brawling battleships  

Updated 11/29/2008

2008 WBC Report  

  2009 Status: pending December Membership Trial Vote

Patrick Mirk, FL

2008 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
2004    Rob Mull     30
2005     Jeff Spaner     34
2006     David Huss     26
2007    Steven Raszewski     33
2008     Patrick Mirk     29

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Steve Raszewski    MD    08     60
  2.  David Huss         NY    08     38
  3.  Jeff Spaner        MD    05     30
  4.  Pat Mirk           FL    08     29
  5.  Chris Greenfield   NY    06     22
  6.  Matt Bacho         MD    08     22
  7.  Rob Mull           CO    04     20
  8.  Stephen Shedden    TN    07     18
  9.  Andrew Fedin       PA    07     15
 10.  Frank Mestre       NY    07     12
 11.  Kevin Brownell     ME    04     12
 12.  Bradley Raszewski  MD    08      9
 13.  Bruce Young        SC    05      9
 14.  Tim Evinger        PA    04      8
 15.  Andrew Chitwood    TN    07      6
 16.  Dan Pasaric        NY    06      6
 17.  James Dougherty    PA    05      6
 18.  Tom Phillips       NJ    04      6
 19.  Jim Mehl           VA    08      2
 20.  Mark Bayliss       UK    04      2

2008 Laurelists                                              Repeating Laurelists 

Stephen Raszewski, MD

David Huss, NY

Brad Raszewski, MD

Matt Bacho, MD

Jim Mehl, VA

Past Winners

Rob Mull, CO

Jeff Spaner, MD

David Huss, NY

Stephen Raszewski, MD

Patrick Mirk, FL

"No ... No ... I'm not the leader ... honest, I'm not."

Snake-eyes ... that can't be good.

Mata Hari has left the building ...

The 2008 Brawling Battleships Steel championship game saw Pat Mirk -- the only tournament recipient of the legendary curse of Mata Hari -- finally win the championship. In 2007, Mirk -- a veteran WBC player -- was topped by an almost impossible play by Andrew Chitwood who pulled three event cards, both Mata Hari cards (a spy card that lets you draw two cards from an opponent's hand) and the Radio Intercept card that lets you draw two cards from the discard pile. Andrew Chitwood the youngest player ever to make the Final decided to steal two of Pat Mirk's cards, who was sitting immediately to his left, normally the play is better against players to the right, but since he needed a ride home he decided not to play Mata Hari on his stepfather Stephen Shedden, who had also qualified for the Final in a separate heat. Everyone at the table was surprised though when Andrew played the second Mata Hari on Mirk, reducing him to two cards. When Andrew then played the Radio Intercept card and picked up both Mata Hari cards from the discard pile everyone at the table immediately encouraged him to play the third spy on Mirk to let him have the distinct honor of being the sole recipient of Mata Hari's curse. For his anguish, Pat received a nice prize to commemorate the notoriety.

Brawling Battleships Steel had a new GM and new format this year being played in a single round. The change in format still rewarded capable play by Steve Raszewski and David Huss, both prior champions, making the Finals once again. The recent change in the tournament form, qualifying heats to a single session, single elimination tournament was so successful that it may be continued next year. Alas, the GM who failed to fulfill his report obligation will have to be replaced.

 GM      NA   NA
   NA   NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page