attack sub  

Updated 11/14/2008

2008 WBC Report  

  2009 Status: pending 2009 GM commitment

Kaarin Engelmann, VA

2008 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1991    John Fuqua      33
1992    Steve Rugh      26
1993    Bruce Young      34
1994    Dave Kuchta      46
1995    Jack Reid     40
1996    John Emery   40
1997    John Emery      32
1998    Earl Anderson      32
1999     Brian Conlon     36
2000     Bill Edwards      32
2001     John Conlon      34
2002     Buck Karpowitz      24
2003     Steven Caler      24
2004     Daniel Hoffman      34
2005      Bill Edwards      30
2006     Dan Hoffman      20
2007      David Sidelinger      30
2008     Kaarin Engelmann      34

 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Bill Edwards       VA    06     56
   2.  Daniel Hoffman     NC    08     52
   3.  David Sidelinger   CT    07     40
   4.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    08     35
   5.  John Conlon        OK    02     33
   6.  Steve Caler        PA    03     32
   7.  Buck Karpowitz     DC    02     30
   8.  Brian Conlon       OK    05     28
   9.  Greg Courter       MI    02     24
  10.  Rob Schoenen       PA    06     20
  11.  Frank Cunliffe     PA    06     20
  12.  Rob Mull           CO    05     19
  13.  Stan Buck          MD    02     18
  14.  Henry Jones        PA    00     18
  15.  Jim Fleckenstein   VA    07     16
  16.  Jerry Smolens      PA    01     15
  17.  Chris Janiec       PA    08     14
  18.  Andrew Cummins     UK    08     12
  19.  Bruce Young        SC    04     12
  20.  Andre Strauss      MD    03     12
  21.  Bob Heinzmann      FL    07     10
  22.  John Emery         SC    05     10
  23.  Greg Schmittgens   KS    02      9
  24.  Andy Maly          MD    00      9
  25.  Andrew Fedin       PA    04      8
  26.  Alex Gesing        NY    08      6
  27.  James Doughan      PA    07      6
  28.  David Buchholz     MI    04      6
  29.  David Gantt        SC    00      6
  30.  Carol Caler        OH    07      4
  31.  Marvin Birnbaum    NY    06      4
  32.  Nathan Trent       VA    05      4
  33.  Jeremy Billones    VA    99      4
  34.  Geoff Allbutt      NY    08      2
  35.  Scott Edwards      SC    04      2
  36.  Keith Hunsinger    OH    03      2

2008 Laurelists                                                Returning Laurelists:

Daniel Hoffman, NC

Chris Janiec, CO

Alex Gesing, NY

Andrew Cummins, UK

Geoff Allbutt, NY

Past Winners

Bruce Young, SC

Dave Kuchta, ME

John Emery, SC

Earl Anderson, SC

Brian Conlon, OK

Bill Edwards, VA
2000, 2005

John Conlon, OK

Steve Caler, PA

Daniel Hoffman, NC
2004, 2006

David Sidelinger, CT

A pair of former champs trying to recapture old glory on get-away day relive their recent Up Front disappointments as Bill Edwards (left) and John Emery fail to advance.

The voice of Slapshot, Reverend Hunsinger, schools the youngest sailor in the field as Kevin Emery takes advantage of his Up Front lineage.

all Waves on deck ...

The usual Attack Sub suspects (I mean skippers) arrived for the traditional end-of-con event, as well as a few new players. Each year the event gains a few new faces, a testament to the longevity of this out-of-print title. The Swiss-elim format continued unchanged this year, with three rounds of Swiss play advancing eight to single elimination. 

In Round 1 the less-favored Argentines dominated in scenario D (Falklands), winning twelve games to the Brit's four. It appears people have been practicing using the diesel subs to best advantage, the favored side in that scenario may need to be reassigned. In Round 2 the Soviets again had a minor upset over the favored Americans in scenario B (Search and Destroy), winning nine to eight. And once again only Round 3 had the favored side as the victor, with the Brits winning nine matches of scenario A (Sub Duel) to the Soviet's four. This last scenario continues to be the key tiebreaker for advancing to single elimination.

Four 3-0 players advanced automatically to the single elim round, tie-breakers were used to advance four of 11 2-1 players (three players advanced with the A tiebreaker, and strength-of-schedule was used to advance one player with a B tiebreaker - who went on to win the event).  Newcomers Geoff Allbutt and Alex Gesing both went unbeaten in the preliminaries, a great start to their first Attack Sub tourney.

Players had free choice of six scenarios in single elimination, but only three were played. Scenario A (Sub Duel) was played twice, both Brit wins (continuing their dominance from the prelim rounds); scenario D (Falklands) was played once, another Argentine win; and scenario E (Rebel Without a Cause) was played four times, all four games being won by the Soviet surface fleet sinking the renegade Typhoon.

Former two-time champion Dan Hoffman defeated both Geoff Allbutt and Chris Janiec using his favorite scenario (E) to advance to the Final, while long-lost former laurelist Kaarin Engelmann (who said she normally sleeps in through Attack Sub on Sunday but roused herself this year) defeated Andrew Cummings and Alex Gesing to earn a match against Dan. 

Dan again selected E (Rebel) as the scenario and Kaarin picked the Soviet surface force, even though she admitted she barely remembered the special rules for surface ships and helicopters. The Renegade got off to a bad start breaking it's sensor with it's first two sonar attempts, but quickly came back to detect the Simferopol, fire, get a hit, but then only damage it. The surface force had its own detection problems and only gained a minimum No Attack contact on the Renegade by the beginning of the second deck. The Renegade attempted to launch missiles but failed, while the surface force with a hand full of Close/Open Range cards steadily closed the distance, first to second No Attack, then contact 1, fired and missed, then contact 2, fired again for a hit, but only damaged the Renegade.  The Renegade used Damage Control to repair itself, just in time as the surface force fired again but missed. The Renegade then took a shot but also missed. The surface force fired again, missed, then fired again for a hit ­ and the Renegade was sunk. 

Congratulations to Kaarin Engelmann, the first female Attack Sub champion in 18 years.

Defending champion Dave Sidelinger (left) finds fate not as kind this year versus David Buchholz, failing to advance to the Single Elimination portion.

Two-time champ Dan Hoffman fails in his quest to become the first third-time winner in the Final versus Kaarin Engelmann as GM Rob Mull watches in his farewell GM role.
 GM      Rob Mull  [6th Year]   NA    NA

2008 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page