to play a game -- despite the record number of players Let's keep that going! We kept the tournament format the same, where players sat "Slapshot style"-- which means everyone can sit with their friends or join a group fewer than four players and start addictively rolling dice. 

The festive cheering squads at each table departed after the semi-final, and in the relative quiet of the witching hour, Anne Norton walked away as the Can't Stop champion. She earned an early advantage by being the only one not to bust on the first turn and proved to be very consistent in closing out columns. Cheryl Burkey was the first to close out a column (number 11), but Anne was right behind, closing out number 7. Anne kept up speed by only letting one more column be taken before she added number 3. Ted Drozd and Cheryl took two columns each, but Anne reigned supreme when she closed out her third column to win with the 3-7-8 combo. We're not sure if her "No Whammy" chant strategy when rolling the dice gave her any advantage, but expect some imitators next year. We'd also like to give a special nod to Ben Gardner as the youngest finalist in Can't Stop. Hope to see you all next year!

 GM      Beth Zhao (1st Year)  NA   571-217-6044

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page