Updated 11/14/2008

2008 WBC Report  

  2009 Status: pending December Membership Trial Vote

Bruce Reiff, OH

2008 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1992    Randy Cox     17
1993    Joe Bellas     30
1994    Bruce Reiff     39
1995    Alan Ernstein     29
1996    Ken Gutermuth     30
1997    Chuck Foster     20
1998    Jeff Otto     17
1999    Kathy Hitchings     17
2000    Bruce Reiff     25
2001    Peter Staab     14
2008     Bruce Reiff     11

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bruce Reiff        OH    08     48
  2.  Peter Staab        PA    08     26
  3.  Kathy Hitchings    DE    99     20
  4.  Jason O'Donnell    OH    01     12
  5.  Christina Hancock  NW    00     12
  6.  Ken Gutermuth      GA    01      8
  7.  Jim Bell           MD    00      8
  8.  Verity Hitchings   DE    99      8
  9.  Leonard Omolecki   PA    08      6
 10.  Mark Love          MD    08      6
 11.  John Coussis       IL    00      6
 12.  Matt Fagan         NJ    99      6
 13.  Jeff Finkeldey     OH    01      4
 14.  Joe Bellas         AR    99      4
 15.  Jason Levine       NY    08      3
 16.  Vincent Collura    PA    01      2


2008 Laurelists                                            Repeating Laurelists:

Leonard Omolecki, PA

Peter Staab, PA

Jason Levine, NY

Mark Love, MD


Past Winners

Randy Cox, SC

Joe Bellas, AR

Bruce Reiff, OH
1994, 2000, 2008

Alan Ernstein, MD

Ken Gutermuth, GA

Chuck Foster, TX

Jeff Otto, OH

Kathy Hitchings, DE

Peter Staab, PA

Mark Love is in a patriotic mood in this election year if his headwear is any indication.

The Finalists meet at the convention where rumors about Bruce's past associations with Cabbies failed to thwart his campaign.

Reiff pulls a Coussis!

For years Candidate always led off the WBC and was the first plaque awarded by 2 pm Wednesday. It was fun, over in two rounds and had a bunch of regulars attend. Then it's numbers began to dwindle and it finally was gone. This year, since it was an election year, someone thought it would be a good idea to bring it back. I was that guy (with an assist from Ken Gutermuth). Don thought it was a poor idea and that it wouldn't work -- especially given the success of 1960.

For the first time in WBC history Don was right and I was wrong. [Well, the first time, he'll admit to anyway.]

Only 11 diehards showed up 10 am Wednesday morning. So we randomly broke into two boards with the top two in each advancing to the Final.

On board #1 Leonard Omelecki Jr and Jason Levine advanced in what looked to be a fun group.

On board #2 I beat old timers Jim Bell, Ken Gutermuth, Mike Stanley and Mark Love - former laurelists all. Pete Staab held on to second by getting rid of Gutermuth in the next to last round of the convention.

The Final was a spirited affair with Jason, Leonard, Pete and myself all leading at one point. Going into the convention I was third and if Pete won the Undecided block, I'd be out. Fortunately I won the Undecided. It then came down to Leonard and I with me in the unfortunate position of having to go first. I decided to go with the "fool 'em" strategy and played three cards. One of them, however was a scandal card causing the election to be a do over. I put down my last $90,000 in the do over and fortunately Leonard could only manage $50,000. So, I pulled a Coussis by winning two events that I GM'd this year.

Thanks to all who played and maybe we'll try again in another eight years when my girl Hilary takes her turn.

 GM      Bruce Reiff  [2nd Year]  NA   NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page