battle cry  

Updated 11/29/2008

2008 WBC Report  

 2009 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Jeff Cornett, FL

2008 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
2001    Ilan Woll     56
2002    Philip Shea     52
2003    Josh Githens     64
2004    Barry Shoults     52
2005    Robert Eastman     52
2006    Jeff Cornett     42
2007     Larry Lingle     64
2008    Jeff Cornett     48

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Jeff Cornett       FL    08     60
  2.  Philip Shea        VA    05     54
  3.  David Metzger      NY    08     33
  4.  Ben Knight         MD    06     33
  5.  Larry Lingle       PA    07     30
  6.  Robert Eastman     NV    05     30
  7.  Barry Shoults      MI    04     30
  8.  Josh Githens       SC    03     30
  9.  Ilan Woll          CT    01     30
 10.  Jeff Mullet        OH    04     27
 11.  Michael Dauer      TX    08     18
 12.  Ty Hansen          DC    07     18
 13.  Greg Berry         VA    06     18
 14.  Ted Lange          AE    05     18
 15.  Lyman Moquin       DC    04     18
 16.  Bill Place         PA    03     18
 17.  George Sauer       OH    02     18
 18.  Roy Gibson         MD    04     15
 19.  Tom Morin          MA    07     12
 20.  John Koskl         MD    02     12
 21.  John Shaheen       MA    08      9
 22.  John Elliott       MD    05      9
 23.  Ryan Duncan        MD    02      9
 24.  Jeff Evich         MD    01      9
 25.  Bill Alderman      VA    08      6
 26.  Stephen Buonocore  NJ    07      6
 27.  James Terry        NJ    06      6
 28.  Chuck Stapp        NJ    05      6
 29.  Bruce Reiff        OH    04      6
 30.  Ed Kendrick        UK    03      6
 31.  Rich Ogata         VA    02      6
 32.  Brian Conlon       OK    01      6
 33.  Pat Mirk           FL    08      3
 34.  Scott Nerney       RI    07      3
 35.  Steve Lollis       MD    06      3
 36.  Bill Edwards       VA    04      3
 37.  Richard Moyer      MN    03      3
 38.  Gene Billingsly    CA    01      3

2008 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists:

Michael Dauer, TX

David Metzger. NY

John Shaheen, MA

Bill Alderman, VA

Pat Mirk, FL

Past Winners

Ilan Woll ,CT

Philip Shea, CT

Josh Githens, SC

Barry Shoults, MI

Robert Eastman, NV

Jeff Cornett, FL
2006, 2008

Larry Lingle, PA

Eric Martin (left) checks the defense of his left flank while Pete Stein looks for his missing gall bladder. Pete had a good convention this year - no hospital visits.

Ty Hansen shows GM Peter Card his hand while William Kendrick observes. Mark Guttag (left) seems deep in thought about how to save his flank.

Feeling a Little Blue ...

The format was a little different this year, using a system shamelessly borrowed from Richard Borg. For the first three rounds, players were organised into groups of six, with three USA players and three CSA players, with each USA player playing each CSA player in the group once. As it turned out we had 48 entrants, which worked out perfectly, but if necessary we could have had one or two groups of eight players, and one of the GMs could have stepped in to make up an even number. The players with the best four USA records overall and the best four CSA records then went through to the single elimination stage, where each scenario was played twice as the players switched sides. As before, the tie-break favored aggressive play, with most flags taken trumping fewest lost, then most kills inflicted trumping fewest casualties suffered.

The advantage of this format was that it avoided problems with balance of the scenarios, as during the initial group stage players were competing with all the other players on the same side to advance, while playing in groups reduced the problems inherent in working out match-ups for the 2nd and 3rd round games rapidly, as the players themselves were doing most of the work. The disadvantage of a group system is that players who happened to be grouped against weaker players on the other side enjoyed an unearned advantage, while taking overall record as the criteria made it possible to win three games and still not progress. All in all, the format worked smoothly but a few entrants expressed their reservations. We will have to think hard about next year.

The initial three rounds used Murfreesboro from the original game and then Franklin and Falling Waters, downloaded from the web, chosen because they looked interesting while not introducing unusual special rules. For the elimination stage, it got a little funkier. The quarter-finals used Dennis Snow's Petersburg Crater scenario, where the Union faces entrenched Rebel positions, but gets to explode a mine at a time almost of his choosing, destroying everything in two adjacent hexes and producing the eponymous crater. This is a tough puzzle for the Union to solve, and historically saw a bloody defeat for the Union as the assault division advanced into the crater but got stuck there and was shot to pieces. Bill Edwards pulled off the unusual feat of winning as the Union without ever exploding the mine, but after playing both sides he was tied with David Metzger in all tie-break categories. A point blank simultaneous one-on-one roll-off saw him go through, until we realised that there had been an error in counting the casualties during the second game making David the winner. Bill took this unkind stroke of fate in his stride and had to console David who was looking uncomfortable at his win.

For the semis, we used Leetown, an online scenario by Richard Borg, which has two units of Native Americans fighting for the Confederacy who can move and fight in the forest. Some Revel Sioux were pressed into service for the occasion. This battle sees a lot of units start on the baseline, where they are vulnerable to a flag result sending them skedaddling off the gameboard. 2006 Champion Jeff Cornett barely survived David Metzgers's all out sweeping cavalry charge against his Union right flank to face Michael Dauer in the Final, which used Brian Bradford's Perryville scenario.

Both players were pictures of concentration, and the action slowed down as they weighed their moves carefully. Both sides have small hands, making it difficult to move their units, (3 for the Union, 4 for the Rebels). The Confederate player must defend the two Perryville town hexes which are each worth one flag to the Union (only). In the first battle, Jeff Cornett exploited this by edging forward to threaten Perryville so that Michael was forced to defend one hex forward on the hill line where Jeff could pick away at the defenders.

In the return leg, Jeff chose the strategic moment to play the All Out Offensive card he had been dealt at the start. Michael was able to answer with a counter-attack but the stuffing had been knocked out of his army and his 4th flag was soon captured, bringing him to the edge of concession as he faced a 3-6 flag deficit from the first game. However, he realised that a slim chance of victory still existed if he was able to chase a Confederate unit with an attached general off the battlefield for a 6th and 7th flag. The end game saw him attempt to funnel USA units towards the board edge without actually killing them, to the amusement of all concerned, until Jeff finally put an end to this foolishness by taking another flag to regain his crown.

I recommend the Battle Cry web resource at for all your Battle Cry needs, and also Rod Lilley's site at from which I downloaded the JPEG files for battles used here.

Tom Gregorio (left) must be thinking what did he do to get paired with Ben Knight who was the original AH developer for Battle Cry.

Jeff Cornett (left) clears a major hurdle in the semi-finals by defeating David Metzger en route to becoming our first two-time champ.
 GM      Peter Card [3rd Year]  NA   NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page